Essential maintenance
HES is currently undertaking essential maintenance on our web services. This will limit access to services in the following ways:
- Subscription access for HES online services will be unavailable (Scran, NCAP)
- Image purchasing options will be limited (Canmore, Britain from Above, Scran, NCAP)
- Any enhanced services which require a log in will be unavailable (My Canmore, Britain from Above contributions, Scran contribute)
General access to these services will all continue. Enquiries will still be able to be submitted.

We anticipate services to be restored from Monday 1st February 2021.


Date Masters/mistresses names Clocks and watches Clocks Gold watches Silver or metal watches Duty
Forward 248 64 39 145 £40.11.4½
6 Sep 1797 Mr Niel Macleod of Gesla 1 1 £0.1.10½
Major Macleod Balmeanach 1 1 £0.7.6
7 Sep 1797 Captain McDonald Mugdale 1 1 £0.1.10½
Mr Kenneth Macleod Swordale 1 1 £0.1.10½
Captain Campbell Kingsborrow 1 1 £0.1.10½
Angus McDonald Vintr [Vintner] Portree 1 1 £0.1.10½
Mr Alain Macleod Varcasaig 1 1 £0.1.10½
Mr James McDonald Skabost 1 1 £0.1.10½
Colonel McDonald Lyndale 1 1 £0.3.9
Mr John McDonald Grishernish 1 1 £0.1.10½
Mr Charles Robertson Dunvegan 1 1 £0.1.10½
Mr Angus Shaw Balmore 1 1 £0.1.10½
Mr Colin McDonald Bowsdale 3 1 2 £0.7.6
Mr McDonald Askeanishe 2 2 £0.3.9
Roderick MacNiel Esqr Barea 2 1 1 £0.11.3
267 67 41 159 £42.16.10½
Proof visr
67 clocks at £0.3.9 Each is £12.11.3
111 Gold Watches at £0.7.6 Each is £15.7.6
159 Silver & Metal Watches at £0.1.10½ each is £14.18.1½
Total £42.16.10½

Transcribe other information

We John Rose Surveyor and Alexander MacRae assistant foresaid
Do hereby Certify that upon Carefull Examination we found the
foregoing duties amount to Forty two pounds Sixteen shillings
and tenpence ½ Sterling and We hereby make oaths each for himself
that the preceeding inhabitants were duly served with Requisitions
of the Dates aforesaid and that they are charged according to
their Returns or the best information [signed] John Rose Surveyor
Alexander MacRae Assistant

Sworn before me at Nairn this Eighth day of January 1798 John Fraser J. P [Justice of the Peace]
James Grant Collr [Collector]

  Transcribers who have contributed to this page.

Kate51- Moderator, Rena M, DANIALSAN, charles

  Location information for this page.

Aberlady Parish, Aberlemno Parish, Airlie Parish, Angus County, Anstruther Wester Parish, Anwoth Parish, Arbirlot Parish, Arbuthnott Parish, Athelstaneford Parish, Auchterhouse Parish, Balmaclellan Parish, Balmaghie Parish, Balmerino Parish, Barry Parish, Benholm Parish, Biggar Parish, Blantyre Parish, Borgue Parish, Bothwell Parish, Brechin Parish, Buittle Parish, Cambuslang Parish, Cambusnethan Parish, Cameron Parish, Careston Parish, Carluke Parish, Carmichael Parish, Carmunnock Parish, Carnbee Parish, Carnwath Parish, Carstairs Parish, Cathcart Parish, Ceres Parish, Cleish Parish, Colvend And Southwick Parish, Coupar Angus Parish, Craig Parish, Crail Parish, Crawford Parish, Crawfordjohn Parish, Creich Parish, Crossmichael Parish, Culter Parish, Cults Parish, Cupar Parish, Dairsie Parish, Dalry Parish, Dalserf Parish, Dalziel Parish, Dirleton Parish, Dolphinton Parish, Douglas Parish, Dun Parish, Dunbar Parish, Dundee Parish, Dunino Parish, Dunnichen Parish, Dunnottar Parish, Dunsyre Parish, Durris Parish, East Lothian County, Edzell Parish, Elie Parish, Farnell Parish, Fern Parish, Fettercairn Parish, Fetteresso Parish, Fife County, Flisk Parish, Fordoun Parish, Forfar Parish, Forgan Parish, Girthon Parish, Gladsmuir Parish, Glamis Parish, Glassford Parish, Glenbervie Parish, Govan Parish, Guthrie Parish, Haddington Parish, Hamilton Parish, Humbie Parish, Innerwick Parish, Inverarity Parish, Inverness-shire County, Kells Parish, Kelton Parish, Kemback Parish, Kennoway Parish, Kettins Parish, Kilconquhar Parish, Kilmany Parish, Kilrenny Parish, Kincardineshire County, Kingoldrum Parish, Kingsbarns Parish, Kinnaird Parish, Kinneff Parish, Kinnell Parish, Kinnettles Parish, Kinross Parish, Kinross-shire County, Kirkbean Parish, Kirkcudbright Parish, Kirkcudbrightshire County, Kirkden Parish, Kirkgunzeon Parish, Kirkmabreck Parish, Kirkpatrick Durham Parish, Kirkpatrick Irongray Parish, Kirriemuir Parish, Lanark Parish, Lanarkshire County, Largo Parish, Laurencekirk Parish, Lesmahagow Parish, Leuchars Parish, Libberton Parish, Lintrathen Parish, Lochlee Parish, Lochrutton Parish, Logie Parish, Lunan Parish, Lundie Parish, Maryculter Parish, Marykirk Parish, Maryton Parish, Menmuir Parish, Minnigaff Parish, Monifieth Parish, Monikie Parish, Monimail Parish, Montrose Parish, Moonzie Parish, Morham Parish, New Abbey Parish, New Monkland Parish, Newburn Parish, Newtyle Parish, Nigg Parish, Oathlaw Parish, Old Monkland Parish, Ormiston Parish, Orwell Parish, Panbride Parish, Parton Parish, Pencaitland Parish, Pettinain Parish, Portmoak Parish, Prestonpans Parish, Rerrick Parish, Rescobie Parish, Rutherglen Parish, Ruthven Parish, Scoonie Parish, Shotts Parish, Spott Parish, St Andrews Parish, St Monance Parish, Stenton Parish, Stonehouse Parish, Stracathro Parish, Strachan Parish, Symington Parish, Tannadice Parish, Terregles Parish, Tongland Parish, Tranent Parish, Troqueer Parish, Twynholm Parish, Urr Parish, Walston Parish, Whittingehame Parish