Scheduled Website Maintenance 14/07/20 00:00 – 04:00GMT – There will be periods of time during this window when this website will be unavailable.



[Page] 13

It will be seen from this table that the rainfall varies greatly in
different parts of the county. I have given the stations in order
from east to west, and of course going westward the amount
increases, but the height above the sea level is also an important
factor. At Falkirk and Stirling the rainfall was less than that of
Scotland, but at all other stations it was in excess.
Occupations. - In the Eastern District coal and ironworking
are the main employments. The well-known Carron Ironworks
are in the District. In the Central District the occupations vary.
In Bannockburn and Cambusbarron there are large woollen mills.
In Balfron there are cotton mills. In Whins of Milton there are
nailmakers, millworkers, and agricultural labourers. In Buch-
lyvie, Kippen, and Gargunnock agriculture is almost the sole work.
In the immediate neighbourhood of Stirling the trades are those
of the town - carpet-weaving, basket-making, brewing, &c. In
Bonnybridge ironworking prevails, and in Haggs and Banton
mining is the chief industry. In the Western District the most
populous parish is Campsie, which includes Lennoxtown, Milton,
Torrance, and Haughhead. The principal works are bleachfields
and printworks and chemical works. In the rest of the District
the occupations are mostly agricultural and dairy farming.
Area, Population, and Districts. - The total area of the
county, as altered by the Boundary Commissioners, is about
289,646 acres. Of this amount, 3892 acres belong to the burghs.
The total population within the present area was in 1881, 105,683;
and in 1891, 117,825. This is equal to an increase of 11·1 per
cent., and only four counties in Scotland show a higher rate.
The burghal population at the former census was 43,239, and at
the latter 54,200. The landward population, which alone is under
the County Council, was 62,453, and 63,623 at the two censuses.
The county contains twenty-three parishes, and under the Local
Government Act these have been grouped into three Districts -
Central, Eastern, and Western. The statistics of these are given
in Table II.

  Transcribers who have contributed to this page.

valrsl- Moderator, CorrieBuidhe- Moderator