Place names

These volumes provide information on the place names found in the Perthshire parishes of Aberdalgie, Aberfoyle, Abernethy, Abernyte, Alyth, Ardoch, Auchterarder, Bendochy, Blackford, Blairgowrie, Callander, Caputh, Dunkeld and Dowally, Cargill, Clunie, Collace, Coupar Angus, Crieff, Culross, Dron, Dull, Fowlis Wester, Fortingall, Weem, Monzie, Kenmore, Dunbarney, Dunblane, Dunning, Errol, Findo Gask, Forgandenny, Forteviot, Fossaway, Glendevon, Inchture, Kilmadick, Kilspindie, Kincardine, Kinclaven, Kinfauns, Kinloch, Lethendy, Kinnaird, Kinnoull, Kippen, Lecropt, Little Dunkeld, Logie, Longforgan, Fowlis Easter, Madderty, Meigle, Methven, Moneydie, Monzie, Monvievaird and Strowan, Muckart, Muthill, Perth, Port of Menteith, Rattray, Blairgowrie, Redgorton, Rhynd, St Madoes, St Martins, Scone, Tibbermore, Trinity Gask, and Tulliallan from 1859-1862.

During the Second World War some of the Perthshire OS Name Books were destroyed during an air raid on their storage site at Southampton. Among the volumes destroyed were those covering the whole extent of the county surveyed at the scale of 6 inches to the mile, certain detatched parts of parishes, and the following parishes surveyed at 25 inches to the mile: Arngask, Balquhidder, Blair Atholl, Comrie, Fortingall proper, Kenmore proper, Killin, Kirkmichael, Moulin, and Weem proper.

8843 place names