List of names as written Various modes of spelling Authorities for spelling Situation Description remarks
NAIRN [parliamentary burgh] Nairn
Commissioners Report of Borough Boundaries
Mr Davidson, Town Clerk
Mr Peter Falconer, Inspector of Poor
001 The Parliamentary Borough of Nairn extends southward from the Moray Firth and consists of part of the Muncipal Borough of Nairn in the parish of Nairn and of a portion (on the east side) of the parish of Nairn which is not within the Municipal Borough.
The following description of the Boundary of the Parliamentary Borough of Nairn is taken from the from the Act of Wm [Westminister] the 4th entitled an act to amend the Representation of the people of Scotland, dated 17th July 1832.
From the Point on the South West of the Town, at which the Western March of the Town's Links meets the Shore of the Moray Firth, in a straight line to a Point on the Inverness Road which is distant One hundred Yards (measured along the Inverness Road) to the South of the Point at which the Road to the Grove leaves the same, thence in a straight to the Sluice of the Mill Dam of the Nairn Mills; thence in a straight line to a point on the Forres Road which is distant Six hundred Yards (measured along the Forres Road) from the Bridge of Nairn; thence in a straight line drawn due North to the Shore of the Moray Firth, thence along the Shore of the Moray First to the Point first described.
Nairn is united to Forres, Fortrose, and Inverness for returning a Member to serve in Parliament, and Inverness is the returning Burgh.

Continued entries/extra info

[Page] 1
Town of Nairn

  Transcribers who have contributed to this page.

DANIALSAN, Bizzy- Moderator, Ann MacDonald

  Location information for this page.