Essential maintenance
HES is currently undertaking essential maintenance on our web services. This will limit access to services in the following ways:
- Subscription access for HES online services will be unavailable (Scran, NCAP)
- Image purchasing options will be limited (Canmore, Britain from Above, Scran, NCAP)
- Any enhanced services which require a log in will be unavailable (My Canmore, Britain from Above contributions, Scran contribute)
General access to these services will all continue. Enquiries will still be able to be submitted.

We anticipate services to be restored from Monday 1st February 2021.

Clock and watch tax rolls 1797-1798

Clock and watch tax rolls (National Records of Scotland, E326/12) list the names of clock and watch owners as well as the number of clocks and watches they owned. The listing below is that of the original rolls. Only two volumes survive and it is fairly clear that a third volume (containing the counties of Midlothian, Moray, Orkney, Peebles, Perth, Renfrew, Ross, Roxburgh, Selkirk, Shetland, Stirling, Sutherland, West Lothian, and Wigtown) is not extant.

Name Description
Clock and Watch Tax, Volume 1

Volume 1 contains clock and watch tax listings for the following counties: Aberdeenshire, Argyll, Ayrshire, Banffshire, Berwickshire, Buteshire, Caithness, Clackmannanshire, Cromartyshire, Dunbartonshire, and Dumfriesshire.

Clock and Watch Tax, Volume 2

Volume 2 contains clock and watch tax listings for the following counties: East Lothian (Haddingtonshire), Fife, Angus (Forfarshire), Inverness-shire, Kincardineshire, Kinross-shire, Kirkcudbrightshire, and Lanarkshire. Please note that the Inverness-shire roll is not divided up on a parish by parish basis.