County Numbers

This is a list of the Ordnance Survey Name Book reference numbers for each county in Scotland. Please note that they are not in alphabetical order but are in order of reference number.

Aberdeenshire OS1/1 Roman
Argyll OS1/2 Roman
Ayrshire OS1/3 Roman
Banffshire OS1/4 Roman
Berwickshire OS1/5 Roman
Buteshire OS1/6 (Sheets are titled Argyllshire) Roman
Caithness OS1/7 Roman
Clackmannanshire OS1/8 (Sheets are titled Perthshire) Roman
Dunbartonshire OS1/9 Roman
Dumfriesshire OS1/10 Roman
Midlothian OS1/11 (sheets are titled Edinburghshire) Arabic
Morayshire OS1/12 (Sheets are titled Elgin) Roman
Fife & Kinrosshire OS1/13 Arabic
Forfarshire (Angus) OS1/14 Roman
East Lothian OS1/15 (Sheets are titled Haddingtonshire) Arabic
Inverness-shire (Skye) OS1/16 Roman
Inverness-shire (Mainland) OS1/17 Roman
Inverness-shire (Outer Hebrides) OS1/18 Roman
Kincardineshire OS1/19 Roman
Kirkcubrightshire OS1/20 Arabic
Lanarkshire OS1/21 Roman
Nairnshire OS1/22 Roman
Orkney OS1/23 Roman
Peebleshire OS1/24 Roman
Perthshire OS1/25 Roman
Renfrewshire OS1/26 Roman
Ross & Cromarty (Insular) OS1/27 (North Harris Only) Arabic
Ross & Cromarty (Mainland) OS1/28 Roman
Roxburghshire OS1/29 Roman
Selkirkshire OS1/30 Roman
Shetland OS1/31 Roman
Stirlingshire OS1/32 Roman
Sutherland OS1/33 Roman
West Lothian OS1/34 (Sheets are titled Linithgowshire) Arabic
Wigtownshire OS1/35 Arabic