Scheduled Website Maintenance 14/07/20 00:00 – 04:00GMT – There will be periods of time during this window when this website will be unavailable.

Aberdeenshire volume 68

Page List of names as written Various modes of spelling Authorities for spelling Situation Description remarks Continued entries/extra info Transcriber's notes
OS1/1/68/1 OLD DEER Old Deer Old Deer Old Deer New Statistical Account Aberdeenshire Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland Valuation Roll, Aberdeenshire 013 ; 014 021 ; 022 030 ; 031 Old Deer. A parish partly in Banffshire, but chiefly in Aberdeenshire. It lies almost in the centre of the district of Buchan, and is strictly compact, its Banffshire section being a detached pendicle of a quondam great barony (the Barony of Fetterangus), whose main body constitutes the parish of St. Fergus. Old Deer parish contains the villages of Old Deer, Stewartfield, Fetterangus, and Mintlaw. It is bounded by the parishes of Strichen, Lonmay, Longside, Cruden, Ellon & New Deer. Its length south-eastward is 11 miles, and its breadth 5 1/2 miles It is watered by two streams called the North Ugie Water, and the South Ugie Water, which afterwards form the River Ugie. The principle landowners are Colonel Ferguson of Pitfour. George Baird Esqr. of Strichen. James Buchan Esqr. of Auchmacoy. William Ferguson Esqr. of Kinmundy Alexander Gordon Esqr. of Ellon. James Russell Esqr. of Aden. John T. Gordon Esqr. of Nethermuir. The Managers of the Boys' and Girls' Hospital. Aberdeen. The Managers of the Royal Informary. Rev. [Reverend] John S. Burnett. and others. The parish is traversed by the Turnpike road from Aberdeen to Fraserburgh, by the Turnpike Road from Banff to Peterhead, and by the Formartine & Buchan Section of the Great North of Scotland Railway. This parish is the seat of a presbytery in the synod of Aberdeen. It formerly was a prebend of the cathedral of Aberdeen : but then wanted its present Banffshire Section, and comprised the present parish of New Deer. Patron the Crown: [Continued on page 2]
OS1/1/68/1 [Page] 1 Old Deer Parish -- Aberdeenshire
OS1/1/68/2 OLD DEER Old Deer Old Deer Old Deer New Statistical Account Aberdeenshire Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland Valuation Roll, Aberdeenshire 013 ; 014 021 ; 022 030 ; 031 [Continued from page 1] Note:- There are no Detached parts of other Parishes within this; but the Northern part of this parish forms a Detached part of Banffshire. [Signed] A. McLachlan 2nd June 1870 Exr. [Examiners] office There are no Detached parts of this parish
OS1/1/68/2 [Page] 2 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/3 LITTLE SKILLYMARNO Little Skillymarno Little Skillymarno Little Skillymarno J. Sleigh - Factor A. Duncan - occupier W. Stephens - South Skillymarno 013 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached. This place is known also as North Skillymarno. It is Situated on the North End of the Parish and having the Boundry of Old Deer & Strichen going through it. The property of G. Baird Esq. Strichen
OS1/1/68/3 [Page] 3 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/4 WHITE COW WOOD White Cow Wood White Cow Wood White Cow Wood A. Ferguson - Skillymarno J. Keith - Auchrynie W. Stephens - South Skillymarno 013 Applies to a Fir Wood of great extent. Situated on the north end of the Parish. The property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour
OS1/1/68/4 SKILLYMARNO Skillymarno Skillymarno Skillymarno A. Boyd - Factor A. Ferguson - Occupier A. Duncan - Little Skillymarno 013 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached The property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/4 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HERE A.D. 1869 [Skillymarno] One Flint Arrowhead found here A.D. 1869 J. Milne - Skillymarno 013 One Flint Arrowhead was found by J. Milne Blacksmith at Skillymarno a short distance in front of the Smithy in 1869.
OS1/1/68/4 [Page] 4 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/5 Site of LADY WELL (Site of) Lady Well J. Keith - Auchrynie 013 This well was closed up by J. Keith but still gives a supply of water which runs in a drain. It is supposed to have been dedicated to the Virgin Mary.
OS1/1/68/5 SHEPHERD'S HILL Shepards Hill J. Keith - Auchrynie 013 Applies to a small plantation of Fir. Situated on the South side of the farm of Auchrynie. On the property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/5 [Page] 5 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/6 URNS FOUND HERE AD. 1857 AND 1868 [Auchrynie] Urns found here A.D. 1857 and 1868. J. Keith - Auchrynie 013 Applies to the site of where fragments of Urns where found, both in the year 1857 and in 1868 by Mr. J. Keith.
OS1/1/68/6 AUCHRYNIE Auchrynie Auchrynie Auchrynie A. Boyd - Factor J. Keith - Occupier J. Smith - Auchrynie 013 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses, gardens &c. attached. Situated about 3 Miles North of the Village of Old Deer. The property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour
OS1/1/68/6 [Page] 6 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to '(Site of) Craigs Well'] - Not to be Written on Plan.
OS1/1/68/7 STONE WHORLS FOUND HERE A.D. 1869 [Auchrynie] Stone Whorls found here A.D. 1869 J. Keith - Auchrynie 013 These articles where found by Mr. Keith in 1869. And have been sent to the Museum of Antiquaries, Edinburgh.
OS1/1/68/7 STONE BATTLE AXES FOUND HERE A.D. 1861 [Auchrynie] Stone Battle Axes found here A.D. 1861 J. Keith - Auchrynie J. Smith - Auchrynie 013 These Battle Axes where found by Mr. Keith in 1861 but one was broken; they have both been sent to the Museum of Antiquaries Edinburgh.
OS1/1/68/7 [Page] 7 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Sculptured Stone found here A.D. 1861'] - Not to be Written on Plan From its appearance, this does not seem to be a Sculptured Stone at all. [Initialled] E.H.C. Capt. R.E. [Captain Royal Engineers] [There is an illustration of the "Sculptured Stone" on this page].
OS1/1/68/8 NETHER CABRA Nether Cabra Nether Cabra Nether Cabra G. Kinghorn - Foreman at Nether Cabra G. Annand - Nether Cabra A. Simpson - Nether Cabra 013 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached. The property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/8 EAST NETHER CABRA East Nether Cabra East Nether Cabra East Nether Cabra A. Boyd - Factor A. Henderson - Occupier A. Simpson - Nether Cabra 013 Applies to a small farmsteading having outhouses &c. attached. The property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/8 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HERE A.D. 1869 [Nether Cabra] Flint Arrowhead A.D. 1869 Flint Arrowhead A.D. 1869 Flint Arrowhead A.D. 1869 G. Annand - Nether Cabra A. Simpson - Nether Cabra G. Kinghorn - Nether Cabra 013 One Flint Arrowhead was found by G. Annand, a short distance South of the Trig [Trigonometrical] Station and on the North of the farm of Nether Cabra. A.D. 1869.
OS1/1/68/8 [Page] 8 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/9 STONE CIRCLE [White Cow Wood] Stone Circle Stone Circle Stone Circle W. Stephens - South Skillymarno J. Keith - Auchrynie G. Yeats - White Cow Lodge 013 This Circle, has four upright stones in its Centre, with one slab resting against them. It is in the centre of the White Cow Wood, or rather the west centre. Seven stones of the circle are still standing.
OS1/1/68/9 SOUTH SKILLYMARNO South Skillymarno South Skillymarno South Skillymarno A. Boyd - Factor W. Stephens - Occupier A Birnie - Occupier 013 Applies to a Croft having outhouses, garden &c. attached. This place is known also as Crooked Dike. The property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour
OS1/1/68/9 CAMP HOWE Camp Howe Camp Howe Camp Howe J. Keith - Auchrynie G. Yeats - White Cow Lodge W. Stephens - South Skillymarno 013 The supposed site of this place is in the White Cow Wood and is thought to be the British Camp, that was in opposition to the Camp at the Den of Howie, near Fetterangus, about 1 mile distant.
OS1/1/68/9 Site of Supposed CAMP [White Cow Wood] (Site of supposed) British Camp (Site of supposed) British Camp (Site of supposed) British Camp J. Keith - Auchrynie G. Yeats - White Cow Lodge W. Stephens - South Skillymarno 013 Tradition says there was once a Camp here, and there is an old man still living in Strichen who says he can remember when part of it was visible. I could not find out if it was really a British Camp, but it is generally supposed to be one.
OS1/1/68/9 [Page] 9 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Stone Circle'] - [There is an illustration of the Stone Circle on this page]. N.B. The Sketch represents evidently the "Altar Stone", which stood in the centre of the Circle. [Initialled] E.H.C. Capt. R.E. [Captain Royal Engineers]
OS1/1/68/10 CRYLA Cryla Cryla Cryla A. Boyd - Factor A. McRobert - Home Factor J. Mackie - Occupier 013 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses; garden &c. attached. The property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/10 BLACKNESS Blackness Blackness Blackness A. Boyd - Factor J. Taylor - Occupier J. Hay - Backhill of Knapperty 013 Applies to a small farmsteading. The property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour
OS1/1/68/10 WHITE COW LODGE White Cow Lodge White Cow Lodge White Cow Lodge G. Yeats - Occupier J. Taylor - North Auchmacher W. Henderson - Keeper 013 Applies to a small but neat building, used as a Lodge by one of Coln. [Colonel] Fergusons Keepers; and situated on the border of the White Cow Wood, from which it derives its name.
OS1/1/68/10 [Page] 10 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/11 UPPER CABRA Upper Cabra Upper Cabra Upper Cabra A. Boyd - Factor R. McRobert - Home Factor J. Rollo - Occupier 013 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses garden &c. attached. The property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour
OS1/1/68/11 GAVAL Gaval Gaval Gaval G. Davidson - Occupier J. Rollo - Upper Cabra W. Henderson - Pitfour 013 ; 014 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses garden &c. attached. The property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/11 STONE CIRCLE (Remains of) [Gaval] Stone Circle (Remains of) Stone Circle (Remains of) Stone Circle (Remains of) G. Davidson - Gavel J. Rollo - Upper Cabra A. Wallace - Mintlaw 013 Applies to the remains of a Stone Circle or Druid Temple. One stone is still there, but has fallen down; The Altar Stone was blasted about 2 Years ago and weighed about 30 to 40 Tons. Situated about 70 Yards West of the farm of Gaval.
OS1/1/68/11 [Page] 11 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/12 SHELTERS Shelters Shelters Shelters A. McIntosh - Pitfour W. Henderson - Pitfour J. Fraser - Pitfour 013 Applies to a small circular wood used as a shelter for rearing pheasants. Situated about 2 miles North of the Village of Old Deer, and on the property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour
OS1/1/68/12 Site of STONE CIRCLE [Shelters] Stone Circle (Site of) Stone Circle (Site of) A. Park - Foreman to Pitfour A. McIntosh - Pitfour 013 Applies to the site of a Druids Temple or Stone Circle; it was removed about the year 1852 as it was in the way of the Plough. Situation; close to the Sheep Cot belonging to Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/12 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HERE A.D. 1863 [Shelters] Flint Arrowhead found A.D. 1863 Flint Arrowhead found A.D. 1863 A. McIntosh - Shepherd A. Park - Foreman 013 Applies to the site of where an arrowhead was found by A. McIntosh, Shepherd to Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour about the year 1863.
OS1/1/68/12 [Page] 12 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/13 DEVIL'S BRIG Devils Brig Devils Brig Devils Brig J. Cowie - Strichen A. Birnie - South Skillymarno W. Stephens - South Skillymarno 013 The Devils Brig or sometimes called the Black Brig is situated a short distance North of the farm of Cairnochries, and on the Avenue, East of the White Cow Lodge. The legend attached to it is; that the Army from the Den of Howie near Fetterangus, marched towards the opposition party, encamped at the Camp Howe in the White Cow Wood; and that the leader crossed this place, who was termed the Devil, so taking the name from him.
OS1/1/68/13 URNS FOUND HERE AD. 1839 [quarry, of Devil's Brig] Two Urns found here A.D. 1839. Two Urns found here A.D. 1839. J. Cowie - Strichen W. Farquhar - Brackeshill 013 Two Urns where found by some Quarrymen while at work in the Woods East of the White Cow Lodge; they where both broke.
OS1/1/68/13 [Page] 13 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/14 [Page] 14 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/15 FLINT ARROWHEADS FOUND HERE A.D. 1859 [Fetterangus Church] Six Flint Arrowheads found A.D. 1859 W. Ritchie - Braeside 013 Applies to the site of where 6 Arrowheads where found, by W. Ritchie, while digging close to the Burial ground of Fetterangus; about the year 1859.
OS1/1/68/15 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HERE A.D. 1853 [Den of Howie] Flint Arrowhead found A.D. 1853. G. Smith - Den 'o Howie 013 Applies to the site of where one Arrowhead was found by G. Smith; about the year 1853.
OS1/1/68/15 [Page] 15 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/16 GREENS OF GAVAL Greens of Gaval Greens of Gaval Greens of Gaval A. Boyd - Factor G. Anderson - Occupier C. Watt - Braeside 013 ; 014 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached. The property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/16 BRAESIDE OF FETTERANGUS Braeside of Fetterangus Braeside of Fetterangus Braeside of Fetterangus R. McRobert - Home Factor A. Boyd - Factor C. Watt - Braeside 013 Applies to three small crofts; situated on the West side of the Village of Fetterangus. The property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/16 [Page] 16 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [The entry for 'Den 'o Howie' is crossed out].
OS1/1/68/17 HILLHEAD Hillhead Hillhead Hillhead Mr. G. King Tenant Mr. J. Milne Atherb Mr. B. Cruickshank, Hillhead 013 Applies to a substantial farm house, with offices, garden &c. attached, the property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/17 [Page] 17 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to '(Site of Cairn) Flint Arrowheads and human bones found here A.D. 1859'] - Outside this Parish. not to be written
OS1/1/68/18 [Page] 18 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/19 KNAPPERTYHILLOCK Knappertyhillock Knappertyhillock Knappertyhillock Mr. J. Morrison Tenant Mr. G Hunter Brownhill Mr. J. Stephen Tilliepestle 013 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices garden &c. attached situated about 3 miles to the west of Pitfour House, the property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/19 BROWNHILL Brownhill Brownhill Brownhill Mr. G. Hunter Tenant Mr. J. Morrison Knappertyhillock Mr. J. Stephen Tilliepestle 013 Applies to a substantial farm house with offices garden &c. attached situated about a half a mile south of Knappertyhillock the property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/19 TILLYPESTLE Tilliepestle Tilliepestle Tilliepestle Mr. J Stephen Tenant Mr. J Morrison Knappertyhillock Mr. G. Hunter Brownhill 013 Applies to a small farm, with dwelling house, offices, garden &c. attached situated a short distance east of the farm of Brownhill the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/19 [Page] 19 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/20 KNAPPERTY HILL Knapperty Hill Knapperty Hill Knapperty Hill Mr. J. Thomson Auchmachar Mr. J. Morrison Knappertyhillock Mr. G. Hunter Brownhill 013 Applies to a hill situated a short distance to the east of the farm of Knappertyhillock. There is a Cairn on this hill but it is hidden from view by the wood which surrounds the summit of the hill.
OS1/1/68/20 CAIRN [Knapperty Hill] Cairn Cairn Cairn Mr. J. Morrison Knappertyhillock Mr. J. Thomson Auchmachar Mr. G. Hunter Brownhill 013 This Cairn is situated on the summit of Knapperty Hill. There has been nothing found at this Cairn as Colonel Ferguson wont allow any person to destroy it. The east end appears to have been examined by some of the curious.
OS1/1/68/20 Site of CAIRN [Knappertyhillock] (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn Mr. J. Thomson Auchmachar Mr. J. Morrison Knappertyhillock 013 Mr. J Thomson assisted at the opening of this Cairn, and found it to contain a stone coffin, in which there was traces of Human bones. Dr. [Doctor] Cooper (Old Deer) says they were calcined bones.
OS1/1/68/20 STONE CIST AND HUMAN REMAINS FOUND HERE A.D. 1839 [cairn, Knapperty Hill] Stone coffin and human bones found here A.D. 1839. Stone coffin and human bones found here A.D. 1839. Mr. J. Thomson Auchmachar Mr. J. Morrison Knappertyhillock 013 Mr. J Thomson assisted at the opening of this Cairn, and found it to contain a stone coffin, in which there was traces of Human bones. Dr. [Doctor] Cooper (Old Deer) says they were calcined bones.
OS1/1/68/20 [Page] 20 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/21 STONE CIRCLE (Remains of) [Knapperty Hill] Stone Circle (Part of) Stone Circle (Part of) Stone Circle (Part of) Mr. J. Thomson Auchmachar Mr. J. Morrison Knappertyhillock Mr. G. Hunter Brownhill 013 The remains of this circle is situated close to Knapperty Hill. There is only two stones standing and three lying on the ground. The altar stone appears to have been blasted as it is in three of four pieces. The stone standing at the east of altar stone is about seven or eight feet above ground, and the other is about seven.
OS1/1/68/21 AUCHMACHAR Auchmachar Auchmachar Auchmachar Mr. J. Thomson Tenant Mr. J. Morrison Knappertyhillock Mr. G. Hunter Brownhill 013 Applies to a small farm with dwelling house offices garden &c. attached situated on the south slope of Knapperty Hill, the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour
OS1/1/68/21 NORTH AUCHMACHAR North Auchmachar North Auchmachar North Auchmachar Mr. R. Taylor Tenant Mr. W. Adie South Auchmachar Mr. William Still Backhill of Auchmachar 013 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices garden &c. attached situated about a mile and a half west of Pitfour House the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/21 [Page] 21 Aberdeenshire -- Old Deer Parish
OS1/1/68/22 BACKHILL OF AUCHMACHAR Backhill of Auchmachar Backhill of Auchmachar Backhill of Auchmachar Mr. W. Still Tenant Mr. R. Taylor North Auchmachar Mr. William Adie South Auchmachar 013 Applies to a small farm with dwelling house garden &c. attached situated a short distance west of North Auchmachar, the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/22 SOUTH AUCHMACHAR South Auchmachar South Auchmachar Mr. W Adie Tenant Mr. R Taylor North Auchmachar Mr. W. Still Backhill of Auchmachar 013 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices garden &c. attached situated about a half a mile south of North Auchmachar the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/22 NORTH WEST LODGE [Pitfour House] North West Lodge North West Lodge North West Lodge Mr. W Adie South Auchmachar Mr. R. Taylor North Auchmachar 013 Applies to a neat cottage at the North West entrance to Pitfour House, the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/22 [Page] 22 Aberdeenshire -- Old Deer Parish
OS1/1/68/23 CAIRNDALE HILL Cairndale Hill Cairndale Hill Cairndale Hill Mr. J. Davidson Forester Mr. S Hunter Brownhill Mr. J. Stephen Tilliepestle 013 Applies to a hill situated about a half a mile south of the Bridge of Tilliepestle. At one time there stood a large cairn on this hill but it was removed by the farmer at Coilsmore, for the purpose of building dykes on this farm, there was nothing found at its base.
OS1/1/68/23 Site of CAIRN [Cairndale Hill] (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn Mr. J. Davidson Forester Mr. G. Hunter Brownhill Mr. J Cruickshank Coilsmore 013 Mr. Cruickshank says this was a large Cairn, and he used the stones for the purpose mentioned above.
OS1/1/68/23 COILSMORE Coilsmore Coilsmore Coilsmore Mr. J. Cruickshank Tenant Mr. G Hunter Brownhill Mr. J Davidson Forester 013 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices garden &c, attached situated a short distance north-east of Cairndale Hill the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/23 [Page] 23 Aberdeenshire -- Old Deer Parish
OS1/1/68/24 COILSMORE T.P. Coilsmore Toll House Mr. Alexander Keith Tenant Mr. J. Cruickshank Coilsmore 013 Applies to the old toll house situated a short distance east of the farm of Coilsmore the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/24 [Page] 24 Aberdeenshire -- Old Deer Parish [Note relating to 'Coilsmore Toll House'] - Not to be written on Plan [Transcribed for interest]
OS1/1/68/25 LOUDON WOOD Loudon Wood Loudon Wood Loudon Wood Mr. J. Davidson Forester Mr. W Adie South Auchmachar Mr. Taylor North Auchmachar 013 Applies to a large wood on the estate of Pitfour situated about a mile west of Pitfour House the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/25 WEST LODGE [Pitfour House] West Lodge West Lodge West Lodge Mr. J. Davidson Forester Mr. W. Adie South Auchmachar Mr. Taylor North Auchmachar 013 Applies to the west entrance to Pitfour House the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/25 BRIDGE OF TILLYPESTLE Bridge of Tilliepestle Bridge of Tilliepestle Mr. G Hunter Brownhill Mr. J Stephen Tilliepestle 013 Applies to a small bridge situated close to the farm of Tilliepestle from which it takes its name. Mr. Hunter says there is an old story about this bridge being the scene of a fight between two giants. Mr. Hunter says they Killed each other and were buried on two hills (over) [Continued on page 26]
OS1/1/68/25 [Page] 25 Aberdeenshire -- Old Deer Parish
OS1/1/68/26 BRIDGE OF TILLYPESTLE Bridge of Tillypestle (continued) Mr. G Hunter Brownhill Mr. J Stephen Tilliepestle 013 [Continued from page 25] close by, one on Knapperty Hill, and the other on Cairndale hill, and he says that two cairns were erected to commemorate the affair. The cairn on Knapperty Hill is still to be seen but Cairndale Hill can boast of but slight traces of the cairn that stood on it.
OS1/1/68/26 SOUTH MAINS OF BRUXIE South Mains of Bruxie South Mains of Bruxie South Mains of Bruxie Mr. William Beddie Tenant Mr. G. Hunter Brownhill Mr. J. Stephen Tilliepestle 013 Applies to a small farm with dwelling house offices garden &c. attached situated on the north slope of Cairndale Hill the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour
OS1/1/68/26 BRUXIE Bruxie Bruxie Mr. W Beddie South Mains of Bruxie Mr. G Hunter Brownhill 013 Applies to a croft with dwelling house offices garden &c. attached situated a short distance east of South Mains of Bruxie the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/26 [Page] 26 Aberdeenshire -- Old Deer Parish
OS1/1/68/27 CAIRNORCHIES Cairnorchies Cairnorchies Colonel Ferguson Pitfour Mr. R Porter Stuartfield 013 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices garden &c. attached situated about a mile north west of Pitfour House the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/27 DEN OF HOWIE Den of Howie Den of Howie Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Pratts "Buchan" 013 Applies to a den situated about a half a mile east of the farm of Cairnorchies. There is traces of a Roman Camp to be seen this den
OS1/1/68/27 SHEPHERD'S LODGE Shepherd's Lodge Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Davidson Forester 013 Applies to one of the north entrances to Pitfour House the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/27 [Page] 27 Aberdeenshire -- Old Deer Parish
OS1/1/68/28 DRINNIES WOOD Drinnies Wood Drinnies Wood Drinnies Wood Mr. J. Milne Pitfour Saw Mill Mr. G Yeats White Cow Lodge Mr. Davidson Forester 013 Applies to a large wood on the estate of Pitfour, situated about three quarters of a mile north of Pitfour House, the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/28 OBSERVATORY [Drinnies Wood] Observatory Observatory Observatory Mr. J. Milne Pitfour Saw Mill Mr. G. Yeats White Cow Lodge Mr. Davidson Forester 013 Applies to an octagonal tower situated near the south end of Drinies Wood. This tower was used by the late Admiral Ferguson as an observatory, but since his death, it is only Known by the name.
OS1/1/68/28 NORTH LODGE [Pitfour House] North Lodge North Lodge North Lodge Mr. J Milne Pitfour Saw Mill Mr. G Yeats White Cow Lodge Mr. Davidson Forester 013 Applies to the north entrance to Pitfour House, it is situated about a mile west of the village of Fetterangus, the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/28 [Page] 28 Aberdeenshire -- Old Deer Parish
OS1/1/68/29 FETTERANGUS CHURCH (Remains of) (Remains of) Fetterangus Church (Remains of) Fetterangus Church (Remains of) Fetterangus Church Pratts "Buchan" Pratts "Buchan" Pratts "Buchan" 013 "and about two and a half miles in a north easterly direction from the village of Deer, are the ruins of the old parish church of Fetterangus, built on a slight eminence, and at the distance of a few hundred yards west from the village of the same name. It stands in the north-west corner of the small churchyard, and had been of diminutive size - measuring thirty-three by twelve feet inside. The entrance was in the south wall, and about one-third of its length from the west end. Not enough of the wall remains to indicate the number of windows. The church stands east and west, but is otherwise of no particular significance." Page 99. Pratts Buchan W [Willox] - (Page 99.) "To the north-east of the church, one mile and a half, stand the ruines of an old chapell, Called Fether-Angus, which was a free (over) [Continued on page 30]
OS1/1/68/29 [Page] 29 Aberdeenshire -- Old Deer Parish
OS1/1/68/30 FETTERANGUS CHURCH (Remains of) (Remains of) Fetterangus Church (Remains of) Fetterangus Church (Remains of) Fetterangus Church Pratts "Buchan' Pratts "Buchan' Pratts "Buchan' 013 [Continued from page 29] chapelrie, and independent on the church of Deer (though it seems it did on St. Fergus,) but had a distinct parish of its own, which now is annexed to this Parish, but to this day continues to be within the jurisdiction of the shire of Banff; though environed on all sides by the shire of Aberdeen. The chappell has its own place of burying adjacent to it; and it is very remarkable that, before the death of any old inhabitant within that parish, there is a bell heard ring in the churchyard, though no such thing is to be see there. This I had from ear-witnesses." Description of the Parish of Old Deer M.DCC.XXIII. [1723] Willox. "Pratts Buchan" p.p. [pages] 377. 378.
OS1/1/68/30 [Page] 30
OS1/1/68/31 FERNIE KNAP Fernie Knap Fernie Knap Fernie Knap Mr. A Smith Dens of Pitfour Mr. Fraser North Lodge 013 Applies to a small hillock situated a short distance east of the North Lodge. It is not Known how it derived its name
OS1/1/68/31 TOUX Toux Toux Toux Mr. A. Coll. Tenant Mr. A Smith Dens of Pitfour Mr. Fraser North Lodge 013 Applies to a small croft with dwelling house offices garden &c. attached situated a short distance south of Fetterangus churchyard. The property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/31 STONE CIRCLE [Loudon Wood] Stone Circle Stone Circle Stone Circle Mr. Davidson Forester Mr. J Milne Pitfour Saw Mill Mr. Adie South Auchmachar 013 This is the second best circle in the parish of Old Deer. There is three stones standing in this circle and the same number lying on the ground. The altar Stone stands on the side of the circle. The stones stand about 6 or 7 feet above ground.
OS1/1/68/31 [Page] 31 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/32 CAMP (Remains of) [Den of Howie] (Remains of supposed) British Camp (Remains of supposed) British Camp Pratts Buchan Alexander Smith Dens of Pitfour 013 All that is to be seen of this supposed camp, are two ditches, slightly curved, but, running about parallel to each other. The depth of the ditches is about seven feet, and they slope down from the surface of the ground. The ditches are about five feet in width at the bottom. "On the top of the Hill of Bruxie, and at Den of Howie, near Fetterangus, there are traces of fortifications and encampments:" Pratts Buchan P. [Page] 121.
OS1/1/68/32 [Page] 32 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'North Lodge'] - Described on page 28.
OS1/1/68/33 DEER PARK Deer Park Deer Park Deer Park Mr. Davidson Forester Mr. Milne Forester Mr. Yeats, White Cow Lodge 013 Applies to two parks situated about a mile west of Pitfour House, the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour
OS1/1/68/33 PITFOUR MILL (Saw) Pitfour Saw Mill Mr. Davidson Forester Mr. Milne Forester Mr. Yeats White Cow Lodge 013 Applies to a substantial building used as a saw mill for the estate of Pitfour situated on the east side of Loudon Wood, the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/33 RIDING SCHOOL [Pitfour House] Riding School Riding School Riding School Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Davidson Forester Mr. Yeats White Cow Lodge 013 Applies to a very large building situated a short distance north of Pitfour House. This building is used by Colonel Ferguson as a riding school the property of the same.
OS1/1/68/33 [Page] 33 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/34 EPISCOPAL CHAPEL (Private) [Pitfour House] Episcopal Chapel Episcopal Chapel Episcopal Chapel Colonel Ferguson Mr. R Porter Stuartfield Mr. Boyd Merchant 013 This chapel was built for the accommodation of the Pitfour family. It is a neat little building situated a short distance east of Pitfour House. The entrance is at the west gable facing the house.
OS1/1/68/34 PITFOUR HOUSE Pitfour House Colonel Ferguson Proprietor Pratts Buchan 013 "Pitfour House (Admiral Ferguson) is about a mile north of the village. The house and grounds are on a large scale, the former having from time to time received considerable additions. The grounds are strikingly fine containing a lake of forty or fifty acres in extent, shrubberies ornamental flower-gardens, carriage-drives, and winding footpaths, several jets d'eau, and a miniature model of the temple of Theseus. These with the fine old timber, thriving young plantations [Continued on page 35]
OS1/1/68/34 [Page] 34 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/35 PITFOUR HOUSE Pitfour House Colonel Ferguson Proprietor Pratts Buchan 013 [Continued from page 34] and occasional distant views of the country, altogether make Pitfour one of the most distinguished residences in the district." "Pratts Buchan" p.p. [pages] 100. 101.
OS1/1/68/35 RIFLE RANGE [Pitfour House] Old Deer Volunteer Rifle Range Old Deer Volunteer Rifle Range Old Deer Volunteer Rifle Range Lieut. [Lieutenant] Boyd, Old Deer Volunteers, Dr. [Doctor] Cooper, Old Deer Volunteers, Mr. Murray, Old Deer Volunteers, 013 A very fine Rifle Range which is situated in the grounds of Pitfour, it was given to the Old Deer Volunteer Rifles for ball practice, by Col. [Colonel] Ferguson of Pitfour. This range is up to 1000 yards.
OS1/1/68/35 [Page] 35
OS1/1/68/36 [Page] 36 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/37 GAVAL Gaval Gaval Gaval Mr. G. Davidson Tenant Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Whitecross Fetterangus 013 ; 014 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices garden &c. attached situated about a mile north-west of the village of Fetterangus, the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/37 NORTH UGIE WATER North Ugie Pratts Buchan 014 "The beautiful serpentine channel," says the author of the Peterhead Annals, "winds through flowery meads, enriched with all the variety of odoriferous herbs which Scotland can boast of" And again "The salmon that are caught in it are of excellent quality, and are found in great plenty from the end of April to the end of July; there are also great quantities of trout, finnocks, eels, minnows, and flounders, in the river, with pearl muscle, in which, at times, pearls of value are found."
OS1/1/68/37 [Page] 37 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/38 MILL OF GAVAL (Corn) Mill of Gaval (Corn) Mill of Gaval (Corn) Mill of Gaval (Corn) Mr. G. Davie Tenant Mr. Smith Mains of Gaval Mr. Johnstone Fetterangus 014 Applies to a corn mill situated about a mile to the north east of the village of Fetterangus and on the west bank of the North Ugie. The property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/38 MAINS OF GAVAL Mains of Gaval Mains of Gaval Mains of Gaval Mr. Smith Tenant Mr. G. Davie Mill of Gaval Mr. Johnstone Fetterangus 014 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices garden &c. attached situated a short distance from the Mill of Gaval. The property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/38 BRAEHEAD OF GAVAL Braehead of Gaval Braehead of Gaval Braehead of Gaval Mr. Johnstone Tenant Mr. G Davie Tenant Mr. Smith Mains of Gaval 014 Applies to two small farms with dwelling house offices garden &c. attached to each, situated a short distance south of the Mill of Gaval. The property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/38 [Page] 38 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/39 MEIKLE POT OF GAVAL Meikle Pot of Gaval Meikle Pot of Gaval Meikle Pot of Gaval Mr. G. Davie Mill of Gaval Mr. Smith Mains of Gaval 014 Applies to a large pool in the North Ugie close to the Mill of Gaval.
OS1/1/68/39 OLD BRIDGE OF GAVAL Old Bridge of Gaval Old Bridge of Gaval Old Bridge of Gaval Mr. G. Davie Mill of Gaval Mr. Smith Mains of Gaval 014 Applies to an old bridge across the mill lade from the Mill of Gaval. The old road from Fetterangus to join the Turnpike road from Aberdeen to Fraserburgh cross at this point.
OS1/1/68/39 NEW BRIDGE OF GAVAL New Bridge of Gaval New Bridge of Gaval New Bridge of Gaval Mr. G. Davie Mill of Gaval Mr. Smith Mains of Gaval Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 041 Applies to the bridge across which the Turnpike road from Aberdeen to Fraserburgh crosses the North Ugie, and enters the parish of Lonmay.
OS1/1/68/39 [Page] 39 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/40 HYTHIE Hythie Hythie Hythie Mr. R. Morrice Tenant Mr. C. Rettie Tenant Mrs. Piper Tenant 014 Applies to a number of crofts situated about a mile east of the village of Fetterangus. The property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour
OS1/1/68/40 GREENS OF GAVAL Greens of Gaval Greens of Gaval Greens of Gaval Mr. G Anderson Tenant Mr. Whitecross Fetterangus Mr. Johnstone Merchant 013 ; 014 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices garden &c. attached situated a short distance west of the village of Fetterangus, the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/40 KIRKTON (In Ruins) Kirkton Kirkton Kirkton Mr. G Anderson Greens of Gaval Mr. Whitecross Fetterangus Mr. Johnstone Merchant 014 Applies to the remains of a small farm, the houses are all in ruins, situated close to Fetterangus Churchyard, the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/40 [Page] 40 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/41 SCHOOL [Fetterangus] School School Miss J Mitchell Schoolmistress Mr. Whitecross Fetterangus 014 Applies to a private school situated at the west end of the village. The number scholars attending daily is about 30 or 40.
OS1/1/68/41 POST OFFICE [Fetterangus] Post Office Post Office Post Office Mr. Johnstone Post Master Mr. Whitecross Fetterangus 014 Applies to a substantial building situated about the centre of the village. There is but one despatch and one delivery at this Post Office in the day. Viz. Despatch 9.29 A.M. Delivery 6.30 P.M.
OS1/1/68/41 FETTERANGUS Fetterangus Fetterangus Fetterangus Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Whitecross Fetterangus Mr. Smith Mains of Gaval 014 Applies to a village situated about three miles north east of the village of Old Deer. There are four streets in this village, but they are Known by no particular names, they intersect each other about the centre of the village. The population of [Continued on page 42]
OS1/1/68/41 [Page] 41 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/42 FETTERANGUS Fetterangus Fetterangus Fetterangus Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Whitecross Fetterangus Mr. Smith Mains of Gaval 014 [continued from page 41] the village in 1851 was 310 and in the year 1861 it was 345.
OS1/1/68/42 NETHER TOUX Nether Toux Nether Toux Nether Toux Mr. Anderson Tenant Mr. T. Herd Easter Toux Mr. A. Robertson Easter Toux 014 Applies to a small croft situated a short distance south east of the Village of Fetterangus, the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/42 EASTER TOUX Easter Toux Easter Toux Easter Toux Mr. T. Herd Tenant Mr. A Robertson Tenant Mr. Anderson Nether Toux 014 Applies to two crofts situated a short distance east of Nether Toux, the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/42 [Page] 42 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/43 MILLTOWN OF GAVAL Milltown of Gaval Milltown of Gaval Milltown of Gaval Mr. J. Lounan Tenant Mr. Whitecross Fetterangus Mr. Davie Mill of Gaval 014 Applies to a Substantial farm house with offices garden &c. attached the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/43 ST JOHN'S WELL St. Johns Well St. Johns Well St. Johns Well Mr. W. Cloban Hythie Mr. R. Morrice Hythie Mrs Piper Hythie 014 This name applies to a well situated close to two crofts on Hythie. The well is Known by a number of farmers in the neighbourhood, but none of them can tell why it goes by that name.
OS1/1/68/43 [Page] 43 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'St. John's Well'] - Not to be written on Plan [Transcribed for interest]
OS1/1/68/44 [Page] 44 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/45 NEWTON OF HYTHIE Newton of Hythie Newton of Hythie Newton of Hythie A. Boyd - Factor R. McRobert - Home Factor J. Gall - Occupier 014 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses garden &c. attached. The property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/45 HYTHIE MOSS Hythie Moss Hythie Moss Hythie Moss J. Craig - Nether Hythie J. Gall - Newton of Hythie N. Gall - Middle Hythie 014 Applies to a small peat moss; reduced greatly by cultivation. Situated about 4 Miles North East of the Village of Old Deer.
OS1/1/68/45 [Page] 45 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Hythie'] - Described on page 40
OS1/1/68/46 MIDDLE HYTHIE Middle Hythie Middle Hythie Middle Hythie A. Boyd - Factor R. McRobert - Home Factor N. Gall - Occupier 014 Applies to a substantial farmsteading, having outhouses, garden &c. attached. The property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/46 [Page] 46 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/47 TOUX Toux Toux Toux A. Grant - Occupier J. Whitecross - Fetterangus J. Milne - Mains of Pitfour 014 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 1 1/2 Miles North East of the Village of Old Deer. The property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson Pitfour; Also having a few small crofts attached.
OS1/1/68/47 MAINS OF PITFOUR Mains of Pitfour Mains of Pitfour Mains of Pitfour A. Boyd - Factor W. Pennie - Occupier W. Pennie - Mains of Pitfour 014 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses garden &c. attached. Situated about 1 Mile North East of the Village of Old Deer. The property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/47 HARDYARDS Hardyards Hardyards Hardyards R. McRobert - Balring D. Junor - Occupier G. Bruce - Dummill 014 Applies to a Croft. Situated about 2 Miles North East of the Village of Old Deer. The property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/47 [Page] 47 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/48 DUMMILL Dummill Dummill Dummill A. Boyd - Factor R. McRobert - Balring G. Bruce - Occupier 014 Applies to a small farmsteading. Situated about 2 1/4 Miles, North East of the Village of Old Deer. The property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/48 BRAKESHILL Brakeshill Brakeshill Brakeshill A. Boyd - Factor R. McRobert - Balring G. Bruce - Occupier 014 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having garden, outhouses, &c. attached Situated about 2 1/4 Miles North East of the Village of Old Deer The property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson Pitfour
OS1/1/68/48 NORTH EAST LODGE [Pitfour House] North East Lodge North East Lodge North East Lodge A. Scott - Occupier J. Gordon - Station Lodge G. Finnie - North Lodge 014 Applies to a neat substantial building having a garden attached. Situated on the North East side of Pitfour House.
OS1/1/68/48 [Page] 48 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/49 EAST LODGE [Pitfour House] East Lodge East Lodge East Lodge J. Stephens - Occupier J. Gordon - Station Master A. Scott - North East Lodge 014 Applies to a neat substantial building. Situated on the East of Pitfour House., and is the principle entrance to the Chapel of Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/49 [Page] 49 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/50 [Page] 50 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/51 NETHER HYTHIE Nether Hythie Nether Hythie Nether Hythie A. Boyd - Factor R. McRobert - Home Factor J. Craig - Occupier 014 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 3 Miles North East of the Village of Old Deer. The property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/51 [Page] 51 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'North Ugie Water'] - Described on Page 37
OS1/1/68/52 [Page] 52 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/53 BRIDGE OF HYTHIE (In Ruins) Hythie Bridge (In Ruins) Hythie Bridge (In Ruins) Hythie Bridge (In Ruins) Mr. McRoberts Home Factor Mr. James Smith Mill of Hythie Revd. [Reverend] Mr. Peter, Old Deer. 014 This was once a very fine bridge with two arches, but is now in ruins; the mill adjoining was once a famous lint mill, but it was for many years idle, and during that time the bridge was allowed to decay. It is said that this bridge is to be rebuilt.
OS1/1/68/53 MILL OF HYTHIE (Corn) Mill of Hythie Mill of Hythie Mill of Hythie Mr. McRoberts Home Factor Mr. James Smith Mill of Hythie Revd. [Reverend] Mr. Peter, Old Deer. 014 This name applies to a small farmsteading, it was originally the dwelling house of the manager of the lint mill when it existed. This mill lay idle for many years and is now converted into a corn mill; the property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/53 [Page] 53 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Bridge of Hythie (In Ruins)'] - Described in the documents of Longside Ph. [Parish]
OS1/1/68/54 [Page] 54 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/55 OVERTOWN OF BRUXIE Overtown of Bruxie Overtown of Bruxie Overtown of Bruxie Anne Smith Occupier Mr. William Hardy Howe of Bruxie Mr. Alexander Cruickshank Cairndale 021 Applies to a farm steading with dwelling house &c. situated about 3/4 mile north east of New Maud and about 3 1/4 miles north west from the village of Old Deer; the property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/55 HOWE OF BRUXIE Howe of Bruxie Howe of Bruxie Howe of Bruxie Mr. William Hardy Occupier Mr. A. Cruickshank Cairndale Mr. John Wilson Mill of Clackriach 021 Applies to a small farm steading situated a short distance east of the farm of Overtown of Bruxie; the property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson. Pitfour House
OS1/1/68/55 OLD MAUD BRIDGE Old Maud Bridge Old Maud Bridge Old Maud Bridge Mr. John Gray Bank Mr. George Aiken Mill of Old Maud Mr. W. Hardy Howe of Bruxie 021 Applies to a stone bridge across the South Ugie about 3 miles west of the village of Old Deer & deriving its name from the Mill of Old Maud which once stood close by in the parish of New Deer
OS1/1/68/55 [Page] 55 Old Deer Parish
OS1/1/68/56 DROWNING STONE Drowning Stone Drowning Stone Mr. George Aiken Mill of Old Maud Mr. John Gray Bank 021 Applies to a stone standing close by the parish boundary of Old Deer and near the edge of what was formerly the course of the South Ugie
OS1/1/68/56 BANK [farm] Bank Bank Bank Mr. John Stephen Occupier Mr. John Gray Bank Mr. George Aiken Mill of Old Maud 021 Applies to a farm steading situated close by the village of New Maud & about three miles west of the village of Old Deer the property of the Trustees of the late John Gordon Esq. Murtle
OS1/1/68/56 [Page] 56 Old Deer Parish
OS1/1/68/57 SCHOOL [Bank] School School School Mr. John Gray Schoolmaster Mr. George Aiken Mill of Old Maud Mr. John Wilson Mill of Clackriach 021 Applies to a school attached to the Church of Scotland and supported by the heritors of the district the Master having the school fees besides the Milne bequest and having on an average 70 scholars throughout the year
OS1/1/68/57 BANK HILL Bank Hill Bank Hill Bank Hill Mr. John Gray Bank Mr. George Aiken Mill of Old Maud Mr. John Wilson Mill of Clackriach 021 Applies to a small eminence situated a short distance south of the farm of Bank
OS1/1/68/57 [Page] 57 Old Deer Parish
OS1/1/68/58 [Page] 58 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/59 CAIRNDALE Cairndale Cairndale Cairndale Mr. A. Cruickshank Occupier Mr. John Wilson Mill of Clackriach Mr. William Hardy Howe of Bruxie 021 Applies to a farm steading & dwelling house situated about 3/4 mile west of the farm of Bruxie; the property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson, Pitfour House
OS1/1/68/59 STONE BALL FOUND HERE A.D. 1869 [Cairndale] Stone Ball (found here 1869) Stone Ball (found here 1869) Mr. A Cruickshank Cairndale Mr. John Wilson Mill of Clackriach 021 Whilst cultivating the land near the farm of Cairndale, Mr. Cruickshank found a stone ball about 4" in diameter
OS1/1/68/59 BRUXIE Bruxie Bruxie Bruxie Mr. James Hall Occupier Mr. John Wilson Mill of Clackriach Mr. William Hardy Howe of Bruxie 021 Applies to a farm steading and dwelling house situated about 1 3/4 miles north west from the village of Old Deer; the property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson, Pitfour House
OS1/1/68/59 [Page] 59 Old Deer Parish
OS1/1/68/60 NEWTOWN OF BRUXIE Newtown of Bruxie Newtown of Bruxie Newtown of Bruxie A. Boyd Esq. Factor Peterhead R. McRobbie Esq. Cartlehaugh Mr. W. Brebner Occupier 021 Applies to a farm steading & dwelling house situated about 1/4 mile north east of the Mill of Clackriach; the property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson. Pitfour House
OS1/1/68/60 MILL OF CLACHRAICH (Corn) Mill of Clackriach (Corn) Mill of Clackriach (Corn) Mill of Clackriach (Corn) Mr. John Wilson Occupier Mr. A. Cruickshank Cairndale Mr. W. Hardy Howe of Bruxie 021 Applies to a corn mill situated about 2 1/2 miles west of the village of Old Deer and on the road leading from Old Deer to New Maud the property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson, Pitfour House
OS1/1/68/60 MILL OF BRUXIE (Corn) Mill of Bruxie (Corn) Mill of Bruxie (Corn) Mill of Bruxie (Corn) Mr. William Trail, Occupier Mr. A. Cruickshank, Cairndale Mr. McRobbie, Cartlehaugh. 021 This name applies to a substantial corn mill having outhouses &c. attached; the property of Col. [Colonel] Ferguson, Pitfour House.
OS1/1/68/60 [Page] 60 Old Deer Parish
OS1/1/68/61 WATERHILL OF BRUXIE Waterhill of Bruxie Waterhill of Bruxie Waterhill of Bruxie Mr. J. Beattie Tenant Mr. William Macken Tenant Mr. William Lawrance Burnside of Benwells 021 This name applies to five small crofts situated about a mile and a half west of the village of Old Deer. Each croft has a substantial dwelling house, offices, garden &c. attached (one of the crofts has no garden attached). The property of "John Gordon's Charitable Fund, Proprietors of Clackriach and Oldmaud."
OS1/1/68/61 BURNSIDE OF BENWELLS Burnside of Benwells Burnside of Benwells Burnside of Benwells Mr. W. Lawrance Tenant Mr. J. Beattie Waterhill of Bruxie Mr. W. Macken Waterhill of Bruxie 021 Applies to a substantial farm house with offices, garden &c. attached situated close to Waterhill of Bruxie, the property of Mr. Russell of Aden House.
OS1/1/68/61 NEWMILL OF BRUXIE New Mill of Bruxie New Mill of Bruxie New Mill of Bruxie Mr. R. Cummin Tenant Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Lawrance Burnside of Benwells 021 Applies to a small croft with dwelling house, offices, garden &c attached, situated a about a half a mile north west of Aiky Brae, the property of "John Gordon's Charitable Fund, Proprietors of Clackriach and Oldmaud."
OS1/1/68/61 [Page] 61 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/62 LITTLE PARKHOUSE Little Parkhouse Little Parkhouse Little Parkhouse Mr. G. Rodger Tenant Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Lawrance Burnside of Benwells 021 Applies to a farm with dwelling house, office, garden &c. attached situated a short distance south of New Mill of Bruxie, the property of Mr. Russell of Aden.
OS1/1/68/62 BACKHILL OF PARKHOUSE Backhill of Parkhouse Backhill of Parkhouse Backhill of Parkhouse Mr. A. Grey Tenant Mr. G. Rodger Little Parkhouse Mr. Lawrance Burnside of Benwells 021 Applies to two small crofts with dwelling house offices garden &c. attached to each situated a short distance west of Aiky Brae, the property of Mr. Russell of Aden.
OS1/1/68/62 [Page] 62 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/63 BRUXIE LODGE Bruxie Lodge Bruxie Lodge Bruxie Lodge Mr. A Smith Tenant Mr. J. Milne Stockbridge Mr. J. Jamieson Quithel 021 Applies to one of the entrances to the House of Pitfour situated about a mile and half north-west of the village of Old Deer. The property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/63 STOCKBRIDGE Stockbridge Stockbridge Stockbridge Mr. J. Milne Tenant Mr. A Smith Bruxie Lodge Mr. J. Jamieson Quithel 021 Applies to a substantial farm steading with dwelling house, offices, garden &c. attached situated a short distance south of Bruxie Lodge. The property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/63 QUITHEL Quithel Quithel Quithel Mr. J. Jamieson Tenant Mr. G. Warnder Tenant Mr. J. Milne Stockbridge 021 Applies to two small houses situated a short distance east of the farm of Stockbridge. The property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/63 [Page] 63 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/64 Site of MAIDEN'S WELL (Site of) Maidens Well (Site of) Maidens Well (Site of) Maidens Well Mr. R. Porter. Stuartfield Mr. Murray, Old Deer Rev. [Reverend] Mr. Peter, Old Deer 021 This was once a fine spring well but it is now run into a drain. It takes its name from two old Maiden Ladys who used to live adjacent.
OS1/1/68/64 SAPLING BRAE Sapling Brae Sapling Brae Sapling Brae Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Smith Merchant Stuartfield Mr. Boyd Merchant Stuartfield 021 Applies to a hill on the estate of Pitfour situated about a mile north-west of the village of Old Deer, and close the Abbey of Deer.
OS1/1/68/64 SAPLINGBRAE Saplingbrae Saplingbrae Saplingbrae Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. J. George Gardener Colonel Ferguson Pitfour 021 Applies to a large and substantial dwelling house, situated at the foot of the east slope of Sapling Brae from which it takes its name. The property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/64 [Page] 64 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/65 Site of ABBEY WELL (Site of) Abbey Well (Site of) Abbey Well (Site of) Abbey Well Revd. [Reverend] Mr. Peter. Old Deer Revd. [Reverend] Mr. Ranken. Old Deer Mr. Porter Stuartfield 021 This well is now covered in, but the water is run to several places through pipes. This was the well from which the Abbey of Deer was supplied with water.
OS1/1/68/65 THE LAKE The Lake Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield "Pratts Buchan" 021 Applies to a large artificial lake situated a short distance south of Pitfour House. "The grounds are strikingly fine, containing a lake of forty or fifty acres in extent" Pratts Buchan p. [page] 91.
OS1/1/68/65 [Page] 65 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Boat House'] - Not a descriptive name
OS1/1/68/66 TEMPLE OF THESEUS (Miniature) Temple of Theseus (Miniature) Temple of Theseus (Miniature) Temple of Theseus (Miniature) "Pratts Buchan" "Pratts Buchan" "Pratts Buchan" 021 This applies to a small building situated on the west side of the lake. "Several jets d'eau, and a miniature modle of the temple of Theseus." Pratts Buchan p.p. [pages] 91. 92.
OS1/1/68/66 SOUTH LODGE [Pitfour House] South Lodge South Lodge South Lodge Mr. Cheivas Tenant Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. George Gardener 021 Applies to the south entrance to Pitfour House, the property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/66 CARTLEHAUGH Cartlehaugh Cartlehaugh Cartlehaugh Mr. Scott Tenant Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Colonel Ferguson Pitfour 021 Applies to a large and substantial dwelling house, with offices, garden &c. attached situated about a half a mile north of the village of Old Deer. The property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/66 [Page] 66 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/67 CUMIN'S CRAIG Site of Cummin's Craig Site of Cummin's Craig Site of Cummin's Craig "Pratts Buchan" Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Smith Merchant Stuartfield 021 "On Aiky Brae (that is, the Hill of Oaks) are certain stones called the Cummin's Craige, where 'tis said one of the Cummins, Earl of Buchan, by a fall from his horse at hunting, dashed out his brains." Pratts Buchan P. [Page] 111.
OS1/1/68/67 TUMULI [Aiky Brae] Tumuli Tumuli Tumuli "Pratts Buchan" Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. A Smith Bruxie Lodge 021 "and near the foot of Aiky Brae there is a cluster of tumuli, pointing out the graves of warriors who fell in a bloody contest reported to have taken place between Edward, the brother of King Robert Bruce, and Cumming the Earl of Buchan, with their followers and clansmen." Pratts Buchan P. [Page] 111.
OS1/1/68/67 [Page] 67 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Valley of Deer'] - Not to be written on Plan
OS1/1/68/68 AIKY BRAE Aiky Brae Aiky Brae Aiky Brae "Pratts Buchan" Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Smith Merchant Stuartfield 021 The northern declivity of this Hill is called "Aiky" or "Yackie Brae," a name derived, according to some opinions, from the oaks with which it was once clad; others with better reason, believe it owes its name to Achaius or Yochoch, a King of the Picts, and brother to Drostan, the patron saint of the parish. The removal of a portion of the relics of this saint from Aberdour to Deer is still commemorated by a fair - long famous, but now of less note - known as Aiky Fair, and held on the third Wednesday of July." Buchan p. [page] 109.
OS1/1/68/68 MARKET STANCE [Aiky Brae] Market Stance Market Stance Market Stance Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Smith Merchant Stuartfield Mr. Boyd Merchant Stuartfield 021 Applies to the north slope of Aiky Brae. There is a market held on this stance annually, it is a great horse and cattle market, in fact the largest of the kind in the district.
OS1/1/68/68 Site of ERD HOUSES [Aiky Brae] (Site of) Pictish Village (Site of) Pictish Village "Pratts Buchan" Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 At the distance of a quarter of a mile on the northern declivity of the same hill, there were, about the middle of the last century, the remains of a village, commonly called by the country people the Picts', or Pichts' houses, but supposed by some persons to have been the residence of the Druids. [Continued on page 69]
OS1/1/68/68 [Page] 68 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/69 Site of ERD HOUSES [Aiky Brae] (Site of) Pictish Village (Site of) Pictish Village "Pratts Buchan" Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 [Continued from page 68] "The village then consisted of between sixty and seventy small huts, from six to twelve feet square, irregularly huddled together. The walls were built of small stones, cemented with clay; the floors were paved with stones, and a number of small yards or gardens enclosed with dykes of the same material, were to be seen around it. As late as 1821, about a dozen of the huts were still standing, but now every vestage of this prehistoric village has been obliterated by the ploughshare." Pratts Buchan" P.P. [Pages] 108. 109 "There were, not long ago, the ruins of a small Village, commonly called by the country people "Pights' or Picts' houses". It consisted of fifty or sixty mossy huts, from six to twelve feet square, irregularly huddled together, hence it got the name of the bourachs. The walls were built of stones of a small size, and clay; the floors were paved with stones. Two circular huts containing some ashes, seem to have been corn kilns." (Sculptured Stones of Scotland, Vol. [Volume] 1. P. [Page] 6.)
OS1/1/68/69 ABBEY BRIDGE Abbey Bridge Abbey Bridge Abbey Bridge "Pratts Buchan" Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Smith Merchant Stuartfield 021 Applies to a bridge which crosses the South Ugie a little to the west of the Abbey of Deer. There are two dates to be seen on this bridge (on the east face) A.D. 1713 & A.D. 1818.
OS1/1/68/69 [Page] 69 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/70 ABBEY KILN Kiln Mr. George Gardener Saplingbrae 021 Applies to the remains of an old Kiln said to have been used by the monks to dry their corn, it is situated a short distance north of the Abbey of Deer.
OS1/1/68/70 BRIDGEND Bridge-end Bridge-end Bridge-end Mr. A Mathers Tenant Colonel Ferguson Pitfour Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices, garden &c. attached, situated a short distance south of the Abbey Bridge. The property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour.
OS1/1/68/70 THE SAUGH TREE The Saugh Tree The Saugh Tree The Saugh Tree "Pratts Buchan" Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. George Gardener Saplingbrae 021 This name applies to a willow tree on the bank of South Ugie, situated close to the Abbey of Deer. "We read, in the New Statistical Account, that "near the mill of Haddo, at a spot called the Battle Fauld, tradition points out the grave of Sir James the Rose, who was slain [Continued on page 71]
OS1/1/68/70 [Page] 70 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/71 THE SAUGH TREE The Saugh Tree The Saugh Tree The Saugh Tree "Pratts Buchan" Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. George Gardener Saplingbrae 021 [Continued from page 70] in mortal combat by Sir John the Graeme when contending for the hand of Lord Buchan's daughter." "The scene of this tragedy has been erroneously assigned, as we have already stated in a former part of this volume, to the Ugie, and a willow "on the bank beside the burn," near the ruins of the Abbey of Deer, is pointed out as the spot where "Beneath a bush he laid him down, And wrapp'd him in his plaid; While trembling for her lover's fate, At distance stood the maid." The result of this sanguinary content was that the rivals mutually inflicted a mortal wound, and that the "fair Matilda" determined not to survive the Rose. The circumstances of her death are variously told. One account states that she fell upon her lover's sword, - "She lean'd the hilt against the ground, And bared her snowy breast; Then fell upon her lover's face, And sank to endless rest!" Another, that she wandered away from her home, and was never more heard of. [Continued on page 71]
OS1/1/68/71 [Page] 71 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/72 THE SAUGH TREE The Saugh Tree The Saugh Tree The Saugh Tree "Pratts Buchan" Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. George Gardener Saplingbrae 021 [Continued from page 71] "Then up she rose, and forth she goes, And, in that hour o' tein, She wander'd to the dowie glen, And never mair was seen." Pratts Buchan p.p. [pages] 146. 147.
OS1/1/68/72 WUDDY HILL Wuddy Hill Wuddy Hill Pratts Buchan Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 "I am inclined to think that Old Deer has Some claim to the title of a Burgh of Barony; but I have been unsuccessful in ascertaining whether this is the case or not. If so I fancy it would be a matter of Some difficulty to decide who were the superiors - the Abbots of the Monastery, or the Marischal family, to whom the Barony of Aden, or, as it was called Alneden, finally belonged. At all events, from a somewhat remote period down to within a few years, Old Deer could boast of having had a Bailie to rule over it; and the wuddy-hill still stands at a short distance from the village, although the wuddy (Gallows) itself has been long since shuffled aside, [Continued on page 73]
OS1/1/68/72 [Page] 72 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/73 WUDDY HILL Wuddy Hill Wuddy Hill Pratts Buchan Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 [Continued from page 72] with many others of the equally respected institutions of our worthy forefathers. There is, however, not the shadow of a tradition of its virtue-inspiring functions every having been put into equisition. While the people of Forgue can point to the energetic proceedings of the lairds of Frendraught in the cause of order and good government, by the wholesale hangings and drownings by which the endeavoured, to inspire in their neighbourhood a salutary respect for the law; and whilst Peterhead - a place of modern note in comparison to Old Deer - can point to her annals, and show that the enlightened authorities of that flurishing burgh took a praiseworthy interest in the spiritual as well as the temporal well-being of their subjects, from the acuteness with which they discovered, and the zeal with which the burned, a couple of poor wretches convicted of witchcraft; we of [Continued on page 74]
OS1/1/68/73 [Page] 73 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/74 WUDDY HILL Wuddy Hill Wuddy Hill Pratts Buchan Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 [Continued from page 73] Old Deer have not even a tradition of the finisher of the law ever having, in the good old times', exercised his vocation in this locality. Local patriotism, however, will not allow me to let Old Deer be thrown into the background in matters of such importance, even by Forgue or Peterhead. We have had our witches as well as they, only we employed the good folks of Aberdeen to dispose of them, instead of being at the trouble of burning them quietly at home. Pratts Buchan p. [page] 370.
OS1/1/68/74 ABBEY OF ST MARY OF DEER (Remains of) Abbey of St. Mary of Deer. (Remains of) "Pratts Buchan" 021 "The Abbey of St. Mary of Deer. - William Comyn, whose ancestors had settled in Northumberland in the time of David I, married Marjory or Margaret, the only child of Fergus, Earl of Buchan, who, on the death of her Father became countess in her own right. Comyn, by this alliance, acquired the earldom. Imbued with that regard for the honour of God and the interests of religion, which were characteristic of the Norman race, and which, for several centuries after their settlement in the Kingdom, continues [Continued on page 75]
OS1/1/68/74 [Page] 74 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/75 ABBEY OF ST MARY OF DEER (Remains of) Abbey of St. Mary of Deer. (Remains of) "Pratts Buchan" 021 [Continued from page 74] Continued to distinguish them even when accompanied by traits of a very opposite description, Comyn, Soon after his marriage, made preparations for the erection of an abbey on his newly acquired estates.The place selected for the building was on the north bank of the Ugie, about three-quarters of a mile west from the parish church, in the valley between the two hills, Sapling Brae and Aiky Brae. It is supposed to have been, at the time, a sort of marsh, but sheltered from the north by the Sapling Brae, which rises abruptly from the plain at less than a hundred yards behind the site of the Abbey. According to Spottiswood and others, the foundations were laid on the first day of March 1218, although a record or tradition, preserved in the abbey until the middle of the sixteenth century, makes the date of the building the 29th day of January 1219. This discrepancy can only be reconciled on one of two hypotheses; either that the foundations of the church were laid on the one of (over) [Continued on page 76]
OS1/1/68/75 [Page] 75 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Newspaper article pasted into "Authority" column] THE EARL MARISCHAL The Abbey of Deir was a religious house, belonging to the Cistercian order, situated on the small river Ugie, in Aberdeenshire. Its wealth was great, for in 1565 its rental amounted to £572 8s 6d [£572.08.06], a very large sum three hundred years ago. The temporalities of this religious house, which, like other similar baits to cupidity, sharpened the zeal of the Scottish nobles in the cause of the reformation, fell to the share of a son of the fourth Earl Marischal, Robert Keith. The estates of the Abbey of Deir were erected into a temporal lordship in his favour, with the title of Lord Altrie, in 1587, with remainder, after his death, to his nephew. George, fifth Earl Marischal. Lord Altrie died in 1593, when the temporalities of the Cistercian Abbey came into the possession of the head of his house. It was not, however, without a solemn warning that the Earl yielded to the temptation of a large addition to his annual revenue. A faithful monitor was by his side, who was warned in a dream of the ruin which impended over him; but he disregarded the admonition, and sealed the fate of his house. The Earl's first wife, Margaret, daughter of Alexander, fifth Lord Home, was a woman of a noble spirit and a tender conscience, and used all her influence to prevent her Lord from introducing such a consuming moth into his house as was the sacrilegious meddling with the wealth of the Abbey of Deir. She had a remarkable dream, which she did not fail to comunicate to her husband, and which the fate of the subsequent generations of their race has proved to be prophetic. She lay asleep one night in the Castle of Dunottar, the chief seat of the family - a mansion perched on a tremendous rock overhanging the German Ocean, and still considered, as well from the extent of its ruins as its picturesque position, one of the most remarkable objects in the North of Scotland. In her sleep she saw a long procession of ecclesiastics, clad in the habit of the Cistercian order, issuing from the Abbey of Deir, and advancing to the strong and steep rock on which Dunottar Castle is situated. She saw them set themselves round the foot of the rock, and taking penknives out of their pockets, begin to pick and cut the hard rock, as if with the intention of demolishing it. The Countess, in her sleep, wondered at the folly of these poor monks, who were attempting so great work with such inadequate instruments, and she went to call her husband, in order to join with her in deriding them, and in calling on them to cease their fruitless labour. When, full of mirth, she brought him along with her to see the poor monks at their foolish work, behold, the entire rock, with the strong, the stately castle, had already been undermined by the work of the penknives, and had toppled over into the ocean; so that there remained nothing but the wreck of their rich furniture and tapestries floating on the waves of a raging and tempestuous sea. Dunottar had sunk, and the very place on which it stood had perished for ever. The Earl mocked the popular superstition and his wife's foreboding vision. He inscribed on a tower which he built at the Abbey of Deir, this defiant motto - "They have said; what say they, let them say." He seems to have regarded his munificent foundation of Marischal College in Aberdeen, with its principal and four professors of philosophy, whom he richly endowed, as a sort of salve to his conscience for the church lands which he had acquired. He founded this College immediately after he had become possessed of the Lordship of Altrie, with the Cistercian temporalities, and he repeated the same legend that he had inscribed on the Abbey tower, on the walls of his new college. The riches and grandeur of the house of Keith-Marischal probably appeared to the Earl to be as firmly established as the Castle of Dunottar on its lofty rock beetling above the North sea. What would he have thought if he could have foreseen that in little more than ninety years from the time of his death, his descendants would be deprived of their lands and titles, and were to be wandering exiles in a foreign country; and that in somewhat more than half a century later, the last male descendant of the Earls Marischal was to close his long lingering existence in the service of a German Prince, leaving behind him no direct heir male of his illustrious family to claim even the empty honour of representing the house of Marischal; while the ancient and strong fortress of Dunottar should stand roofless and grass-grown, and, except as a melancholy landmark to the ships sailing beneath its walls, might as well be crumbled beneath the waves that beat against the cliff on which it is reared. - Sir Bernard Burke's Vicissitudes of Families.
OS1/1/68/76 ABBEY OF ST MARY OF DEER (Remains of) Abbey of St. Mary of Deer. (Remains of) "Pratts Buchan" 021 [Continued from page 75] these days, and those of the monastery on the other; or that the building was in a state to receive the three monks, who formed the first deetachment, at the latter mentioned date, which there is some reason to believe was the case. The church was built in the form of a cross, and consisted of a nave with a north aisle, transepts, and chancel. The internal dimensions were as follow:- Total length of nave and chancel - 150 feet Across the transepts - 90 feet Width of nave and aisle - 38 1/2 feet Length of nave - 90 feet Length of chancel - 30 feet Width of nave and chancel - 27 feet Width of transepts - 30 feet. The nave was divided into five bays, the chancel not extending beyond the line of pillars which divided the aisle from the nave. The bases of the pillars might, till very lately (1854), be traced along the nave. Those forming the angles [Continued on page 77]
OS1/1/68/76 [Page] 76 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/77 ABBEY OF ST MARY OF DEER (Remains of) Abbey of St. Mary of Deer. (Remains of) "Pratts Buchan" 012 [Continued from page 76] of the transepts with the nave were of greater diameter. In all probability they had supported a central tower, and perhaps a spire. From the few mouldings and top arches of windows which, till lately, were to be found amid the heap of ruins, it is evident that the church was built in the style peculiar to the age, namely, the first pointed or early English. The arches were lancet shaped, and the mouldings deeply cut in red sandstone, which is said to have been brought from a quarry at Byth, a distance of twelve miles. The church formed the north-west portion of the abbey buildings. The monastery, and other houses round it for the accommodation of the monks and secular servants, were very plain, - most of the doors and windows having circular arches, and without any ornament. The church stood east and west, and from the fragments which till lately remained, we are able to form a tolerably accurate idea of its (over) [Continued on page 78]
OS1/1/68/77 [Page] 77 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/78 ABBEY OF ST MARY OF DEER (Remains of) Abbey of St. Mary of Deer. (Remains of) "Pratts Buchan" 021 [Continued from page 77] design and proportions. Standing at the western entrance, we may fancy a building, lofty and long, with no great profusion of architectural ornament, yet chaste and graceful in all its parts. Slender pillars, a high-pitched roof, long lancet-shaped windows of narrow lights; the font near the door; the high altar in the far east - all meant to shadow forth some article of the Christian faith." "Pratts Buchan" p.p. [pages] 92. 93. 94.
OS1/1/68/78 Site of CHAPEL 1766 Site of Chapel Site of Chapel Site of Chapel Revd. [Reverend] A. Ranken. Old Deer. Revd. [Reverend] Mr. Peter. Old Deer Mr. Porter Stuartfield 021 This church has only just been removed. Dr. [Doctor] Pratt in his history of Buchan says, in speaking of the Episcopal Churches of Deer, in page 89. "The next was built in 1766, on the north bank of the river, at a short distance above the bridge, and is still standing. It is a large unsightly building, capable of accommodating about 500 worshippers. Having fallen into disrepair, and some difficulties having arisen relative to its restoration, it was abandoned, and the present ecclesiastical edifice erected in the village to supply its place."
OS1/1/68/78 [Page] 78 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/79 CHURCH OF DEER (Remains of) Church of Deer (Remains of) Church of Deer (Remains of Pratts Buchan Rev. [Reverend] Mr. Peters 021 "At the east end of this building there are some remains of the former church, now used as a place of sepulture by the families of Aden and Kinmundy. This fragment exhibits specimens of a very different style of architecture. A door-way, with a pointed arch and very good mouldings, in the south wall, and the remains of a piscina in the east wall, clearly point to a different mode of Christian worship from that indicated by the present church. "Deer," says the writer of the Statistical Account, "if not the first, was probably one of the first places in Buchan where a Christian church was erected." There is a legend that, when some pious individuals formed the design of building a house for the worship of God, and selected such spots, one after another, as appeared appropriate for the purpose, though they saw no person, they heard a voice thus accost them. - "It is not here, it is not here That ye're to big the Kirk o' Deer, But on the top o' Fillery, Where many a corpse shall after lie." "A church accordingly was built on a Knoll or small mount [Continued on page 80]
OS1/1/68/79 [Page] 79 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/80 CHURCH OF DEER (Remains of) Church of Deer (Remains of) Church of Deer (Remains of Pratts Buchan Rev. [Reverend] Mr. Peters 021 [Continued from page 79] embraced by a semicircular bend of the Ugie, and, as was customary, a piece of a ground around it was set apart for a burial-place, so that the weird is fully verified." "The Church of Deer was long built before the Abbey and was never subject to it. It was one of the Ecclesia Matrices, or mother churches of these bounds." Pratts Buchan p.p. [pages] 81. 82. 83.
OS1/1/68/80 TOW STONE Tow Stone Tow Stone Mr. Brown Druggist Pratts Buchan 021 "In front of Mr. Hutchison's shop Old Deer, a small unpretending upright stone, about the size of an ordinary milestone, may be seen standing with its lower extremity deeply embedded in the pavement. It appears to be placed in a awkward position for parties who may be walking along the street on a dark night, and the necessity for its being there at all becomes very questionable, as its uses are not very apparent. The stone in question is, however, an affair of some consequence; it is a relic of the past, and connects the Old Deer of former days with the Old Deer of the present time. When the village was a place [Continued on page 81]
OS1/1/68/80 [Page] 80 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/81 TOW STONE Tow Stone Tow Stone Mr. Brown Druggist Pratts Buchan 021 [Continued from page 81] of more consequence than it happens to be now - when the communication with the neighbouring large towns had not reached its present state of perfection - when shops were not quite so numerous, and the domestic wants of the community were not so well nor so easily supplied, a weekly market was held in the village for the disposal of the productions of the neighbourhood and the supply of these wants, which the rural population of the olden time were in the habit of drawing from those important personages, much more welcome at the firesides of our great-grandfathers than at those of their descendants, - the pedlars and general newsmongers of those primitive days. At that time the superior of the village, or his representatives, stood in awful majesty at the stone in question and collected the tolls or customs of the market, or decided any knotty question in commercial jurisprudence that might have arisen amongst his subjects in the course of their trading transactions." "Pratts Buchan" P.P. [Pages] 371. 372
OS1/1/68/81 [Page] 81 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/82 NORTH OF SCOTLAND BANK [Old Deer] North of Scotland Bank (Branch of) North of Scotland Bank (Branch of) North of Scotland Bank (Branch of) Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Watt Old Deer Mr. Boyd Merchant Stuartfield 021 Applies to one of the branch offices of the North of Scotland Bank. It is a large substantial building situated on the north side of the principal street of the village of Old Deer.
OS1/1/68/82 POST OFFICE [Old Deer] Post Office Post Office Mr. Watt Postmaster Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 Applies to the Old Deer Post Office situated on the south side of the principal street of the village of Old Deer, and opposite to the North of Scotland Bank. The hours of arrival and despatch are about the same as that of the post office at Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/82 [Page] 82 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Silver Coin found here A.D. 1869'] - Not to be written on Plan
OS1/1/68/83 OLD DEER [village] Old Deer "Pratts Buchan" 021 "The Village of Deer is of great antiquity, but within the last thirty years the greater portion of the old houses have been replaced by new and superior ones. Previous to that time, it was like most old villages - a mean unsightly place, consisting of one street, but separated into two branches at the Kirk-style, most of the houses being built with the gable to the street. The features of the place are now completely changed, only one or two of the old buildings remaining." "Pratts Buchan"
OS1/1/68/83 ADEN HOUSE Aden House "Pratts Buchan" 021 PTO To return to old Deer. At less than a quarter of a mile east of the village, and on the opposite side of the stream, is Aden House (Russell), the ancient Alneden, from a barony of that name, an elegant and commodious mansion, built in a regular square, the centre of which is a billiard-room or library of noble dimensions and beautiful design. The west front is chaste and classical. (over) [Continued on page 84]
OS1/1/68/83 [Page] 83 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/84 ADEN HOUSE Aden House Pratts Buchan 021 [Continued from page 83] The grounds, possessing great natural capabilities, have been improved to the uttermost. All that a refined taste could suggest, has here been brought to bear on the rugged outlines of nature. The sloping banks of the stream clothed with lofty trees, and cut into numerous footpaths, carry you at once from scenes of social enjoyment to the quiet seclusion of the leafy woods, the song of birds, and the everlasting music of the river, which here well sustains its character -" "Thou are the poet of the woods, fair river, A lover of the beautiful." "Pratts Buchan" P. [Page] 91.
OS1/1/68/84 WEST LODGE [Aden House] West Lodge West Lodge West Lodge Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Russell Aden House Mr. Boyd Merchant Stuartfield 021 Applies to the west entrance to Aden House situated a short distance north of the village of Old Deer, the property of Mr. Russell Aden House.
OS1/1/68/84 [Page] 84 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/85 WAULKMILL Waulkmill Waulkmill Waulkmill Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Dr. [Doctor] Cooper Old Deer Mr. Watt Merchant Old Deer 021 Applies to a number of houses situated a short distance north of the village of Old Deer. This place derived its name from a mill that stood close by, no traces of the mill are to be seen at the present day. The property of Colonel Ferguson Pitfour
OS1/1/68/85 MANSE Manse Manse Manse Rev. [Reverend] Mr. Peters Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Watt Merchant Old Deer 021 Applies to a large and commodious building, occupied by the Rev. [Reverend] Mr. Peters, it is situated a short distance north west of the village of Old Deer.
OS1/1/68/85 BRIDGE OF DEER Bridge of Deer Bridge of Deer Bridge of Deer Rev. [Reverend] Mr. Peters Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Watt Merchant 021 Applies to a bridge situated close to the Established Church. The South Ugie takes a sharp turn at this point, and enters the grounds of Aden. This bridge is too narrow to allow two carts to pass at one time.
OS1/1/68/85 [Page] 85 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/86 POORHOUSE [Old Deer] Poors House Poors House Poors House Mr. Wilson Schoolmaster Mr. R Porter Stuartfield Mr. Watt Old Deer 021 A larg and substantial building situated at the west end of the village of Old Deer. The inmates of this Poors House are chiefly old women, not able to take care of themselves
OS1/1/68/86 SCHOOL [W of Old Deer] School School School Mr. Wilson Schoolmaster Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Watt Old Deer 021 This school is situated a short distance west of the village of Old Deer. Mr. Wilson is teacher at this school, and is in receipt of the Dick & Milne bequest. There is an attendance of about 80 scholars daily.
OS1/1/68/86 SCHOOL (Girls) [nr poorhouse, Old Deer] School School School Miss C. Duncan Schoolmistress Mr. Wilson Schoolmaster Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 This is what is called a sessional girls school situated close to the Poors House. Miss C. Duncan is teacher at this school. There is about 30 or 40 scholars attend daily.
OS1/1/68/86 [Page] 86 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/87 [Page] 87 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/88 TILLERY Tillery Tillery Pratts Buchan Mr. R Porter Stuartfield 021 Applies to that portion of the Old Deer grave yard upon which the remains of the Church of Deer stands. "It is not here, it is not here That ye're to big the Kirk o'Deer, But on the top o' Tillery, Where many a corpse shall after lie." Pratts Buchan p. [page] 81.
OS1/1/68/88 [Page] 88 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/89 ST DROSTANE'S WELL St. Drostane's Well St. Drostane's Well Mr R. Porter Stuartfield Mr Scott Old Deer 021 This name applies to a well situated a short distance south of the village of Old Deer. It is named after the patron saint of the parish. There is no tradition connected with this well.
OS1/1/68/89 GRIAN'S WELL St. Drostane's Well St. Drostane's Well Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Scott Old Deer 021 This name applies to a well situated a short distance south of the village of Old Deer. It is named after the patron saint of the parish. There is no tradition connected with this well.
OS1/1/68/89 ST DROSTANE'S CHAPEL (Scottish Episcopal) St. Drostane's Chapel (Episcopal) St. Drostane's Chapel (Episcopal) Pratts Buchan Oliver & Boyds Almanac 021 Besides the parish church, there is an Episcopal church, erected in 1850, on ground granted by Mr. Russell of Aden, who, with Mrs. Russell, was otherwise a large contributor to the building. It is in the early English style, beautiful in its general features, and, on the whole, correct in the details. It consists of a nave and Chancel, and is entered by a porch on the north side. The bell-turret is deserving of attention as a successful example of that part of a church which seems to be the crux of ecclesiastical architects. The bell, which is of good tone, bears the following inscription:- DEO ET S. DROSTANO ABB. ET CONFES. MDCCCLI [1851] (over) [Continued on page 90]
OS1/1/68/89 [Page] 89 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'St. Drostan's Well'] - [now crossed out] Altered to Grian's Well By order of the Director Sep [September] 30th 1881
OS1/1/68/90 ST DROSTANE'S CHAPEL (Scottish Episcopal) St. Drostane's Chapel (Episcopal) St. Drostane's Chapel (Episcopal) Pratts Buchan Oliver & Boyds Almanac 021 [Continued from page 89] FUNERA PLANGO, FULGURA FRANGO, SABBATA PANGO; EXCITO LENTOS, DISSIPO VENTOS PACO CRUENTOS. C. ET G. MEARS, LONDINI, FECERUNT. The east window, a memorial one of three lights, is very fine.
OS1/1/68/90 CHURCH [Old Deer] Church "Pratts Buchan" 021 The parish church stands at the east end of the village, and within fifty yards of the river. It is a large building, and according to the Statistical Account, "filled up to contain 1200 sitters, and built in 1788." It is in the style common to the period, plain and substantial, but with no particular architectural character.
OS1/1/68/90 HOTEL [Aden Arms Hotel, Old Deer] Aden Arms Hotel Aden Arms Hotel Aden Arms Hotel John Fraser Tenant Mr. R Porter Stuartfield Mr. Boyd Merchant Stuartfield 021 Applies to a large and substantial building situated at the east end of the village. This is the only hotel in the parish, the property of Mr. Russell of Aden.
OS1/1/68/90 [Page] 90 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/91 CLACHRIACH CASTLE (Ruin) Clachriach Castle (Remains of) Clachriach Castle (Remains of) Clachriach Castle (Remains of) J. Davidson - Mains of Clachriach P. Stephen - Clachriach J.B. Pratt - Book of Buchan 021 "About a mile to the West of the Abbey of Deer the ruins of the old Castle of Clachriach are apt to arrest the attention, and become an object of some interest to the passing traveller. A very erroneous impression exists amongst the people of this neighbourhood that they are the remains of a Pictish stronghold; a visit to them, however, is calculated to despel all such ideas in those who are in the slightest degree acquainted with the architectural antiquities of our country. The castle of Clachriach stands upon a slight eminence in the center of the farm of that name. It is a quadrangular building, having a projecting wing, and its only title to the name of a castle is the fact that it has possessed a turreted staircase and arched doorway and windows, one of the latter having been secured by iron stancheons, portions of which still remain firmly fixed in the walls. With the utilitarian taste so particularly characteristic of our agricultural friends, advantage has been taken of the walls of this building. Of course the idea of its ever having been a Pictish tower is simply absurd, as neither in the [Continued on page 92]
OS1/1/68/91 [Page] 91 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [There is a small illustration of 'Clachriach Castle (Ruin)' on this page]
OS1/1/68/92 CLACHRIACH CASTLE (Ruin) Clachriach Castle (Remains of) Clachriach Castle (Remains of) Clachriach Castle (Remains of) J. Davidson - Mains of Clachriach P. Stephen - Clachriach J.B. Pratt - Book of Buchan 021 [Continued from page 91] [Situation] Castle of Clachriach continued thickness of the walls, nor in the extent of building, does it much exceed the dimensions of many farmhouses of a very modern date." Gossip about Old Deer. Extract from the Late Rev. Dr. [Reverend Doctor] Pratts Book of Buchan
OS1/1/68/92 MAINS OF CLACHRIACH Mains of Clachriach Mains of Clachriach Mains of Clachriach J. Davidson - Occupier Peter Stephen - Clachriach J. Slessor - Clachriach 021 Applies to a Fine substantial farmsteading having outhouses garden &c. attached. Situated about 2 Miles West of the Village of Old Deer.
OS1/1/68/92 Site of CAIRN [Mains of Clachriach] (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn P. Stephen - Clachriach J. Slessor - Clachriach W. Falconer - Clachriach 021 Applies to the Site of a Cairn, said to have consisted of about 250 Cartloads of stones, which where removed about the year 1839; [continued below]
OS1/1/68/92 URNS FOUND HERE AD. 1839 [cairn, Mains of Clachriach] 5 Urns found here 1839. 5 Urns found here 1839. 5 Urns found here 1839. P. Stephen - Clachriach J. Slessor - Clachriach W. Falconer - Clachriach 021 [continued from above] and 5 Urns where descovered under them but where all broke; they where made of common clay.
OS1/1/68/92 [Page] 92 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/93 BULWARK MOSS Bulwark Moss Bulwark Moss Bulwark Moss A. Anderson - Backhill W. Gibb - Backhill J. Mathews - Backhill 021 Applies to a Peat Moss; reduced very much with cultivation. Situated about 3 Miles South West of the Village of Old Deer.
OS1/1/68/93 FLINT ARROWHEADS FOUND HERE A.D. 1869 [Clachriach] Flint Arrowheads found here A.D. 1869 Flint Arrowheads found here A.D. 1869 Flint Arrowheads found here A.D. 1869 J. Slessor - Clachriach J. Slessor Sen. [Senior] - Clachriach P. Stephen - Clachriach 021 3 Arrowheads where found in the year 1869 by J. Slessor while ploughing the ground belonging to him at Clachriach about 1/2 Mile West of the Castle of Clachriach.
OS1/1/68/93 [Page] 93 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/94 BACKHILL OF CLACHRIACH Backhill of Clachriach Backhill of Clachriach Backhill of Clachriach A. Davidson - Factor A. Anderson - Backhill J. Mathews - Backhill 021 Applies to a number of small houses, Crofts &c.; situated about 2 1/2 Miles South West of the Village of Old Deer.
OS1/1/68/94 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HERE A.D. 1858 [Backhill of Clachriach] Flint Arrowhead found here A.D. 1858. J. Dalgarno - Backhill 021 1 Flint arrowhead was found about the year 1858; by J. Dalgarno of Backhill, while ploughing in a field on the West side of his Croft.
OS1/1/68/94 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HERE A.D. 1860 [Backhill of Clachriach] Flint Arrowhead found here A.D. 1860. J. Dalgarno - Backhill 021 1 Flint arrowhead was found about the year 1860; by J. Dalgarno of Backhill while ploughing in a field on the South side of his Croft.
OS1/1/68/94 [Page] 94 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/95 NICHOL HILL Nichol Hill Nichol Hill Nichol Hill J. Cruden - Frostybrae G. Keith - Frostybrae J. Taylor - Upper Benwells 021 Applies to a Small wooded hill. Situated about 3 Miles West of the Village of Old Deer. It is supposed to have taken this name from an old man who used to live close to it, long ago.
OS1/1/68/95 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HERE A.D. 1859 [Nichol Hill] Flint arrow head found here A.D. 1859. Flint arrow head found here A.D. 1859. Flint arrow head found here A.D. 1859. Mr. J. Thompson - Frostybrae Mr. G. Keith - Frostybrae Mr. G. Knox - Bulwark 021 There was found about 100 yds [yards] to the West of Nichol hill 1 Flint arrowhead by Mr. Thompson, who lives on the North West side of the hill; about the year 1859.
OS1/1/68/95 FROSTYBRAE Frostybrae Frostybrae Frostybrae Mr. A. Davidson - Factor Mr. J. Cruden - Occupier Mr. G. Keith - Frosty Brae 021 Applies to a Croft having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 3 Miles West of the Village of Old Deer. The property of J. Gordons Charitable Fund. Aberdeen
OS1/1/68/95 Site of LADY'S WELL (Site of) Lady's Well (Site of) Lady's Well (Site of) Lady's Well Mr. Taylor. Upper Benwells. Mr. R. Porter. Stuartfield Pratts History of Buchan. 021 There was once a fine spring well here, but it now covered in, it was dedicated to the Virgin Mary. The late Revd. Dr. [Reverend Doctor] Pratt says in his history of Buchan Appendix AA. p. [page] 373. "There is a well in the hollow between Clachriach and Bruxie, called the 'Lady's Well;' in all probability in honour of the Virgin Mother, to whom the neighbouring abbey was dedicated.
OS1/1/68/95 [Page] 95 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/96 FROSTY BRAE Frosty Brae Frosty Brae Frosty Brae Mr. A. Davidson - Factor Mr. J. Thompson - Frosty Brae Mr. G. Keith - Frosty Brae 021 Applies to a Brae. Situated about 3 Miles West of the Village of Old Deer. The property of J. Gordons Charitable Fund.
OS1/1/68/96 BENWELLS Benwells Benwells Benwells G. Anderson - Occupier J. Strachan - Upper Benwells J. Taylor - Benwells 021 Applies to a Substantial Farmsteading, having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 3 Miles, West of the Village of Old Deer. The property of Gordons Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/96 UPPER BENWELLS Upper Benwells Upper Benwells Upper Benwells A. Davidson - Factor J. Strachen - Occupier G. Anderson - Benwells 021 Applies to a substantial Farmsteading having outhouses &c. attached. Situated about 3 Miles West of the Village of Old Deer. The property of Gordons Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/96 [Page] 96 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/97 Site of CAIRN [Frostybrae] (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn J. Michael - Bulwark A. Allen - Bulwark J. Mackie - Bulwark 021 Applies to the site of a Cairn, that was removed about the 1839. In removing the Stones the Workmen came upon a Stone Coffin, and one Urn, made of Clay, which was broke. Situated about 1/2 mile south, of the Castle of Clachriach.
OS1/1/68/97 STONE CIST AND URN FOUND HERE A.D. 1839 [cairn, Frostybrae] 1 Coffin found & 1 Urn A.D. 1839 1 Coffin found & 1 Urn A.D. 1839 1 Coffin found & 1 Urn A.D. 1839 J. Michael - Bulwark A. Allen - Bulwark J. Mackie - Bulwark 021 Applies to the site of a Cairn, that was removed about the 1839. In removing the Stones the Workmen came upon a Stone Coffin, and one Urn, made of Clay, which was broke. Situated about 1/2 mile south, of the Castle of Clachriach.
OS1/1/68/97 CHAPEL FOLD Chapel Fold Chapel Fold Chapel Fold J. Strachen - Upper Benwells J. Crichton - Bulwark J. Allen - Benwells 021 Applies to a small park; situated on the West of the Farm of Upper Benwells. Supposed to have taken its name from a Druids Chapel, or Temple, that was situated in it.
OS1/1/68/97 Site of STONE CIRCLE [Upper Benwells] (Site of) Druidical Circle (Site of) Druidical Circle (Site of) Druidical Circle J. Strachen - Upper Benwells J. Taylor - Upper Benwells J. Crichton - Bulwark 021 Applies to the site of a Druids Circle or Temple; which was removed about the year 1839, by the farmer of Upper Benwells. Situated in a small park about 1/4 Mile West of the Farm of Upper Benwells.
OS1/1/68/97 [Page] 97 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/98 PARKHOUSE Parkhouse Parkhouse Parkhouse J. Russell Esq. - Aden J. Milne - Occupier A. Forbes - Windhill 021 Applies to a small Farmsteading having outhouses &c. attached. Situated about 2 Miles West of the Village of Old Deer. The property of Mr. Russell, Aden.
OS1/1/68/98 WIND HILL Wind Hill Wind Hill Wind Hill J. Strachen - Upper Benwells A. Forbes - Windhill R. Reid - Little Windhill 021 Applies to a hill covered with Whins and Heather. Situated about 2 1/2 Miles West of the Village of Old Deer. The property of Mr. Russell, Aden.
OS1/1/68/98 CAIRN (Remains of) [Wind Hill] Cairn Cairn Cairn A. Forbes - Windhill R. Reid - Little Windhill G. Webster - Windhill 021 Applies to the remains of a Cairn which is situated on the highest part of Wind Hill. The stones have been taken away to build Dikes, Houses, &c. with, so that very few remain now.
OS1/1/68/98 STONE CISTS FOUND HERE A.D. 1851 [cairn, Wind Hill] 2 Coffins found A.D. 1851 1 Coffin found A.D. 1868 2 Coffins found A.D. 1851 1 Coffin found A.D. 1868 2 Coffins found A.D. 1851 1 Coffin found A.D. 1868 A. Forbes - Windhill R. Reid - Little Windhill G. Webster - Windhill 021 A Man of the name of Forbes, late of Windhill, while digging for stones, came upon 2 Stone coffins, with nothing in them but a little dust. There was also 1 Stone Coffin found by a Mr. Reid of Little Windhill, it had nothing in but water, it was descovered about the year 1868; And the 2 former ones about about the year 1851.
OS1/1/68/98 [Page] 98 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/99 CAIRN [Castle Hill] Cairn Cairn Cairn J. Strachen - Upper Benwells J. Knox - Bulwark R. Reid - Little Windhill 021 Applies to a small Cairn, situated about the center of Castle Hill. It is hid from view with underwood and Trees.
OS1/1/68/99 Site of CAIRN [Upper Benwells] (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn J. Strachen - Upper Benwells J. Knox - Bulwark J. Chrichton - Benwells 021 Applies to the site of a Cairn. [Continued below]
OS1/1/68/99 STONE CIST FOUND HERE A.D. 1855 wcairn, Upper Benwells] 1 Coffin found A.D. 1855. 1 Coffin found A.D. 1855. 1 Coffin found A.D. 1855. J. Strachen - Upper Benwells J. Knox - Bulwark J. Chrichton - Benwells 021 [Continued from above] In removing the stones the workmen came upon a Stone Coffin, in which was a quantity of Bone dust; the cairn was removed about the year 1855. Situated about 1/4 Mile West of the Farm of Upper Benwells.
OS1/1/68/99 BULWARK Bulwark Bulwark Bulwark A. Davidson - Factor J. Knox - Bulwark J. Allen - Benwells 021 Applies to a number of small Crofts. The property of J. Gordons Charitable Fund. Aberdeen. Situated about 2 Miles North West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/99 [Page] 99 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/100 Site of CAIRN [Upper Benwells] (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn J. Strachen - Upper Benwells J. Knox - Bulwark J. Chrichton - Benwells 021 Applies to the site of a Cairn. In removing the Cairn about the year 1857; the workmen came upon an Urn, made of common clay; There was a number of bones, also dust laying about the Urn; which was broke. Situation of Cairn, about 1/4 Mile West of the Farm of Upper Benwells.
OS1/1/68/100 URN FOUND HERE A.D. 1857 [cairn, Upper Benwells] 1 Urn found A.D. 1857 1 Urn found A.D. 1857 1 Urn found A.D. 1857 J. Strachen - Upper Benwells J. Knox - Bulwark J. Chrichton - Benwells 021 Applies to the site of a Cairn. In removing the Cairn about the year 1857; the workmen came upon an Urn, made of common clay; There was a number of bones, also dust laying about the Urn; which was broke. Situation of Cairn, about 1/4 Mile West of the Farm of Upper Benwells.
OS1/1/68/100 WINDHILL Windhill Windhill Windhill J. Russell Esq. - Aden A. Forbes - Occupier R. Reid - Little Windhill 021 Applies to a small Farm, having garden &c. attached. Situated on the north side of Wind Hill, from which it derives its name; the property of Mr. Russell of Aden.
OS1/1/68/100 CASTLE HILL Castle Hill Castle Hill Castle Hill G. Anderson - Benwells J. Cruden - Frostybrae J. Knox - Bulwark 021 Applies to a small Wooded hill; situated on the land of Benwells & about 3 Miles West of the Village of Old Deer. - It is generally supposed that this hill was called the Castle Hill, because a fine view of the old Castle of Clachriach may be had from the top of it.
OS1/1/68/100 [Page] 100 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/101 STONE CIRCLE [Parkhouse Hill] Stone Circle Stone Circle Stone Circle Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Minty Mains of Biffie "Pratts Buchan" pp. [pages] 118 & 119. 021 [Continued from page 102] of the circle, and lying east and west, is fourteen feet six inches long, five feet six inches broad, and four feet six inches deep, and calculated to weigh upwards of twenty-one tons. This stone is of primitive trap." "Pratts Buchan" p.p. [pages] 118. 119.
OS1/1/68/101 MAINS OF BIFFIE Mains of Biffie Mains of Biffie Mains of Biffie Mr. Minty Tenant Mr. A. Leslie Wester Biffie Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 Applies to a large and substantial farm house, with offices, garden &c. attached, situated about a half a mile west of Parkhouse Hill, the property of J. Russell Esq. of Aden.
OS1/1/68/101 WESTER BIFFIE Wester Biffie Wester Biffie Wester Biffie Mr. A. Leslie Tenant Mr. Minty Mains of Biffie Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 Applies to a small farm, with dwelling house, offices, gardens, &c. attached situated at the foot of the south slope of Parkhouse Hill, the property of J. Russell Esq. of Aden.
OS1/1/68/101 [Page] 101 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/102 PARKHOUSE HILL Parkhouse Hill Parkhouse Hill Parkhouse Hill Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. A. Leslie Wester Biffie Mr. Minty Mains of Biffie 021 Applies to hill situated a short distance south of Aiky Brae. This hill takes its name from the farm of Parkhouse situated about a half a mile to the south of the hill. There is a "Druidical Circle" on this hill.
OS1/1/68/102 STONE CIRCLE [Parkhouse Hill] Stone Circle Stone Circle Stone Circle Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Minty Mains of Biffie "Pratts Buchan" pp. [pages] 118 & 119. 021 "Druidical circles appear to have been more than usually numerous in the parish of Deer. According to the old Statistical Account of Scotland, Vol. XVI, [Volume 16] p [page] 481 (Edin [Edinburgh] 1795) there were, a few years previous to that date, the remains of upwards of a dozen within its boundary. That on the hill of Parkhouse was then the most entire, and is now one of the very few that the utilitarian hand of improvement has spared. The diameter of the space enclosed by the inner circle is forty-eight feet. Only four of the upright stones now remain, and are from fourteen to seventeen feet apart. The principal or altarstone, placed on the south side For continuation see p. [page] 101 over [Continued on page 101]
OS1/1/68/102 [Page] 102 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/103 GLENADEN DISTILLERY Glenaden Distillery Glenaden Distillery Glenaden Distillery Mr. William Milne Tenant Mr. Minty Mains of Biffie Mr. R Porter Stuartfield 021 Applies to a large and substantial building situated about a mile north of the village of Stuartfield. Mr. Milne carries on the working of this distillery. The property of J. Russell Esq. of Aden.
OS1/1/68/103 BIFFIE BREWERY Biffie Brewery Biffie Brewery Biffie Brewery Mr. William Milne Tenant Mr. Minty Mains of Biffie Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 This brewery is situated close to the Glenaden Distillery. Mr. Milne carries on the working of the Brewery as well as that of the Distillery. His residence is situated close to the Brewery. The property of J. Russell Esq. of Aden.
OS1/1/68/103 COCK BURN Cock Burn Cock Burn Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. While Knock 021 Applies to a small stream which takes its rise close to the farm of Windhill, and joins the South River Ugie close to the Parsonage.
OS1/1/68/103 [Page] 103 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/104 SOUTH LODGE [Aden House] South Lodge South Lodge South Lodge Mr. E. Brown Gate Keeper J. Russell Esq. of Aden Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 Applies to the south entrance to Aden House, the seat of J. Russell Esq. The lodge is situated about a half a mile south of the house, and on the east bank of the South River Ugie.
OS1/1/68/104 MILL OF ADEN (Corn) Mill of Aden (Corn) Mill of Aden (Corn) Mill of Aden (Corn) Mr. Davidson Tenant J. Russell Esq. Proprietor Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 Applies to a corn mill on the estate of Aden, situated close to the Parsonage, and on the north bank of the South River Ugie. The property of J. Russell Esq. of Aden.
OS1/1/68/104 PARSONAGE [nr Mill of Aden] Parsonage Parsonage Parsonage The Rev. [Reverend] A. Rankin Mr. Davidson Mill of Aden Mr. G. Milne Stonybrae 021 Applies to a large and substantial dwelling house, with offices, garden &c. attached. Occupied by the Rev. [Reverend] A. Rankin, of the episcopal church Old Deer. Situated about half way between the villages of Old Deer and Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/104 [Page] 104 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/105 SOUTH UGIE WATER South Ugie Water South Ugie Water South Ugie Water Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield The Rev. [Reverend] A. Rankin Old Deer "Pratts Buchan" p. [page] 87. 021 The South River Ugie takes its rise in the parish of New Deer, close to the Mains of Fedderat. It gains the North River Ugie at the Haughs of Rora (near the village of Songside ) where, "Ugie said to Ugie, Where shall we twa meet? Down in the haughs o' Rora, When a' men are asleep." Pratts Buchan P. [Page] 87
OS1/1/68/105 KNOCK Knock Knock Mr. Buchan Proprietor Mr. Porter Stuartfield 021 A large and substantial farm house, with offices, garden &c. attached, situated on the south bank of the South River Ugie, the property of Mr. Buchan of Auchmacoy.
OS1/1/68/105 STONYBRAE Stonybrae Stonybrae Stonybrae Mr. G. Milne Tenant Mr. J. Killoh Quartalehouse Mr. R Porter Stuartfield 021 Applies to a croft, with dwelling house, offices, garden &c. attached, situated a short distance south of the Parsonage. The property of Mr. Burnett England.
OS1/1/68/105 [Page] 105 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer ['South River Ugie' is crossed out and replaced with 'South Ugie Water']
OS1/1/68/106 QUARTALEHOUSE Quartalehouse Quartalehouse Quartalehouse Mr. J. Killoh Tenant Mr. William Brookes Tenant Mr. Robert Porter Stuartfield 021 This name applies to number of houses, it also includes the Free church, and Free church Manse, situated at the north end of the village of Stuartfield. The property of Mr. Burnett England.
OS1/1/68/106 FLINT AXE FOUND HERE A.D. 1850 [Stonybrae] Stone axe found here A.D. 1850 Stone axe found here A.D. 1850 The Rev. [Reverend] Mr. Ranken Parsonage, Deer Mr. R. Porter Mason Stuartfield 021 Mr. Ranken has this axe in his possession at present. "Mr. Ranken found it, - he thinks in the spring of 1850,- in the field now growing grass for Hay, (the South west field) at about the lowest spot in the field,- lowest in point of depression, but not at the very end of the field,- in a sort of half mossy, half decayed wood deposit, shewing that in former ages the little flat in which the rivulet runs must have been a wooded thicket - "Mr. Ranken says, "it is one of two, and the more perfect and shapely of them." "London 25th June, 1869." Extract from Mr. Rankens letter describing the place where he found the axe.
OS1/1/68/106 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HERE A.D. 1869 [Windhill] Flint Arrowhead found here A.D. 1869 Mr. J. Thomson Windhill 021 While Mr. Thomson was draining one of his fields adjoining his house he found a Flint Arrowhead which he has in his possession.
OS1/1/68/106 [Page] 106 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/107 WINDHILL Windhill Windhill Windhill Mr. J. Thomson Tenant Mr. G. Arthur Scroghill Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 Applies to a small farm, with dwelling house, offices, garden &c. attached, situated a short distance north of the Scrog Hill. The property of J. Russell Esq. of Aden.
OS1/1/68/107 SCROGHILL Scroghill Scroghill Scroghill Mr. R. Cumming Tenant Mr. J. Thomson Windhill Mr. G. Arthur Tenant 021 This name applies to two small farms, with dwelling house, offices, garden &c. attached to each, situated close to a hill of the same name, from which they take their name. The property of Mr. Burnett England.
OS1/1/68/107 SCROG HILL Scrog Hill Scrog Hill Scrog Hill Mr. R. Cumming Scroghill Mr. J. Thomson Windhill Mr. G Arthur Scroghill 021 Applies to a hill situated about a mile to the west of the village of Stuartfield. On a clear day, the view from this hill is splendid.
OS1/1/68/107 [Page] 107 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/108 BRAE OF BIFFIE Brae of Biffie Brae of Biffie Brae of Biffie Mr. J. Milne Tenant Mr. J. Thomson Windhill Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 021 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices garden &c. attached, situated about a half a mile north west of the village of Stuartfield. The property of J. Russell Esq. of Aden.
OS1/1/68/108 FREE CHURCH [Stuartfield] Free Church Free Church Free Church The Rev. [Reverend] A. Urquhart Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield "Pratts Buchan" p. [page] 98. 021 "The Free Church stands nearly a mile to the south of the village of Deer, in the vicinity of Stuartfield. It is rather a neat building, with a belfry on the south gable, over a Kind of circular porch containing three doorways. The windows, and doorways are pointed, something in imitation of the latest period of the Tudor style; it was erected soon after the disruption of the Established Church in 1843, and terminates the vista of the main street of the village of Stuartfield." "Pratts Buchan" p. [page] 98. This church contains 600 sittings.
OS1/1/68/108 [Page] 108 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/109 POLICE STATION [Stuartfield] Police Station Police Station Police Station James Hutchison Constable Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Boyd Merchant Stuartfield 021 A neat and substantial building, situated at the north end of the village of Stuartfield. Occupied by James Hutchison Constable.
OS1/1/68/109 POST OFFICE [Stuartfield] Post office Post office Post office Miss Piper Post Mistress Mr. Boyd Merchant Stuartfield Mr. Smith Merchant Stuartfield 021 A substantial building, situated a short distance south of the Police Station, and on the same side of the street. There is two dispatches and two arrivals at this Post office in the day viz. Arrivals 11.30 A.M. and 5.45 P.M. Despatches 6.0 A.M. and 3.10 P.M.
OS1/1/68/109 CONGREGATIONAL CHAPEL [Stuartfield] Independent Chapel Independent Chapel Independent Chapel The Rev. [Reverend] T. Matheson Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. J. Will Bellman 021 "On the north side of the west street is the church, or, as formerly called, the Tabernacle, of the Independents, a commodious building in the style usually adopted by that denomination - that is to say, the roof is, or rather was, till lately, of a pavilion or tent shape." Pratts Buchan p. [page] 98 This chapel contains about 400 Sittings. The entrance is in the east gable, above which there is a stone marked 1800 or 1802.
OS1/1/68/109 [Page] 109 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/110 MANSE [Congregational, Stuartfield] Independent Manse Independent Manse Independent Manse The Rev. [Reverend] T. Matheson Mr. R Porter Stuartfield Mr. J. Will Bellman 021 A substantial building situated close to the Independent Chapel, and occupied by the Rev. [Reverend] T. Matheson minister of the same.
OS1/1/68/110 MANSE [U.P., Stuartfield] U.P. Manse U.P. Manse U.P. Manse Mr. Boyd Merchant Stuartfield Mr Smith Merchant Stuartfield Mr E. Hall Merchant Stuartfield 021 A large and substantial building, situated at the south side of the square, and on the west side of the street, leading to Crichie House. Occupied by the Reverend J. Hendry.
OS1/1/68/110 STUARTFIELD Stuartfield Stuartfield Stuartfield Mr. Robert Porter Stuartfield Mr. Smith Merchant Stuartfield Mr. Boyd Merchant Stuartfield 021 Applies to a village situated about a mile and a quarter south of the village of Old Deer. At one time this village was known by the name of Crichie, the old name has been given up for Stuartfield, it is named after the proprietor. The principal street runs about due north and south [Continued on page 112]
OS1/1/68/110 [Page] 110 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/111 SCHOOL [Free Church, Stuartfield] Free Church School Free Church School Mr. Piper School-master Miss Reid School-mistress 021 Applies to the boys and girls school situated close to the Free Church. Average daily attendance at the boys school 42, and about the same at the girls. Teachers Mr. Piper and Miss Reid.
OS1/1/68/111 UNITED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH [Stuartfield] United Prebyterian Church United Presbyterian Church United Presbyterian Church The Rev. [Reverend] J. Hendry Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. J. Will. Bellman 021 This is the only building in Stuartfield that has any pretensions to architectural beauty. It is a commodious building, and contains 350 sittings. The principal and only entrance is from the south gable. The Church is new as it was built in 1868. It is situated at the east end of the village and on the north side of the street running east.
OS1/1/68/111 SCHOOL [Episcopal, Stuartfield] School (Episcopal) School (Episcopal) School (Episcopal) Miss Milne Teacher Mr. R Porter Stuartfield Mr. Smith Merchant Stuartfield 021 Applies to a small school situated on the north side of the street running east. There is about an average daily attendance of 40 scholars. This school is in connection with the Episcopal Chapel of Old Deer.
OS1/1/68/111 [Page] 111 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/112 STUARTFIELD Stuartfield Stuartfield Stuartfield Mr. Robert Porter Stuartfield Mr. Smith Merchant Stuartfield Mr. Boyd Merchant Stuartfield 021 [Continued from page 110] intersected by another street which runs about east and west, the streets are known by no particular names. The village contains about 620 inhabitants, principally of the labouring class, the greater part of which are dependent on the Parochial Board.
OS1/1/68/112 MANSE [F.C., Stuartfield] Free Church Manse The Rev. [Reverend] A. Urquhart Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Piper School Master 021 Applies to a large and substantial building, situated a short distance north of the village of Stuartfield. Occupied by the Rev. [Reverend] A. Urquhart Minister to the Free Church congregation.
OS1/1/68/112 CROFT OF KNOCK Croft of Knock Croft of Knock Croft of Knock Mr. J. Keith Tenant Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Buchan Proprietor 021 A small croft with dwelling house offices garden &c. attached situated a short distance to the east of the Free Church Manse. The property of Mr. Buchan of Auchmacoy.
OS1/1/68/112 [Page] 112 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/113 TEUCHITFOLD Teuchitfold Teuchitfold Teuchitfold A. Davidson - Factor A. Watt - Occupier W. Taylor - Hareshillock 021 Applies to a Croft having a garden &c. attached. Situated about 3 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/113 HARESHILLOCK Hareshillock Hareshillock Hareshillock A. Davidson - Factor A. Watt - Occupier W. Taylor - Hareshillock 021 Applies to a Croft. Situated about 3 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of J. Gordons Charitable Fund.
OS1/1/68/113 BULWARK SCHOOL Bulwark School Bulwark School Bulwark School Miss W. Betrum - School Mistress A. Anderson - Backhill of Clachriach W. Mathews - Backhill of Clachriach 021 Applies to a small school consisting of, from 60 to 70 pupils, both of Boys & Girls, It is supported by the Gordon Charitable Fund of Aberdeen; and is conducted by a Miss W. Betrum.
OS1/1/68/113 [Page] 113 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/114 BACKHILL OF BULWARK Backhill of Bulwark Backhill of Bulwark Backhill of Bulwark A. Anderson - Backhill of Clachriach W. Mathews - Backhill of Clachriach W. Gibbs - Backhill of Clachriach 021 Applies to a number of small Crofts. Situated about 3 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of J. Gordons Charitable Fund, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/114 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HERE A.D. 1809 [Barry] Flint Arrowhead found here A.D. 1809 J. Robb - Smyddyhillock 021 Applies to an arrowhead which was found by J. Robb while cutting peats about the year 1809; about 100 yds [yards] North of the Croft of Barry.
OS1/1/68/114 BARRY Barry Barry Barry A. Davidson - Factor W. Fowler - Occupier J. Robb - Smiddyhillock 021 Applies to a Croft. Situated about 3 Miles West of the Village of Old Deer. The property of J. Gordons Charitable Fund.
OS1/1/68/114 [Page] 114 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/115 KIRKHILL MOSS Kirkhill Moss Kirkhill Moss Kirkhill Moss J. Robb - Smiddyhillock W. Fowler - Barry J. Mathews - Clachriach 021 Applies to a small Moss, situated about 3 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/115 MOSS-SIDE Mossside Mossside Mossside A. Davidson - Factor W. Noble - Occupier A. Machray - North Greenbrae 021 Applies to a Croft, having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about about 3 1/2 Miles, West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/115 NORTH GREENBRAE North Greenbrae North Greenbrae North Greenbrae A. Davidson - Factor A. Machray - Occupier W. Noble - Mossside 021 Applies to a Croft, situated about 3 1/2 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of J. Gordon Charitable Fund.
OS1/1/68/115 [Page] 115 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/116 SMIDDYHILLOCK Smiddyhillock Smiddyhillock Smiddyhillock A. Davidson - Factor J. Robb - Occupier A. Simpson - Little Elrick 021 Applies to a Croft, having outhouses garden &c. attached. Situated about 3 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/116 LITTLE ELRICK Little Elrick Little Elrick Little Elrick A. Simpson - Occupier J. Robb - Smiddyhillock A. Watt - Teuchitfold 021 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses garden &c. attached. Situated about 3 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of J. Gordons Charitable Fund. Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/116 [Page] 116 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/117 KIRKHILL PENDICLE Kirkhillpendicle Kirkhillpendicle Kirkhillpendicle A. Davidson -Fact [Factor] A. Ironside - Occupier J. Murry - Old Deer 021 Applies to a small farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 2 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/117 LITTLE KIRKHILL Little Kirkhill Little Kirkhill Little Kirkhill A. Davidson - Factor J. Findley - Occupier J. Murry - Old Deer 021 Applies to a substantial farmsteading. The property of J. Gordons Charitable fund Aberdeen. Situated about 1 1/2 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/117 FLINT ARROWHEADS FOUND HERE A.D. 1864 [Little Kirkhill] Flint Arrowheads found here A.D. 1864 Flint Arrowheads found here A.D. 1864 Flint Arrowheads found here A.D. 1864 J. Findley - Little Kirkhill J. Findley Snr [Senior] - Little Kirkhill 021 There was found by the son of the farmer of Little Kirkhill, a quantity of arrowheads with the chippings off of them all in a heap; a few inches below the surface of the ground; the arrowheads seemed to have been all spoilt ones as they where all broke. They where discovered about the year 1864
OS1/1/68/117 [Page] 117 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/118 [Page] 118 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/119 LITTLE WINDHILL Little Windhill Little Windhill Little Windhill J. Russell Esq. - Aden R. Reid - Occupier J. Mitchell - Annieswells 021 Applies to a Croft having a garden &c. attached. The property of Mr. Russell. Aden.
OS1/1/68/119 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HERE A.D. 1829 [Little Windhill] Flint Arrowhead found here A.D. 1829 J. Reid - Kirkhill 021 Applies to an arrowhead found by a farm servant in the year 1829 while at work in the field. It was found a short distance from the Croft of Little Windhill.
OS1/1/68/119 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HERE A.D. 1869 [Little Windhill] Flint Arrowhead found here A.D. 1869 Flint Arrowhead found here A.D. 1869 J. Findley - Little Kirkhill J. Findley Sen. [Senior] - Little Kirkhill 021 An arrowhead found by the Son of the farmer of Little Kirkhill while at work in the field; about a 1/4 mile west of Little Windhill in 1869.
OS1/1/68/119 Site of ANNIE'S WELL (Site of) Annie's Well (Site of) Annie's Well (Site of) Annie's Well Anna's Well Mr. J. Mitchell, Annieswells, Mr. R. Reid. Little Wind Hill Mr. A. Robertson, Annieswells. Pratts History of Buchan p. [page] 374. 021 This fine spring well is now covered in, but is to be opened again. it is not known why it is called Annies Well, but is supposed to have been named after some old woman in the district. Dr. [Doctor] Pratt in his history of Buchan page 374 says, Of course, it is absolutely impossible even to guess who were the worthies to whom these latter (meaning the wells) were dedicated, although they have in all likelihood, been held in high repute in their own day.
OS1/1/68/119 [Page] 119 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/120 KIRKHILL Kirkhill Kirkhill Kirkhill J. Cassie - Occupier J. Findley - Little Kirkhill A. Ironside - Kirkhillpendicle 021 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 2 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/120 HILL OF DENS Hill of Dens Hill of Dens Hill of Dens A. Mitchell - Hill of Dens A. Robertson - Annieswells J. Mitchell - Annieswells 021 Applies to a small hill of Heather & Whins, having improvements made every day in cultivation. Situated about 1 Mile North West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/120 ANNIESWELL Annieswell Annieswell Annieswell A. Jopp - Factor J. Mitchell - Occupier R. Reid - Little Windhill 021 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 2 Miles North West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of J.B. Stuart. This farm takes its name from a fine spring well which is now covered in, but is to be opened again. The farm is called Annie's Wells', but there never was but one well here, of this name, so I think it should be Annieswell.
OS1/1/68/120 [Page] 120 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/121 BURNTBRAE Burntbrae Burntbrae Burntbrae J. Whitecross - Occupier R. Wallace - Lambhillock W. Milne - Upper Crichie 021 Applies to Two small farmsteadings having outhouses garden &c. attached. Situated about 1 1/2 West of the Village of Stuartfield
OS1/1/68/121 LAMBHILLOCK Lambhillock Lambhillock Lambhillock F. Wallace - Occupier R. Wallace - Occupier J. Whitecross - Burntbrae 021 Applies to a Croft having outhouses, garden &c. attached. The property of Mr. Russell, Aden.
OS1/1/68/121 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HEREABOUTS A.D. 1859 [Lambhillock] Flint Arrowhead found hereabouts A.D. 1859 Flint Arrowhead found hereabouts A.D. 1859 R. Wallace - Lambhillock F. Wallace - Lambhillock 021 1 Arrowhead was found in the year 1859, by a man of the name of J. Mackie. who resides now in Pitsligo; he picked it up while ploughing at a short distance from the Croft of Lambhillock.
OS1/1/68/121 [Page] 121 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/122 JOCK'S HILL Jock's Hill Jock's Hill Jock's Hill W. Milne - Upper Crichie J. Perie - Hill of Dens J. Laurance - Dens 021 Applies to a large hill feature having a small Fir plantation on the summit. Situated about 1 Mile West of the Village of Stuartfield, supposed to have been named after some man who lived here long ago.
OS1/1/68/122 Site of CAIRN [Jock's Hill] Site of Cairn Site of Cairn Site of Cairn W. Milne - Upper Crichie J. Perie - Hill of Dens J. Laurance - Dens 021 There was about 15 years ago a large cairn; situated on the highest part of Jock's Hill; and comprised about 4 or 500 Cart loads of stones; which where taken away to build dikes with. at the foundation of the cairn there was a lot of blackish earth. but no Urns or cists were discovered.
OS1/1/68/122 UPPER CRICHIE Upper Crichie Upper Crichie Upper Crichie W. Milne - Occupier J. Perie - Hill of Dens J. Laurance - Dens 021 Applies to a substantial farmsteading, having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 1 Mile West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of the Gordon Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/122 [Page] 122 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/123 CRICHIE MILL (Corn) Crichie Mill (corn) Crichie Mill (corn) Crichie Mill (corn) Mr. Robert Barron. Mains of Crichie. Mr. Cock. Upper Mains of Crichie. Mr. Mather. Littlemill 021 A fine substantial corn mill, having a small saw mill attached, situated at the south end of the village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/123 CHAPEL WELL Chapel Well Chapel Well Chapel Well Mr. Robert Barron. Mains of Crichie. Mr. Cock. Upper Mains of Crichie. Mr. Mather. Littlemill 021 A fine spring well, situated on the east side of the "Chapel Hillock", close to the village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/123 CHAPEL HILLOCK Chapel Hillock Chapel Hillock Chapel Hillock Mr. Robert Barron. Mains of Crichie Mr. Cock. Upper Mains of Crichie. Mr. Mather. Littlemill 021 A small hillock on which some people suppose there was once a chapel, the hillock is fast being removed. It is situated close to the village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/123 [Page] 123 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/124 SITE OF SUPPOSED CHAPEL (Site of supposed) Chapel (Site of supposed) Chapel (Site of supposed) Chapel The Revd. [Reverend] A. Ranken, Old Deer. Mr. Barron. Mr. Cock. 021 The Revd. [Reverend] Mr. Ranken, Episcopal Minister of Old Deer, says, that he has no doubt, but there was once a chapel here, and he says that he believes it was the first & original "Abbey of Deer," he says that this will come to light shortly, as there was some very old papers found in one of the English University's a short time ago (which are in connection with the Parish of Deer.) and they are supposed to contain a lot of valuable information on this subject. The Revd. Dr. [Reverend Doctor] Pratt in his History of Buchan, says, "On the common of Crichie there is a well of clear sweet water, called the 'Chapel Well', while the Chapel hillock, and a series of low mounds called the 'Graves', closely adjoin it. There are no ruins or remains of any buildings to account for these names, neither is there any existing record, or even tradition, regarding any place of worship, as the name would indicate, having stood in this locality." Appendix A.A. page 373.
OS1/1/68/124 [Page] 124 Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Site of Supposed Chapel'] - When the Road was being made here, several stones were removed, which from their appearance would serve the foundations of a building here. This seems to confirm the idea of a Chapel having existed. [Initialled] E.H.C. Capt. R.E. [Captain Royal Engineers]
OS1/1/68/125 KING'S CROWN King's Crown King's Crown King's Crown The Revd. [Reverend] A. Ranken, Old Deer. Mr. Cock. Upper Mains of Crichie. Mr. Barron. Mains of Crichie. 021 This name applies to three small crofts, situated about 1/2 a mile south west of Stuartfield. The origin of this name is not known. Mr. Barron says he does not think there as a person living who could tell me anything about it.
OS1/1/68/125 KING'S CROWN WELL King's Crown Well King's Crown Well King's Crown Well The Revd. [Reverend] A. Ranken, Old Deer. Mr. Cock. Upper Mains of Crichie. Mr. Barron. Mains of Crichie. 021 A very fine spring well, situated on the road side close to the district of King's Crown.
OS1/1/68/125 Site of ERD HOUSES [King's Crown] (Site of) Pictish Houses. (Site of) Pictish Houses. (Site of) Pictish Houses. The Revd. [Reverend] A. Ranken, Old Deer. Mr. Cock. Upper Mains of Crichie. Mr. Barron. Mains of Crichie. 021 While one of the crofters of King's Crown was taking his croft in from heather, he removed a lot of flat stones just below the surface, they were placed in squares of from six to twelve feet, and some of them had large flat stones which exhibited marks of fire. The Revd. [Reverend] Mr. Rankin says they were the remains of Pictish Houses.
OS1/1/68/125 [Page] 125 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/126 Site of St DROSTANE WELL (Site of) Dustane Well (Site of) Dustane Well (Site of) Dustane Well Mr. Barron. Mains of Crichie Mr. Cock Upper Mains of Crichie Mr. Mather. Littlemill. 021 This was a very fine spring well, but was covered in some years ago by Mr. Barron. This well is called the "Dustane Well", and is dedicated to the patron saint of the parish, "St. Drostane", or Dustane.
OS1/1/68/126 CRICHIE HOUSE Crichie House Crichie House Crichie House Mr. Barron. Mains of Crichie Mr. Cock Upper Mains of Crichie Mr. Mather. Littlemill. 021 A substantial dwelling house having outhouses garden &c. attached. This house was built in the year 1715. A stone above the door is marked with this date.
OS1/1/68/126 MAINS OF CRICHIE Mains of Crichie Mains of Crichie Mains of Crichie Mr. Barron. Mains of Crichie Mr. Cock Upper Mains of Crichie Mr. Mather. Littlemill. 021 A very fine substantial farmsteading, situated close to Crichie House and about 1/2 a mile south east of Stuartfield. The property of the Revd. [Reverend] James Burnett Stuart M.A. [Master of Arts].
OS1/1/68/126 [Page] 126 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/127 TREFYNIE Trefynie Trefynie Trefynie Mr. William Cock. Upper Mains of Crichie. Mr. Alexander Mather. Littlemill. Mr. Barron. Mains of Crichie 021 A large cultivated hill feature, situated on the south side of the district of Kings Crown, and about 1 mile from Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/127 Site of STONE CIRCLE [Upper Crichie] (Site of) Stone Circle (Site of) Stone Circle (Site of) Stone Circle Mr. William Cock. Upper Mains of Crichie. Mr. Alexander Mather. Littlemill. Mr. Barron. Mains of Crichie 021 Mr. Cock says, that there was once a fine "Stone Circle" here, and his mother who is now living with him says that the last of the standing stones were removed to Crichie for building purposes, in the year 1805.
OS1/1/68/127 [Page] 127 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/128 DENS Dens Dens Dens J. Laurance - Occupier J. Murry - Old Deer G. Perie Hill of Dens 021 Applies to a New Substantial farmsteading. Situated about 1 Mile North West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of J.B. Stuart Esq.
OS1/1/68/128 DAMHEAD Damhead Damhead Damhead J.B. Stuart Esq. - Proprietor A. George - Occupier J. Laurance - Dens 021 Applies to a small farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 1 Mile South West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/128 LITTLEMILL Littlemill Littlemill Littlemill A. Mathews - Occupier J. Milne - Crichie A. George - Damhead 021 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses garden &c. attached. Situated about 1 1/2 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of Gordons Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/128 [Page] 128 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/129 STONE CIST AND URN FOUND HERE A.D. 1853 [Mains of Crichie] Stone Cist & urn found here A.D. 1853 Stone Cist & urn found here A.D. 1853 Stone Cist & urn found here A.D. 1853 Mr. Barron Mains of Crichie Mr. Cock. Upper Mains of Crichie Mr. Mather. Littlemill 021 Mr. Barron the farmer here found a stone Cist & urn here in the year 1853. The Cist containing the Urn &c. which he found, is now built into the wall at the back of his house so that it may be seen at any time.
OS1/1/68/129 URN FOUND HERE A.D. 1809 [Mains of Crichie] Urn found here A.D. 1809 Urn found here A.D. 1809 Urn found here A.D. 1809 Mr. Barron Mains of Crichie Mr. Cock. Upper Mains of Crichie Mr. Mather. Littlemill 021 Mr. Barron says that the late farmer here, found an Urn here in the year 1809, but broke it in lifting it from the earth.
OS1/1/68/129 Site of WHITE COW OF CRICHIE (Site of) White Cow of Crichie (Site of) White Cow of Crichie (Site of) White Cow of Crichie Pratt's History of Buchan Mr. Barron. Mr. Cock. 021 "On the farm of Crichie, occupied by Mr. Barron, there stood, until within a few years, a huge block of quartz, called the 'White Cow of Crichie', which must have been many tons in weight. It was visible from almost every commanding part of the district, except where the woods, by which it was in a great measure surrounded, did not obstruct the view, and formed a striking object in the landscape. It seems to have formed, as the name Crichie implies, a march or boundary, from a very remote period. The last time we hear of it being mentioned in this character, was when (over) [Continued on page 130]
OS1/1/68/129 [Page] 129 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/130 Site of WHITE COW OF CRICHIE (Site of) White Cow of Crichie (Site of) White Cow of Crichie (Site of) White Cow of Crichie Pratt's History of Buchan Mr. Barron. Mr. Cock. 021 [Continued from page 129] was when the lands of the last Earl of Buchan, in this district, were divided between the Marischal of Scotland and the eldest son of the Earl of Mar. At that time an imaginary line, drawn from the hunt-stone of Mormond, to another large stone near the house of Pitfoure, and from thence on to the 'White Cow', divided the lands of the two proprietors, who do not appear to have been quite so fastidious with regard to their marches as the lairds of the present day. Pratt's History of Buchan, Appendix A.A. page 374.
OS1/1/68/130 LITTLE MAINS Little Mains Little Mains Little Mains Mr. J. Milne, Tenant. Mr. Barron, Mains of Crichie Mr. Mather, Littlemill. 021 A small farmsteading, situated about 1/2 a mile south of Mains of Crichie; the property of the Royal Infirmary.
OS1/1/68/130 SMITHY CROFT Smithy Croft Smithy Croft Smithy Croft Mr. J. Milne, Tenant. Mr. Barron, Mains of Crichie Mr. Mather, Littlemill. 021 A small croft, having outhouses, garden, Shop &c. attached, situated a little east of Little Mains.
OS1/1/68/130 [Page] 130 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/131 Site of STONE CIRCLE [Little Mains] (Site of) Stone Circle (Site of) Stone Circle (Site of) Stone Circle Mr. J. Milne Little Mains Mr. Barron Mains of Crichie Mr. Mather. Littlemill. 021 Mr. Milne says that his Father removed the standing stones from this circle a great many years ago, and that there was about six or seven of them, one, the altar stone was a very large one & was lying flat on the ground at the east end of it. The stones were taken away for building purposes.
OS1/1/68/131 [Page] 131 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/132 [Page] 132 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/133 KIDDSHILL MOSS Kiddshill Moss Kiddshill Moss Kiddshill Moss J. Dennis, North Kiddshill G. Brown, Little Kiddshill J. Gibson, Kidds Hill 021 Applies to a small Peat Moss, reduced very much of late by cultivation; situated about 3 1/2 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of Mr. Gordon, Nethermuir.
OS1/1/68/133 NORTH KIDDSHILL North Kiddshill North Kiddshill North Kiddshill J. Dennis Occupier G. Brown Little Kiddshill J. Gibson Kidds Hill 021 Applies to a small Croft with outhouses, garden, &c. attached, situated about 3 1/2 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of Mr. Gordon, Nethermuir.
OS1/1/68/133 KIDDS HILL Kidds Hill Kidds Hill Kidds Hill J. Gibson Kidds Hill G. Brown Little Kiddshill J. Dennis North Kiddshill 021 Applies to a small hill feature with Farms, Crofts & Limestone Quarries on it. The property of Mr. Gordon, Nethermuir.
OS1/1/68/133 [Page] 133 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/134 LITTLE KIDDSHILL Little Kiddshill Little Kiddshill Little Kiddshill A. Wilson - Brownhill G. Brown - Occupier J. Gibson - Kidds Hill 021 Applies to a small Croft; situated about 3 1/2 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of Mr. Gordon, Nethermuir.
OS1/1/68/134 KIDDSHILL QUARRY Kiddshill Quarry Kiddshill Quarry Kiddshill Quarry J. Gibson - Kidds Hill J. Dennis - North Kiddshill A. Wilson - Brownhill 021 Applies to an Old Limestone Quarry situated in the lands of Nethermuir, and about 3 1/2 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of Mr. Gordon, Nethermuir.
OS1/1/68/134 MID GREENBRAE Mid Greenbrae Mid Greenbrae Mid Greenbrae Mr. McKinnon - Factor W. Johnston - Occupier G. Strath - South Greenbrae 021 Applies to a Croft having outhouses, garden &c. attached; situated about 4 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of Mr. Gordon, Nethermuir.
OS1/1/68/134 [Page] 134 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/135 [Page] 135 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/136 SOUTH GREENBRAE South Greenbrae South Greenbrae South Greenbrae G. Strath - Occupier G. Inness Greenbrae W. Johnston Mid Greenbrae 021 Applies to a Croft having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 3 1/2 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of Mr. Gordon Nethermuir.
OS1/1/68/136 [Page] 136 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/137 CAIRNCUMMER QUARRY (Disused) Cairncummer Quarry Cairncummer Quarry Cairncummer Quarry A. Wilson - Brownhill G. Strath - South Greenbrae G. Inness - Greenbrae 021 Applies to an Old Quarry. Situated about 4 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of Mr. Gordon. Nethermuir.
OS1/1/68/137 Site of CAIRN CUMMER Cairn Cummer Cairn Cummer Cairn Cummer W. Shearer - Cairncummer G. Inness - Greenbrae A. Moir - Kiddshill 021 Applies to the site of a Cairn, taken away to build dikes with by order of the laird (Mr. Gordon of Nethermuir); said to have been about 1/4 of an acre in extent. Situated about 4 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/137 BROWNHILL Brownhill Brownhill Brownhill A. Moir - Kiddshill J. Wallace - Brownhill A. Wilson - Occupier 021 Applies to a substantial farmsteading; having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 3 1/2 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of the Boys & Girls School, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/137 [Page] 137 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/138 ANNOCHIE BURN Burn of Annochie Burn of Annochie Burn of Annochie W. Shearer, Cairncummer G. Inness, Greenbrae W. Johnston, Mid Greenbrae 021 Applies to a Stream; situated on the West side of the District from which it derives its name (Annochie), and emptying itself into the Ebrie, about 4 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/138 CAIRNCUMMER Cairncummer Cairncummer Cairncummer Mr. McKinnon - Factor W. Shearer - Occupier G. Inness - Greenbrae 021 Applies to a small Farm with one or two outhouses, situated about 4 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield, and overlooking the Great North of Scotland Railway.
OS1/1/68/138 BROWNHILL QUARRY Brownhill Quarry Brownhill Quarry Brownhill Quarry A. Wilson - Brownhill J. Wallace - Brownhill G. Inness - Greenbrae 021 Applies to an Old Quarry; situated about 3 1/2 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield. It is no longer worked having been exhausted one or two years back.
OS1/1/68/138 [Page] 138 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/139 LONGLEIGH Longleigh Longleigh Longleigh Longleigh G. Davidson - occupier A. Moir - Kiddshill B. Keith - Clochcan - Russell Esq. Aden. 021 Applies to a Croft with outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 2 1/2 Miles North West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of Mr. Russell Aden.
OS1/1/68/139 CLOCHCAN Clochcan Clochcan Clochcan W. Anderson - Occupier B. Keith - Clochcan G. Davidson - Clochcan 021 Applies to a substantial farmsteading with outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 2 Miles North West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of Mr. Russell, Aden.
OS1/1/68/139 SLAMPTON Slampton Slampton Slampton A. Reid - Upper Crichie A. Webster - Occupier A. Greig - Clochcan School 021 Applies to a substantial farmsteading with outhouses, garden, &c. attached. Situated about 1 1/2 South West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/139 [Page] 139 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/140 HOGSHILLOCK Hogshillock Hogshillock Hogshillock W. Anderson - Clochcan J. Stephens - Occupier A. Greig - Clochcan School 021 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses, garden, &c. attached. Situated about 2 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/140 DENWARD BURN Den Ward Burn Den Ward Burn Den Ward Burn A. Webster - Slampton J. Stephens - Hogshillock A. Forbes - Brown Hill 021 Applies to a small burn which runs into a small Den from which it derives its name; situated about 1 1/4 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield. This Burn is not known by any name below the Dam at the saw mill, close to the Den Ward.
OS1/1/68/140 MAINS OF ANNOCHIE Mains of Annochie Mains of Annochie Mains of Annochie J. Robertson - Occupier A. Forbes - Brown Hill G. Davidson - Langlauch 021 Applies to a substantial farmsteading with outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 2 1/2 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield. Belongs to the Boys & Girls School Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/140 CLOCHCAN Clochcan Clochcan Clochcan J. Robertson - Occupier A. Forbes - Brown Hill G. Davidson - Langlauch 021 This name applies to a district containing several small crofts, it is situated a little north of Brown Hill.
OS1/1/68/140 [Page] 140 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Clochcan'] - Note. This is evidently a corruption from the Gaelic "Clachan", a small village, or, hamlet. [Initialled] E.H.C. CapR.E. [Captain Royal Engineers]
OS1/1/68/141 BROWN HILL Brown Hill Brown Hill Brown Hill A. Forbes - Brownhill A. Moir - Kiddshill B. Keith - Clochcan 021 Applies to a small cultivated hill feature. Situated about 2 1/2 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/141 KIDDSHILL Kiddshill Kiddshill Kiddshill A. Moir - Occupier L. McKenon - Factor W. Anderson - Clochcan 021 Applies to a farmsteading with outhouses garden &c. attached. Situated about 3 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield. The property of Mr. Gordon Nethermuir.
OS1/1/68/141 SCHOOL [nr Brown Hill] School School School A. Greig - School Master A. Moir - Kiddshill J. Saint - Clochcan 021 Applies to an (assistant) Parish School. It is a Substantial building and having a Croft with outhouses garden &c. attached for the use of the Master. Situated about 2 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/141 [Page] 141 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/142 GREENMOSS Greenmoss Greenmoss Greenmoss A. Davidson - Factor G. Cooper - Occupier A. Forbes - Brown Hill 021 Applies to a Croft, with outhouses garden &c. attached. Situated about 2 1/2 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/142 CLOCHCAN MOSS Clochan Moss Clochan Moss Clochan Moss B. Keith - Clochcan A. Greig - Clochcan School W. Anderson - Clochcan 021 Applies to a small peat moss for the use of the people of Clochcan only. Situated about 2 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/142 ANNOCHIE MOSS Annochie Moss Annochie Moss Annochie Moss B. Keith - Clochcan A. Greig - Clochcan School W. Anderson - Clochcan 021 Applies to a small peat moss for the use of the people of Annochie only; it is attached to the Clochcan Moss; and situated about 2 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/142 [Page] 142 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/143 WALKENWAY Walkenway Walkenway Walkenway A. Greig - Clochcan W. Anderson - Clochcan R. Dickie - Slamptonhill 021 Applies to a Croft. Situated about 2 Miles West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/143 SLAMPTONPARK Slamptonpark Slamptonpark Slamptonpark R. Dickie - Slamptonhill J. Patterson - Occupier J. Govern - West Crichie 021 Applies to 2 small Croft's. Situated about 2 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/143 SLAMPTONHILL Slamptonhill Slamptonhill Slamptonhill R. Dickie - Slamptonhill J. Patterson - Occupier J. Govern - West Crichie 021 Applies to a farmsteading with outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 2 Miles South West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/143 [Page] 143 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/144 SLAMPTON HILL Slampton Hill Slampton Hill Slampton Hill J. Govern - West Crichie R. Dickie - Slamptonhill J. Patterson - Slamptonpark 021 Applies to a small hill feature. Situated about 2 Miles, South West of the Village of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/144 [Page] 144 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/145 DEN WARD Den Ward Den Ward Den Ward Mr. Robert Burnet, Slampton Smithy Mr. Cock, Upper Mains of Crichie Mr. James Milne, West Crichie. 021 This name applies to a small Den which is cultivated, and is situated close to the Smithy of Slampton.
OS1/1/68/145 Site of PEDLERS' GRAVES (Site of) Pedlers' Graves (Site of) Pedlers' Graves (Site of) Pedlers' Graves Mr. Robert Burnet, Slampton Smithy Mr. Cock, Upper Mains of Crichie Mr. James Milne, West Crichie. 021 Tradition says, that two Pedlers fought here, & in the contest both were slain; they were buried here, & it is not long ago since the graves were quite visible
OS1/1/68/145 CRICHIE WOOD Crichie Wood Crichie Wood Crichie Wood Mr. Robert Burnet, Slampton Smithy Mr. Cock, Upper Mains of Crichie Mr. James Milne, West Crichie. 021 Applies to an extensive forest wood, which is situated about 1 1/2 miles south of Stuartfield, & is fast being cut down. It is the property of the Revd. [Reverend] James Burnett Stuart. M.A. [Master of Arts]
OS1/1/68/145 [Page] 145 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/146 UPPER MAINS OF CRICHIE Upper Mains of Crichie Upper Mains of Crichie Upper Mains of Crichie Mr. Cock. Tenant. Mr. Robert Barron. Mains of Crichie. Mr. James Milne, West Crichie. 021 A fine substantial farmsteading, situated about 1 mile from Stuartfield; the property of Gordons Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/146 WEST CRICHIE West Crichie West Crichie West Crichie Mr. Cock. Tenant. Mr. Robert Barron. Mains of Crichie. Mr. James Milne, West Crichie. 021 A very fine substantial farmsteading, situated about 1/2 a mile from Upper Mains of Crichie; the property of Gordons Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/146 DENWARD Denward Denward Denward Mr. Cock. Tenant. Mr. Robert Barron. Mains of Crichie. Mr. James Milne, West Crichie. 021 A small dwelling house, having garden &c. attached; the property of Gordons Hospital. Situated at the east end of the Den Ward.
OS1/1/68/146 [Page] 146 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/147 TURFHILL Turfhill Turfhill Turfhill Mr. R. Craighead. Tenant Mr. Simpson, Auchtylair. Mr. R. Barron, Mains of Crichie. 021 A small farmsteading, situated about 1 mile south east of Stuartfield; the property of the Royal Infirmary, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/147 AUCHTYLAIR Auchtylair Auchtylair Auchtylair Mr. R. Craighead. Tenant Mr. Simpson, Auchtylair. Mr. R. Barron, Mains of Crichie. 021 A fine substantial farmsteading, situated close to Turfhill; the property of the Royal Infirmary Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/147 SKIPLETON Skipleton Skipleton Skipleton Mr. R. Craighead. Tenant Mr. Simpson, Auchtylair. Mr. R. Barron, Mains of Crichie. 021 This name once applied to the finest farmsteading hereabout, but all the houses are gone except one which still retains the name.
OS1/1/68/147 [Page] 147 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/148 BOGIESAVOCK Bogiesavock Bogiesavock Bogiesavock Mr. George Webster, Tenant, Mr. Robert Barron Mains of Crichie, Mr. Cock, Upper Mains of Crichie. 021 A small farmsteading, situated about 1/2 mile south of Denward; the property of Gordons Hospital Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/148 MARNABOGS Marnabogs Marnabogs Marnabogs Mr. George Webster, Tenant, Mr. Robert Barron Mains of Crichie, Mr. Cock, Upper Mains of Crichie. 021 A small farmsteading, situated close to Bogiesavock; the property of Gordons Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/148 HONEYNEUK Honeyneuk Honeyneuk Honeyneuk Mr. George Webster, Tenant, Mr. Robert Barron Mains of Crichie, Mr. Cock, Upper Mains of Crichie. 021 A small croft, situated close to Backhill of Slampton; the property of Gordons Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/148 [Page] 148 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/149 BACKHILL OF SLAMPTON Backhill of Slampton Backhill of Slampton Backhill of Slampton Mr. Alexander Webster, Bogiesavock. Mr. Cock, Upper Mains of Crichie. Mr. Barron, Mains of Crichie, 021 ; 030 This name applies to a district containing a lot of small crofts; the property of Gordons Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/149 LAMBHILLOCK Lambhillock Lambhillock Lambhillock Mr. Alexander Webster, Bogiesavock. Mr. Cock, Upper Mains of Crichie. Mr. Barron, Mains of Crichie, 021 A small farmsteading, situated south of Marnabogs; the property of the Royal Infirmary Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/149 TOLLYBRAE Tollybrae Tollybrae Tollybrae Mr James Thom, Tenant. Mr. Webster. Mr. C. Wilson Kinaldie. 021 A small farmsteading, situated close to Kinaldie; the property of the Royal Infirmary, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/149 [Page] 149 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/150 KINALDIE Kinaldie Kinaldie Kinaldie Mr. James Thom, Tollybrae. Mr. C. Wilson, Kinaldie. Mr. Alexander Herd. Backhill of Kinaldie. 021 This name applies to a few crofts, situated at the south end of Crichie Wood; the property of the Royal Infirmary, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/150 BACKHILL OF KINALDIE Backhill of Kinaldie Backhill of Kinaldie Backhill of Kinaldie Mr. James Thom, Tollybrae. Mr. C. Wilson, Kinaldie. Mr. Alexander Herd. Backhill of Kinaldie. 021 A small croft, situated on the south side of Kinaldie Hill; the property of the Royal Infirmary, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/150 FLINT AXE FOUND HERE A.D. 1868 [Backhill of Kinaldie] Flint Axe found here A.D. 1868 Flint Axe found here A.D. 1868 Flint Axe found here A.D. 1868 Mr. James Thom, Tollybrae. Mr. C. Wilson, Kinaldie. Mr. Alexander Herd. Backhill of Kinaldie. 021 Mr. Herd found a fine flint axe here, in the year 1868. It is at present the property of Lce. Corpl. [Lance Corporal] White R.E. [Royal Engineers] to whom the Tenant of the adjacent croft (Mr. Herd) gave it.
OS1/1/68/150 [Page] 150 Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to a drawing of the 'Flint Axe'] - This is the exact size of the Axe.
OS1/1/68/151 Site of CAIRN [Kinaldie Hill] (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn Mr. C. Wilson Kinaldie. Mr. Herd. Backhill of Kinaldie. Mr. Jaffray, Greencroft. 021 Mr. Wilson of Kinaldie, says, that his father removed a large cairn from this place in the year 1814, and in doing so he came upon a Stone cist, & an Urn inside of it. The Urn was broken while being removed.
OS1/1/68/151 STONE CIST AND URN FOUND HERE A.D. 1814 [cairns, Kinaldie Hill] Stone Cist & urn found here. A.D. 1814 Stone Cist & urn found here. A.D. 1814 Stone Cist & urn found here. A.D. 1814 Mr. C. Wilson Kinaldie. Mr. Herd. Backhill of Kinaldie. Mr. Jaffray, Greencroft. 021 Mr. Wilson says, his father removed this cairn also, and found a stone cist & urn in the foundation of it. The cairn was removed in the year 1814, & he thinks the urn was taken away by some Gentleman who came to see it.
OS1/1/68/151 [Page] 151 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/152 KINALDIE HILL Kinaldie Hill Kinaldie Hill Kinaldie Hill Mr. Simpson, Auchtylair Mr. Herd, Backhill of Kinaldie. Mr. Davidson, Skelmuir. 021 A small cultivated hill feature, situated about 2 miles south of Stuartfield.
OS1/1/68/152 SOUTH AUCHTYLAIR South Auchtylair South Auchtylair South Auchtylair Mr. Simpson, Auchtylair Mr. Herd, Backhill of Kinaldie. Mr. Davidson, Skelmuir. 021 A fine farmsteading, situated on the north east side of Kinaldie Hill; the property of the Royal Infirmary, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/152 SKELMUIR Skelmuir Skelmuir Skelmuir Mr. Simpson, Auchtylair Mr. Herd, Backhill of Kinaldie. Mr. Davidson, Skelmuir. 021 A fine substantial farmsteading, situated on the north west slope of Skelmuir Hill; the property of Alexander Gordon Esq. Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/152 [Page] 152 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/153 STONE CIST AND URN FOUND HERE A.D. 1839 [Skelmuir] Stone Cist & Urn found here A.D. 1839 Stone Cist & Urn found here A.D. 1839 Stone Cist & Urn found here A.D. 1839 Mr. Jaffray, Green Croft. Mr. Simpson, Auchtylair Mr. Wilson, Kinaldie. 021 In the year 1839, the late farmer of Skelmuir found a stone cist which contained an urn, here. It is not known what became of the urn, but it is believed that it was preserved & taken to one of the museums.
OS1/1/68/153 [Page] 153 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/154 [Page] 154 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/155 TAITSWELL Taitswell Taitswell Taitswell R. McRobert - Balring J. Murry - Old Deer A. Murry - Old Deer 021 Applies to a substantial building used as Offices by the Factor of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Esq. of Pitfour. Situated about 3/4 of a Mile North East of the Village of Old Deer.
OS1/1/68/155 TAIT'S WELL Taits Well Taits Well Taits Well Teet's Well R. McRobert - Balring J. Murry - Old Deer A. Murry - Old Deer Rev. [Reverend] J. B. Pratts Book of Buchan 021 Applies to a fine well; situated at the corner of the road, on the south side of the buildings of Taitswell.
OS1/1/68/155 DUNSHILLOCK Dunshillock Dunshillock Dunshillock R. McRobert - Balring J. Murry - Old Deer A. Murry - Old Deer 021 Applies to a number of small Crofts, the Property of Mr. Russell, Aden. Situated about 1 Mile North East of the Village of Old Deer.
OS1/1/68/155 [Page] 155 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/156 OLD DEER AND MINTLAW STATION Old Deer & Mintlaw Station Old Deer & Mintlaw Station Old Deer & Mintlaw Station J. Gordon - Station Master G. Urquhart - Dunshillock J. Murry - Old Deer 021 Applies to a Station of the Great North of Scotland Railway; it is used considerably as a goods station being mid way between the Villages of Old Deer on the West and Mintlaw on East. Situated about 1 Mile East of the Village of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/156 HOTEL [Station Hotel, Old Deer and Mintlaw Station] Station Hotel Station Hotel Station Hotel J. Gordon - Station Master G. Urquhart - Dunshillock J. Murry - Old Deer 021 Applies to a substantial buiding; situated on the south of the Old Deer & Mintlaw Railway Station. The property of Mr. Russell. Aden.
OS1/1/68/156 GREAT NORTH OF SCOTLAND RAILWAY (Formartine and Buchan Section) Gt. [Great] North of Scotland Railway (Formartine & Buchan Section) Gt. [Great] North of Scotland Railway (Formartine & Buchan Section) Gt. [Great] North of Scotland Railway (Formartine & Buchan Section) J. Gordon - Station Master G. Urquhart - Dunshillock J. Murry - Old Deer 021 ; 022 ; 023 ; 030 Applies to a Railway situated between Aberdeen and Peterhead having also a branch between New Maud and Fraserburgh.
OS1/1/68/156 [Page] 156 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/157 STATION LODGE Station Lodge Station Lodge Station Lodge J. Gordon - Station Master J. Stephens - East Lodge G. Finnie -North Lodge 022 Applies to a neat substantial building, built for the use of the Station Master of the Old Deer & Mintlaw Railway Station. Situated on the East of Pitfour House
OS1/1/68/157 NORTH LODGE [Aden House] North Lodge North Lodge North Lodge J. Gordon - Station Master J. Stephens - East Lodge G. Finnie -North Lodge 022 Applies to a neat substantial buiding. Situated on the north side of Aden House and is the principle entrance to it.
OS1/1/68/157 BALRING Balring Balring Balring R. McRobert - Occupier J. Gordon - Station Master J. Murry - Old Deer 022 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 1 1/2 Miles North East of the Village of Old Deer. The property of Coln. [Colonel] Ferguson Pitfour House.
OS1/1/68/157 [Page] 157 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/158 NETHER ADEN Netheraden Netheraden Netheraden Nether Aden J. Gordon - Station Lodge J. Murry - Old Deer R. McRobert - Balring Valuation Roll 022 Applies to a substantial farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 2 Miles East of the Village of Old Deer. The property of Mr. J. Russell. Aden.
OS1/1/68/158 [Page] 158 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/159 POT OF PITLURG Pot of Pitlurg Pot of Pitlurg Pot of Pitlurg A. Webster - Old Deer J. Murry - Old Deer S. Keith - Pitlurg 022 Applies to a deep pot or hole situated on the North East side of the Farm of Pitlurg from which it derives its name, and on the South side of the River Ugie.
OS1/1/68/159 BALUSS BRIDGE Baluss Bridge County Baluss Bridge County Baluss Bridge County K. Hutchison, Old Deer A. Webster, Old Deer A. Rennie. Mill of Aden 022 Applies to a Substantial Stone Bridge of 3 Arches; placed across the South River Ugie; and about 2 miles East of the Village of Old Deer.
OS1/1/68/159 [Page] 159 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Aden'] - Not to be written on Plan
OS1/1/68/160 MILL OF ADEN (Woollen) Mill of Aden (Wool) Mill of Aden (Wool) Mill of Aden (Wool) A. Rennie, Occupier S. Keith, Pitlurg A. Webster, Old Deer 022 Applies to a Substantial Mill situated on the Banks of the South River Ugie. It employs about 28 hands when in full work for making Flannel and Worsted. The property of Mr. Russell Esq. Aden.
OS1/1/68/160 PITLURG Pitlurg Pitlurg Pitlurg J. Buchan Esq. - Auchmacoy S. Keith Occupier A. Webster Old Deer 022 Applies to a Small Farmsteading Situated on the South side of the South River Ugie; the property of J. Buchan Esq. Auchmacoy.
OS1/1/68/160 [Page] 160 Aberdeenshire - Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'South Ugie'] - Described on page 105.
OS1/1/68/161 MIDDLE THIRD Middle Third Middle Third Middle Third J. Buchan - Auchmacoy J. Kelloch - Occupier K. Hutchison Old Deer 022 Applies to a Farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 1 Mile South of the Village of Stuartfield. There was found in digging the foundation of the Steading 8 Urns about 12 Years ago they where all broke therefore the Shape of them was doubtful
OS1/1/68/161 EASTER KNOCK Easter Knock Easter Knock Easter Knock W. Park - Occupier J. Kelloch - Middle Third Knock K. Hutchison - Old Deer 022 Applies to a Substantial Farmsteading having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 2 miles South East of the Village of Old Deer.
OS1/1/68/161 [Page] 161 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Entry for 'Knock' is crossed out.]
OS1/1/68/162 [Page] 162 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/163 WESTER KNOCK Wester Knock Wester Knock Wester Knock Mr. William Keith, Tenant. Mr. Ferguson. Alton of Coynach Mr. Thomas Robertson, Postmaster Clola. 022 A fine substantial farmsteading, situated a little south east of the village of Stuartfield; the property of Mr. Buchan of Auchmacoy.
OS1/1/68/163 DERRAN HOWE Derran Howe Derran Howe Derran Howe Mr. William Keith, Tenant. Mr. Ferguson. Alton of Coynach Mr. Thomas Robertson, Postmaster Clola. 022 This name applies to a large house which extends from near Wester Knock, to Derranbank. I cannot find out the origin of this name, though it is very well known.
OS1/1/68/163 DERRAN BURN Derran Burn Derran Burn Derran Burn Mr. William Keith, Tenant. Mr. Ferguson. Alton of Coynach Mr. Thomas Robertson, Postmaster Clola. 022 A very small burn rising from drains at the head of Derran Howe, and running through the Den joins the Quhomery Burn at Derranbank.
OS1/1/68/163 [Page] 163 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/164 DERRANBANK Derranbank Derranbank Derranbank Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy. Mr. Ferguson, Alton of Coynach Mr. Bruce, Millhill, 022 A fine substantial dwelling house, situated at the end of the Derran Howe, occupied by Mr. John Smith; the property of Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/164 BARNYARDS Barnyards Barnyards Barnyards Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy. Mr. Ferguson, Alton of Coynach Mr. Bruce, Millhill, 022 A substantial farmsteading, occupied by Miss Bruce; the property of Mr. Ferguson of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/164 BRIDGESTONE Bridgestone Bridgestone Bridgestone Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy. Mr. Ferguson, Alton of Coynach Mr. Bruce, Millhill, 022 A small farmsteading, situated near Millbreck; the property of Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/164 [Page] 164 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/165 MILLBRECK (Woollen Mill) Millbreck (Woollen Mill) Millbreck (Woollen Mill) Millbreck (Woollen Mill) Mr. J. Smith. Proprietor. Mr. Ferguson. Kinmundy. Mr. Ferguson. Alton. 022 A very large wollen mill, situated at the west end of Mill Hill; the property of Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/165 COYNACH HILL Coynach Hill Coynach Hill Coynach Hill Mr. Ferguson Alton Mr. Ferguson Kinmundy Mr. Keith, Wester Knock 022 Applies to a small hill feature, having a small circular wood on its summit, situated near the farm of Brae of Coynach.
OS1/1/68/165 ALTON OF COYNACH Alton of Coynach Alton of Coynach Alton of Coynach Mr. Ferguson Alton Mr. Ferguson Kinmundy Mr. Keith, Wester Knock 022 A very fine substantial farm steading, occupied by Mr. Ferguson, brother to the proprietor, the laird of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/165 [Page] 165 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/166 MILLTOWN OF CLOLA Milltown of Clola Milltown of Clola Milltown of Clola Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy. Mr. Ferguson, Alton. Mr. Keith, Wester Knock. 022 A substantial farmsteading, situated a little east of Alton of Coynach; the property of Mr. Ferguson Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/166 COWIE'S WELL Cowie's Well Cowie's Well Cowie's Well Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy. Mr. Ferguson, Alton. Mr. Keith, Wester Knock. 022 A fine spring well, situated at the road side. This well is named after an old man by the name of Cowie, who lived in a small croft close to this place. The croft has been removed.
OS1/1/68/166 BRAE OF COYNACH Brae of Coynach Brae of Coynach Brae of Coynach Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy. Mr. Ferguson, Alton. Mr. Keith, Wester Knock. 022 A very fine substantial farmsteading, having a fine dwelling house attached; the property of Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/166 [Page] 166 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/167 POST OFFICE [nr Mill of Clola] Post Office Post Office Post Office Mr. Robertson, Postmaster Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy Mr. Ferguson. Alton. 022 This Post Office is kept by Mr. Robertson, Merchant, and there is one delivery at 10.20 A.M. and one despatch at 5.45. A.M. each day. Sundays excepted.
OS1/1/68/167 MILL OF CLOLA Mill of Clola Mill of Clola Mill of Clola Mr. Robertson, Postmaster Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy Mr. Ferguson. Alton. 022 A substantial farmsteading, having a fine corn Mill attached; the property of Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/167 STONE CIST AND URN FOUND HERE A.D. 1849 [quarry, S of Millbreck]f Stone Cist & urn found here A.D. 1849 Stone Cist & urn found here A.D. 1849 Stone Cist & urn found here A.D. 1849 Mr. Robertson, Postmaster Mr. Ferguson, Kinmundy Mr. Ferguson. Alton. 022 Mr. Ferguson says that in the year 1849 while the quarriemen were working here, they came upon a fine stone cist, & in the centre of the stone cist was a small urn. The urn contained small pieces of bones & blackish earth.
OS1/1/68/167 [Page] 167 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/168 STONE HAMMER FOUND HERE A.D. 1849 [Mill of Clola] Stone Hammer found here, A.D. 1849 Stone Hammer found here, A.D. 1849 Stone Hammer found here, A.D. 1849 Mr. Davidson, Bogg's of Durie Mr. Robertson, Post Office. Mr. Ferguson, Alton. 022 Mr. Davidson of Bogg's of Durie, says, that he found a stone Hammer here in the year 1849, and he gave the hammer to a gentleman in Edinbro' [Edinburgh].
OS1/1/68/168 [Page] 168 Parish of Old Deer [There is a detailed drawing, with measurements, of the 'Stone Hammer'.]
OS1/1/68/169 MILLHILL Millhill Millhill Millhill A. Bruce - Occupier J. Robertson - Millhill W. Davidson - Bog of Durie 022 Applies to a Substantial Farmsteading, having outhouses, garden &c. attached. Situated about 3 miles South of the Village of Old Deer. The property of Mr. Ferguson Esq. Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/169 URNS FOUND HERE AD. 1838 [Millhill] Four Urns found here A.D. 1838 A. Bruce - Occupier J. Robertson - Millhill W. Davidson - Bog of Durie 022 ...In a park situated on the North West side of the house [Millhill] were found 4 Urns by some quarrymen while quarrying for Stone about 1838 or 39; they where all broke therefore the Shape was uncertain.
OS1/1/68/169 BOG OF DURIE Bogg of Durie Bogg of Durie Bogg of Durie J. Ferguson - Factor W. Davidson - Occupier J. Robertson - Millhill 022 Applies to a Small Croft, situated about 3 1/2 Miles South of the Village of Old Deer; the occupier Mr. Davidson, found 1 Stone Battle Axe in a park on the North Side of the Croft and on the property of Millhill; about 1857; he also found a Stone Ball supposed to have been used for war purposes; it was picked up on the North West side of the Croft in 1869.
OS1/1/68/169 STONE AXE FOUND HERE A.D. 1857 [Bog of Durie] Stone Axe found here A.D. 1857 J. Ferguson - Factor W. Davidson - Occupier J. Robertson - Millhill 022 ...the occupier Mr. Davidson, found 1 Stone Battle Axe in a park on the North Side of the Croft [Bog of Durie] and on the property of Millhill; about 1857;...
OS1/1/68/169 STONE BALL FOUND HERE A.D. 1869 [Bog of Durie] Stone Ball found here A.D. 1869 J. Ferguson - Factor W. Davidson - Occupier J. Robertson - Millhill 022 ... he [Mr. Davidson, occupier, Bog of Durie] also found a Stone Ball supposed to have been used for war purposes; it was picked up on the North West side of the Croft in 1869.
OS1/1/68/169 [Page] 169 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/170 MILL HILL Mill Hill Mill Hill Mill Hill W. Davidson - Bog of Durie J. Kelloch - Knock W. Park - Knock 022 Applies to a large hill feature about 3 1/2 Miles South of the Village of Old Deer; the property of W. Ferguson Esq. Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/170 [Page] 170 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of New Deer
OS1/1/68/171 SHANNAS Shannas Shannas Shannas Mr. C. Penny Tenant William Ferguson Esq. Proprietor Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 022 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices, garden &c. attached. Situated about a half a mile west of the Church of Clola. The property of William Ferguson Esq. of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/171 MANSE [F.C., Clola] Free Church Manse Free Church Manse Free Church Manse The Rev. [Reverend] G. McCrie Robert Porter Stuartfield Mr. C. Penny Shannas 022 Applies to a substantial building, occupied by the Rev. [Reverend] G. McCrie minister of the Free Church Clola.
OS1/1/68/171 FREE CHURCH [Clola] Free Church Free Church Free Church The Rev. [Reverend] G. McCrie Mr. William Ferguson Smith Clola Mr. R Porter Stuartfield 022 This church was built in the year 1863, it contains about 400 sittings. It is situated a short distance south of the Mill of Clola.
OS1/1/68/171 [Page] 171 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/172 CLOLA Clola Clola Clola Mr. William Ferguson Smith Wiliam Ferguson Esq. Proprietor Mr. J. Davidson Mill of Clola 022 This name applies to a number of houses in the immediate neighbourhood of the Free Church, it also includes the Free Church Manse and the Mill of Clola. The property of William Ferguson Esq. of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/172 SPITAL Spittal Spittal Spittal Mr. A. Chivas Tenant A. Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle Mr. Robert Porter Stuartfield 022 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices garden &c. attached. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/172 [Page] 172 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Shannas Toll House'] - Not to be written on Plan
OS1/1/68/173 NEWTON OF SKELMUIR Newton of Skelmuir Newton of Skelmuir Newton of Skelmuir Mr. A. Watt Tenant Mr. W. Reid Tenant Mr. W. Keith Tenant 022 Applies to four small farms on the estate of Skelmuir. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/173 QUARRYHEAD Quarryhead Quarryhead Quarryhead Mr. S. Davidson Tenant Mr. W. Reid Newton of Skelmuir Mr. William Keith Newton of Skelmuir 022 Applies to a small farm on the estate of Skelmuir. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/173 [Page] 173 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/174 SCHOOL [S of Clola] School School School Mr. Webster Teacher Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. J. Davidson Mill of Clola 022 This is a Parochial School. It is situated about a mile to the south of the Church of Clola. The average number of scholars is 150. The Teacher has both the "Dick & Milne Bequests."
OS1/1/68/174 EASTER PETTYMARCUS Easter Pettymarcus Easter Pettymarcus Easter Pettymarcus Mr. Alexander Johnstone Tenant Mr. Robert Porter Stuartfield Mr. Rettie Pettymarcus 022 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices garden &c. attached. Situated close to the school of Shannas. The property of William Ferguson Esq. of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/174 PETTYMARCUS Pettymarcus Pettymarcus Pettymarcus Mr. G Rettie Tenant Mr. Rettie Tenant Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 022 Applies to four small crofts, situated a short distance south of the School of Shannas. The property of William Ferguson Esq. of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/174 [Page] 174 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/175 KINMUNDY HOUSE Kinmundy House Kinmundy House Kinmundy House Mr. Ferguson, Alton of Coynach. Mr. Keith Newton of Kinmundy. Mr. Davidson, Bog of Durie. 022 A fine substantial mansion house, of modern build, very prettily situated in the centre of woods; the property of William Ferguson Esq. This house & estate takes its name from the Gaelic word "Kin-moan-ee", "which means the head of the Moss."
OS1/1/68/175 HOME FARM Home Farm Home Farm Home Farm Mr. Ferguson, Alton of Coynach. Mr. Keith Newton of Kinmundy. Mr. Davidson, Bog of Durie. 022 A fine farmsteading situated a little west of Kinmundy House; the property of William Ferguson Esq. Kinmundy House.
OS1/1/68/175 STONE CELT FOUND HERE A.D. 1867 [Kinmundy House] Stone Celt found here A.D. 1867 Stone Celt found here A.D. 1867 Stone Celt found here A.D. 1867 Mr. Ferguson, Alton. Mr. William Wallace, Kinmundy. Mr. James Gibbson, Kinmundy. 022 In the 1867, while Mr. Gibbson was crossing this field, he found a very fine stone celt. It is at present in the possession of Mr. William Ferguson, Kinmundy House.
OS1/1/68/175 [Page] 175 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/176 DURIE Durie Durie Durie William Davidson, Bog of Durie. J. Ferguson Esq. Factor. R. Gibb, Greenmyre. 022 This name is applied to a number of small crofts &c. situated a little north west of Kinmundy House; the property of William Ferguson Esq.
OS1/1/68/176 BURN OF LUDUQUHARN Burn of Ludquharn Burn of Ludquharn Burn of Ludquharn J.B. Pratts History of Buchan P. [Page] 79. William Ferguson Esq. Kinmundy Ho. [House] J. Ferguson. Esq. Factor. 022 "The Burn of Ludquharn, called also the Burn of Cairngall, flows to the east of Longside, and eventually loses itself in the Ugie. Three corn mills formerly laid this stream under contribution, the Ludquharn, Tillery and Cairngall. It is now relieved of all but the last. Pratts History of Buchan page 79.
OS1/1/68/176 PETTYMARCUS WOOD Pettymarcus Wood Pettymarcus Wood Pettymarcus Wood R. Gibb, Greenmyre. K. Hutchenson, Old Deer. William Leask, Kinmundy. 022 A small fir plantation, situated a little west of Greenmyre; the property of Ferguson Esq. Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/176 GREENMIRE Greenmyre Greenmyre Greenmyre R. Gibb, Greenmyre. K. Hutchenson, Old Deer. William Leask, Kinmundy. 022 A small croft, situated a little north of Newton; the property of William Ferguson Esq. Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/176 [Page] 176 Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Burn of Luduquharn'] - Described in the documents of Longside Parish. [Initialled] E.H.C.
OS1/1/68/177 LITTLE ANNOCHIE Little Annochie Little Annochie Little Annochie Mr. Alexander Knox, Tenant. Mr. Alexander Kennedy, Barons Inn. Mr. John Anderson, Burngrains. 030 A fine farmsteading, situated a little north of the Barons Inn, and having a merchants shop attached; the property of the Boys & Girls Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/177 BARON'S INN [Auchnagatt] Baron's Inn Baron's Inn Baron's Inn Mr. A. Kennedy, Tenant. Mr. A. Knox. Mr. John Anderson. 030 A fine substantial Inn, having a good site, it being close to Auchnagatt Railway Station. This Inn takes its name from the "Barons Courts" which were held in it long ago.
OS1/1/68/177 POST OFFICE [Barons' Inn] Post Office Post Office Post Office Mr. A. Kennedy, Postmaster. Mr. A Knox. Mr. John Anderson. 030 The Post Office here is a part of the Inn, and the Innkeeper is the Postmaster. There is one despatch & one delivery each day. (Sundays excepted). Despatch 5.10. Delivery 11 A.M.
OS1/1/68/177 [Page] 176 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/178 [Page] 178 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/179 GREEN OF ANNOCHIE Green of Annochie Green of Annochie Green of Annochie Mr. Charles Wildgoose, Tenant. Mr. John Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. William Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 This is a small croft, situated close to the Mains of Annochie, the property of the Boys' & Girls' Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/179 MUSSEL BUTTS Muscle Butts Muscle Butts Muscle Butts Mr. Charles Wildgoose, Tenant. Mr. John Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. William Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 This name applies to a small piece of the howe, situated on the north side of the stream south of Mains of Annochie. I cannot find out how it got its name. There was once a well near this place called the Muscle Well, though it is now run into drains.
OS1/1/68/179 STONE CELTS FOUND HERE A.D. 1867 [East Gibseat] Stone Celts found here A.D. 1862 Stone Celts found here A.D. 1862 Stone Celts found here A.D. 1862 Mr. Charles Wildgoose, Tenant. Mr. John Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. William Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 Mr. Cassie of East Gibseat, says, that in the year 1862, one of his son's while ploughing this field, found two fine Stone celts, he has one just now, & the other was given to the Revd. [Reverend] Arthur Ranken, Episcopal Minister Old Deer.
OS1/1/68/179 [Page] 179 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/180 CRAIG WELL Craig Well Craig Well Craig Well Mr. John Cassie. Mr. Charles Wildgoose. Mr. William Mitchell. 030 This name is applied to a fine spring well, which is situated on the side of the old T.P. [Turnpike] road, running from Ellon to New Deer. There was once a large rock or Craig here, hence the name.
OS1/1/68/180 EAST GIBSEAT East Gibseat East Gibseat East Gibseat Mr. John Cassie. Mr. Charles Wildgoose. Mr. William Mitchell. 030 A fine substantial farmhouse, situated close to Craigiehill; the property of the Boys & Girls Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/180 CRAIGIEHILL Craigiehill Craigiehill Craigiehill Mr. John Cassie. Mr. Charles Wildgoose. Mr. William Mitchell. 030 Substantial farmsteading, situated close to East Gibseat; the property of the Boys & Girls Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/180 [Page] 180 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/181 STONE CELT FOUND HERE A.D. 1864 [Mains of Annochie] Stone Celt found here A.D. 1864 Stone Celt found here A.D. 1864 Mr. Robertson, Sen. [Senior] Mains of Annochie Mr. Robertson, Jun. [Junior] Mains of Annochie 030 Mr. Robertson has a fine stone Celt, which one of his servants found in one of his fields; this celt was found in the year 1864.
OS1/1/68/181 [Page] 181 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [There is a drawing of the 'Stone Celt']
OS1/1/68/182 [Page] 182 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/183 BLACKBRIGS Blackbrigs Blackbrigs Blackbrigs Mr. G. Thompson, Tenant. Mr. J. McArthur, Murelandhillock Mr. J. Cassie, East Gibseat. 030 A small farmsteading, occupied by Mr. Thompson, the property of the Boys & Girls Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/183 MUIRLANDHILLOCK Murelandhillock Murelandhillock Murelandhillock Mr. G. Thompson, Tenant. Mr. J. McArthur, Murelandhillock Mr. J. Cassie, East Gibseat. 030 A small croft, situated in the district known as Backhill of Slampton; the property of the Boys & Girls, Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/183 [Page] 183 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Backhill of Slampton'] - Described on page 149.
OS1/1/68/184 ELRICK MOSS Elrick Moss Elrick Moss Elrick Moss Mr. Thompson. Mr. McArthur. Mr. Cassie. 030 This name applies to an extensive moss, situated between the lands of Elrick, Slampton and Crichie.
OS1/1/68/184 WEST GIBSEAT West Gibseat West Gibseat West Gibseat Mr. Alexander Cassie, Tenant. Mr. J. Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 A fine substantial farmsteading situated on the north side of Windy's Hill; the property of the Boys & Girls Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/184 STONE AXE FOUND HERE A.D. 1867 [West Gibseat] Stone Axe found here A.D. 1867 Stone Axe found here A.D. 1867 Stone Axe found here A.D. 1867 Mr. Alexander Cassie, Tenant. Mr. J. Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 Mr. Cassie says that in the year 1867, while ploughing here, he found a stone celt, it is at present at West Gibseat.
OS1/1/68/184 [Page] 184 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/185 STONE CIST AND URN FOUND HERE A.D. 1859 [West Gibseat] Stone Cist and Urn found here A.D. 1859 Stone Cist and Urn found here A.D. 1859 Stone Cist and Urn found here A.D. 1859 Mr. A. Cassie, West Gibseat. Mr. J. Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 Mr. Cassie found a stone coffin with an urn inside of it, in the year 1859, while reclaiming this field, the urn was broken while being removed from the cist. It contained a small quantity of darkish earth, and a few pieces of bones.
OS1/1/68/185 WINDY HILL Windy's Hill Windy's Hill Windy's Hill Mr. A. Cassie, West Gibseat. Mr. J. Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 This name applies to a hill feature with a strip of whins on the top. A great number of antiquities have been found here at diferent times. The origin of this name is doubtful.
OS1/1/68/185 Site of ERD HOUSES [West Gibseat] Site of Pictish Houses. Site of Pictish Houses. Site of Pictish Houses. Mr. A. Cassie, West Gibseat. Mr. J. Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 While Mr. Cassie was improving this field he removed the remains of what was supposed to be two Pictish Houses. They were situated close together and he thinks they measured about 8 feet long, by 6 feet wide, this may not be exact, but it is as near as he can remember. There was evident marks of fire on a large stone which he found in the ruins, and portions of the floor was paved.
OS1/1/68/185 [Page] 185 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/186 STONE AXE FOUND HERE A.D. 1857 [West Gibseat] Stone axe found here A.D. 1857 Stone axe found here A.D. 1857 Stone axe found here A.D. 1857 Mr. Alexander Cassie. Mr J. Cassie. Mr. Mitchell. 030 Mr. Cassie, says, that while one of his sons was working here, in the year 1857, he found a fine Stone Axe, the Axe was given to the Revd. [Reverend] A. Ranken of Old Deer.
OS1/1/68/186 SPUNKIE'S KNOWE Spunkies' Knowe Spunkies' Knowe Spunkies' Knowe Mr. Alexander Cassie. Mr J. Cassie. Mr. Mitchell. 030 This name applies to a small hillock, situated on the south slope of Windy's Hill. I cannot ascertain the origin of the name.
OS1/1/68/186 Site of ERD HOUSE [West Gibseat] (Site of) Pictish House (Site of) Pictish House (Site of) Pictish House Mr. Alexander Cassie. Mr. J. Cassie. Mr. Mitchell. 030 Mr. Cassie, say's, that he removed the remains of a Pictish House, from this place. It was exactly the same as the two he removed a year or so before, (See description of Pictish Houses, on the other side.)
OS1/1/68/186 [Page] 186 Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Spunkies' Knowe'] - "Spunkie" Applied to a place haunted by "Ignis fatuus" [Signed] Jamieson
OS1/1/68/187 STONE CIST AND URN FOUND HERE A.D. 1847 [East Gibseat] Stone Cist & Urn found here, A.D. 1847 Stone Cist & Urn found here, A.D. 1847 Stone Cist & Urn found here, A.D. 1847 Mr. Cassie East Gibseat Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. Mr. Mackie, Mains of Elrick. 030 Mr. Cassie removed a stone cist containing an urn from this place, in the year 1847. The urn was broken & the contents scattered before it was discovered.
OS1/1/68/187 STONE BALL FOUND HERE A.D. 1839 [Mains of Elrick] Stone Ball found here. A.D. 1839 Stone Ball found here. A.D. 1839 Stone Ball found here. A.D. 1839 Mr. Cassie East Gibseat Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. Mr. Mackie, Mains of Elrick. 030 Mrs. Mackie at Mains of Elrick says, that her late husband found a stone shot or ball here in the year 1839, it is now in the Museum of Peterhead.
OS1/1/68/187 FLINT ARROWHEADS FOUND HERE [Mains of Elrick] Flint arrowheads found hereabout Flint arrowheads found hereabout Flint arrowheads found hereabout Mr. Cassie East Gibseat Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. Mr. Mackie, Mains of Elrick. 030 There was a lot of arrowheads found hereabout, at different dates, and at the south side of Logan Hill they were also found.
OS1/1/68/187 FLINT ARROWHEADS FOUND HEREABOUTS [Logan Hill] Flint arrowheads found here Mr. Cassie East Gibseat Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. Mr. Mackie, Mains of Elrick. 030 There was a lot of arrowheads found hereabout, at different dates, and at the south side of Logan Hill they were also found.
OS1/1/68/187 [Page] 187 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/188 BLACKPOTS Blackpots Blackpots Blackpots Mr. Mackie, Mains of Elrick. Mr. Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 A fine substantial farmsteading situated about 3/4 of a mile east of Mains of Elrick; the property of the Boys & Girls Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/188 HILL OF BLACKPOTS Hill of Blackpots Hill of Blackpots Hill of Blackpots Mr. Mackie, Mains of Elrick. Mr. Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 A large cultivated hill feature, situated between the Mains of Elrick & the farm of Blackpots, from which it takes its name.
OS1/1/68/188 [Page] 188 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/189 DIRKEM Dirkem Dirkem Dirkem Mr. Mackie, Mains of Elrick. Mr. Cassie, East Gibseat Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 This name applies to a corner of a field close to the Brocks Moss. It is a well known name, but I cant get anyone to give the origin of it. There is a large stone stands within the piece called Dirkem, & is of long standing, but the people here know nothing about it.
OS1/1/68/189 MAINS OF ELRICK Mains of Elrick Mains of Elrick Mains of Elrick Mr. Mackie, Mains of Elrick. Mr. Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 A very fine substantial farmsteading situated on the south east side of Windy's Hill; the property of the Boys & Girls Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/189 LOGAN HILL Logan Hill Logan Hill Logan Hill Mr. Mackie, Mains of Elrick. Mr. Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 Applies to a large cultivated hill feature, on the top of which the late farmer of Mains of Elrick removed a burial Cairn, there was a lot of calcined bones & earth found at the foundation. The date is doubtful when this cairn was removed, but Mrs. Mackie the late farmer's wife says, she thinks it was in the year 1839.
OS1/1/68/189 Site of CAIRN [Logan Hill] Site of Cairn Mr. Mackie, Mains of Elrick. Mr. Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. Mitchell, Craigiehill. 030 Applies to a large cultivated hill feature, on the top of which the late farmer of Mains of Elrick removed a burial Cairn, there was a lot of calcined bones & earth found at the foundation. The date is doubtful when this cairn was removed, but Mrs. Mackie the late farmer's wife says, she thinks it was in the year 1839.
OS1/1/68/189 [Page] 189 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/190 FLINT ARROWHEADS FOUND HERE [Brocks' Brae] Flint Arrowheads found here Flint Arrowheads found here Flint Arrowheads found here Mr. Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. Cassie, West Gibseat. Mr. Mackie, Mains of Elrick. 030 Mr Cassie, says, that there has been a great lot of Flint arrowheads found here, in fact they are found all over this hill.
OS1/1/68/190 BROCKS' BRAE Brocks' Brae Brocks' Brae Brocks' Brae Mr. Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. Cassie, West Gibseat. Mr. Mackie, Mains of Elrick. 030 Applies to a small brae, in which the Brock, or Badger used to be found long ago, it is now cultivated but still retains the name.
OS1/1/68/190 BROCKS' MOSS Brocks' Moss Brocks' Moss Brocks' Moss Mr. Cassie, East Gibseat. Mr. Cassie, West Gibseat. Mr. Mackie, Mains of Elrick. 030 Applies to a small howe in which the Badger or Brock, used to reside long ago, it is now cultivated.
OS1/1/68/190 [Page] 190 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/191 Site of CAIRN [Greencroft] (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn Mr. Jaffray Greencroft Mr. Jaffray, Burnend. Mr. Shepherd, Cortiecram. 030 Mr. Jaffray of Greencroft says, that after he removed the cairn north of this, he started to clear this one away, but on coming to the foundation he only got calcined bones & Black earth.
OS1/1/68/191 STONY KNAP Stony Knap Stony Knap Stony Knap Mr. Gordon Laing. Mr. Jaffray. Mr. Shepherd. 030 This is a stony hillock at the end of one of the branches of Skelmuir Hill.
OS1/1/68/191 Site of CAIRN [Stoney Knap] (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn Mr. Gordon Laing. Mr. Jaffray. Mr. Shepherd. 030 Mr. Gordon Laing, says, that in the year 1843, he removed a large burial cairn from this place, there was nothing but bones & earth at the bottom of this cairn. [bones] supposed to be human bones.
OS1/1/68/191 [Page] 191 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Stony Knap'] - The Plan to be corrected to agree on its return from South'ton [Southampton] [Initialled] E.H.C.
OS1/1/68/192 GREENCROFT Greencroft Greencroft Greencroft Alexander Gordon Esq. Proprietor. Mr. Jamieson, Factor. Mr. Jaffray, Tenant. 030 A fine farmsteading situated a little west of Cortiecram; the property of Alexander Gordon Esq. Ellon Castle
OS1/1/68/192 STONE AXE FOUND HERE A.D. 1864 [Greencroft] Stone Axe found here A.D. 1864 Stone Axe found here A.D. 1864 Stone Axe found here A.D. 1864 Mr. W. Jaffray, Greencroft. Mr. Alexander Jaffray, Burnend. Mr. Shepherd, Cortiecram. 030 Mr. Jaffray of Greencroft has in his possession a fine stone axe, which he found in the year 1864, the Axe was found a little north east of his farm.
OS1/1/68/192 CORTIECRAM Cortiecram Cortiecram Cortiecram Alexander Gordon, Esq. Mr. Jamieson. Mr. Shepherd, Tenant. 030 A fine farmsteading situated close to Greencroft; the property of Alexander Gordon Esq. Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/192 MONFOTHIE Monfothie Monfothie Monfothie Alexander Gordon, Esq. Mr. Jamieson. Alexander Leslie, Tenant. 030 A small farmsteading, situated about 1/2 mile east of the farm of Cortiecram; the property of Alexander Gordon Esq. Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/192 [Page] 192 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/193 BURNEND Burnend Burnend Burnend Alexander Gordon Esq. Proprietor Mr. Alexander Jaffray, Tenant. Mr. Jamieson, Factor. 030 A small farm, situated near the Heads of Skelmuir; the property of Alexander Gordon Esq. Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/193 SKELMUIR HILL Skelmuir Hill Skelmuir Hill Skelmuir Hill Alexander Gordon Esq. Proprietor Mr. Alexander Jaffray, Tenant. Mr. Jamieson, Factor. 030 ; 031 This name applies to a very extensive hill feature Shaped thus [hand drawn figure] the most of which is cultivated, and on the North west end are two "Standing Stones" supposed to be of Druidic origin.
OS1/1/68/193 Site of CAIRN [The Kirns] (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn Mr. Jaffray, Greencroft. Mr. Jaffray, Burnend. Mr. Shepherd, Cortiecram. 030 Mr. Jaffray of Greencroft, says that in the year 1849, he removed a large cairn from this spot, and in doing so he came upon two urns buried in the foundation of the cairn, both of the urns contained calcined bones & blackish earth. The urns fell to pieces when lifted from the ground.
OS1/1/68/193 URNS FOUND HERE AD. 1849 [cairn, The Kirns] Two Urns found here A.D. 1849 Two Urns found here A.D. 1849 Two Urns found here A.D. 1849 Mr. Jaffray, Greencroft. Mr. Jaffray, Burnend. Mr. Shepherd, Cortiecram. 030 Mr. Jaffray of Greencroft, says that in the year 1849, he removed a large cairn from this spot, and in doing so he came upon two urns buried in the foundation of the cairn, both of the urns contained calcined bones & blackish earth. The urns fell to pieces when lifted from the ground.
OS1/1/68/193 [Page] 193 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/194 URN FOUND HERE A.D. 1854 [North Crofts of Cortiecram] Urn found here A.D. 1854 Urn found here A.D. 1854 Urn found here A.D. 1854 Mr. Cruickshank, Little Blackpots Mr. Jaffray, Greencroft. Mr. Jaffray, Burnend. 030 Mr. Cruickshank the farmer of of Little Blackpots, removed a large stone which used to stand a few inches up above the surface of the road, and in doing so came upon a fine Urn, it contained small pieces of calcined bones.
OS1/1/68/194 FLINT ARROWHEADS FOUND HEREABOUTS [North Crofts of Cortiecram] Flint arrowheads found hereabout. Mr. Gordon Laing, N [North] Crofts, Cortiecram 030 Mr. Gordon Laing says, that he has often found flint arrowheads hereabout.
OS1/1/68/194 THE KIRNS The Kirns The Kirns The Kirns Mr. Jaffray, Greencroft. Mr. Jaffray, Burnend. Mr. Gordon Laing, N. [North] Crofts of Cortiecram 030 This name applies to a deep hollow in the hill face, which extends from a little north of the North Crofts of Cortiecram, to a little north of the farm of Greencroft. Tradition says, that the cows' which used to feed here always gave three times as much butter as the rest of them, and in consequence the place was called the Kirns or the Cream Kirns.
OS1/1/68/194 [Page] 194 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/195 MOSS-SIDE OF CRICHIE Moss-side of Crichie Moss-side of Crichie Moss-side of Crichie Alexander Sutherland, Tenant. Peter Lawrance, Tenant. Mr. Jaffray, Greencroft. 030 This name applies to two small crofts, situated on the edge of Crichie Moss.
OS1/1/68/195 HEADS OF SKELMUIR Heads of Skelmuir Heads of Skelmuir Heads of Skelmuir Alexander Gordon Esq. Ellon Castle, Prop. [Proprietor] Mr. Jamieson, Mains of Waterton, Factor. Mr. Jaffray, Greencroft. 030 This name applies to four or five crofts on the estate of Skelmuir; the property of Alexander Gordon Esq. Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/195 NORTH CROFTS OF CORTIECRAM North Crofts of Cortiecram North Crofts of Cortiecram North Crofts of Cortiecram Alexander Gordon Esq. Ellon Castle, Prop. [Proprietor] Mr. Jamieson, Mains of Waterton, Factor. Mr. Jaffray, Greencroft. 030 Applies to two small crofts, situated a little south of Heads of Skelmuir; the property of Alexander Gordon Esq. Ellon Castle
OS1/1/68/195 [Page] 195 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/196 WOLFSTONE Wolfstone Wolfstone Wolfstone Mr. Jaffray, Greencroft. Mr. Shepherd, Cortiecram. Mr. Alexander Jaffray, Burnend. 030 This name applies to a small croft, situated near the Backhill of Slampton, it takes its name from a large rock which once stood close to it. The rock is now removed.
OS1/1/68/196 CRICHIE MOSS Crichie Moss Crichie Moss Crichie Moss Mr. Jaffray, Greencroft. Mr. Shepherd, Cortiecram. Mr. Alexander Jaffray, Burnend. 030 An extensive moss on the estate of Crichie, from which the inhabitants of Stuartfield & the Crichie estate get their fuel.
OS1/1/68/196 LITTLE BLACKPOTS Little Blackpots Little Blackpots Little Blackpots Mr. William Cruickshank, Tenant. Mr. Jaffray, Greencroft. Mr. Shepherd, Cortiecram. 030 A fine farmsteading situated close to the old T.P. [Turn Pike] road between Stuartfield & Ellon, on the estate of Kinaldie.
OS1/1/68/196 [Page] 196 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/197 MILL OF ELRICK (Corn) Mill of Elrick (Corn) Mill of Elrick (Corn) Mill of Elrick (Corn) Mr. J. Walker, Auchnavaird. Mr. J. Anderson, Burngrains. Mr. A. Connon, Pitchbrae, 030 A fine substantial corn mill, situated about 1 mile south of Auchnagatt Railway Station; the property of the Boys & Girls Hospital Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/197 SCABBIT MEADOW Skabit Meadow Skabit Meadow Skabit Meadow Mr. J. Walker, Auchnavaird. Mr. J. Anderson, Burngrains. Mr. A. Connon, Pitchbrae, 030 This name applies to a small howe, situated at the south side of Brocks Brae, and near the Mains of Elrick. There was once a lot of patches of stones & moss here, hence the name.
OS1/1/68/197 EBRIE BURN The Ebrie The Ebrie The Ebrie The late Revd. Dr. [Reverend Doctor] Pratt, Cruden. Mr. John Anderson. Mr. John Walker 030 "At about a mile above Kinharrachy, the Ebrie flows into the Ythan. This stream has its source in the parish of New Deer. In its ordinary volume it is no great account; but in heavy rains, owing to the unusual declivity of the banks along its course, it swells into an imposing torrent. It has a character of its own, however: the occasional fury of its passage has worn deep holes in its channel, so that from a harmless-looking stream it sometimes proves a dangerous pitfall. Extract from Pratts History of Buchan page 243.
OS1/1/68/197 [Page] 197 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Ebrie Burn'] - Described on documents of Ellon Ph [Parish]
OS1/1/68/198 AUCHNAVAIRD Auchnavaird Auchnavaird Auchnavaird Mr. J. Walker, Tenant. Mr. J. Anderson. Mr. A. Connon. 030 A fine substantial farmsteading, situated a little south of Mains of Elrick; the property of the Boys & Girls Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/198 BURNGRAINS Burngrains Burngrains Burngrains Mr. J. Walker, Tenant. Mr. J. Anderson. Mr. A. Connon. 030 A very fine substantial farmsteading, situated in the south end of the parish, and having a fine Merchants shop attached; the property of the Boys & Girls Hospital Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/198 BURN OF FORTREE Burn of Fortree Described in documents of Ellon Ph [Parish] 030
OS1/1/68/198 [Page] 198 Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/199 STONE AXE FOUND HERE A.D. 1868 [Pitchbrae] Stone Axe found here A.D. 1868 Stone Axe found here A.D. 1868 Stone Axe found here A.D. 1868 Mr. Andrew Connon. Mr. James Connon. 030 Mr. Connon has in his possession a very fine Stone Axe which he found here, it is of the usual size & colour found in this district.
OS1/1/68/199 Site of CAIRN [South Auchnavaird] (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn Mr. Andrew Connon. Mr. George Simpson, Mill of Elrick. Mr. James Connon. 030 Mr. Connon says' that he removed a large burial cairn from this place, but got nothing but ashes & black earth at the foundation.
OS1/1/68/199 STONE BALL FOUND HERE A.D. 1868 [Pitchbrae] Stone Ball found here, A.D. 1868 Stone Ball found here, A.D. 1868 Stone Ball found here, A.D. 1868 Mr. Andrew Connon. Mr. George Simpson, Mill of Elrick. Mr. James Connon. 030 Mr. Connon has in his possession a very fine stone shot, which he found in the year 1868. It is marked with grooves as if to allow a stout string to be fixed to it.
OS1/1/68/199 [Page] 199 Parish of Old Deer [A drawing of the 'Stone Ball' is shown].
OS1/1/68/200 SOUTH AUCHNAVAIRD South Auchnavaird South Auchnavaird South Auchnavaird Mr William Stott, Tenant. Mr. Andrew Connon, Pitchbrae. Mr. J. Anderson, Burngrains. 030 A small croft, situated close to Pitchbrae; the property of the Boys & Girls Hospital Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/200 FLINT ARROWHEADS FOUND HERE [South Auchnavaird] Flint Arrowheads found here. Mr William Stott, Tenant. 030 Mr. Stott says, he has found lots of Flint arrowheads on this croft.
OS1/1/68/200 PITCHBRAE Pitchbrae Pitchbrae Pitchbrae Mr. Connon, Tenant. Mr. Stott. Mr. Anderson. 030 A small farmsteading, situated near a mile south of Auchnavaird, and close to the south west boundary of the parish; the property of the Boys & Girls Hospital, Aberdeen.
OS1/1/68/200 Site of CAIRN [Pitchbrae] (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn Mr. Andrew Connon. Mr. James Connon, Kirkwall Hotel, Kirkwall 030 Mr. Andrew Connon, says, that he removed a cairn from this place, and in doing so, came upon a Bronze Sword. The sword was taken away by his Brother Mr. James Connon, Kirkwall Hotel, Kirkwall.
OS1/1/68/200 BRONZE SWORD FOUND HERE A.D. 1850 [cairn, Pitchbrae] Bronze sword found here, A.D. 1850 Bronze sword found here, A.D. 1850 Mr. Andrew Connon. Mr. James Connon, Kirkwall Hotel, Kirkwall 030 Mr. Andrew Connon, says, that he removed a cairn from this place, and in doing so, came upon a Bronze Sword. The sword was taken away by his Brother Mr. James Connon, Kirkwall Hotel, Kirkwall.
OS1/1/68/200 [Page] 200 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/201 FLINT ARROWHEADS FOUND HERE A.D. 1848 [Pitchbrae] Flint arrowheads found here A.D. 1848 Flint arrowheads found here A.D. 1848 Flint arrowheads found here A.D. 1848 Mr. Andrew Connon, Pitchbrae. Mr. James Connon, Kirkwall. Mr. G. Simpson, Mill of Elrick. 030 Mr. Connon says, that while taking this field in from heather, he came upon a hole full of flint arrow heads, the most of them about half finished, there was about 30, complete.
OS1/1/68/201 STONE BALL FOUND HERE A.D. 1865 [Pitchbrae] Stone Ball found here, A.D. 1865 Stone Ball found here, A.D. 1865 Stone Ball found here, A.D. 1865 Mr. Andrew Connon, Pitchbrae. Mr. James Connon, Kirkwall. Mr. G. Simpson, Mill of Elrick. 030 Mr. Connon found a stone shot here in the year 1865, it is about the same size as the other one he found, but has no grooves, it is at present in the Peterhead Museum.
OS1/1/68/201 BUTTER FORD Butter Ford Butter Ford Butter Ford Mr. J. Anderson, Burngrains. Mr. Andrew Connon, Pitchbrae. Mr. Walker, Auchnavaird. 030 This name applies to a small ford accross the boundary burn, situated a little south east of the farm of Pitchbrae. The origin of this name is not known.
OS1/1/68/201 [Page] 201 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Butter Ford'] - Not to be written on Plan [Transcribed for interest]
OS1/1/68/202 [Page] 202 Blank page
OS1/1/68/203 REDSTONES Redstones Redstones Redstones Alexander Gordon Esq. Ellon Castle. (Proprietor) Mr. Jamieson, Mains of Waterton. (Factor) Alexander King. Tenant. 030 A small farmsteading, situated between the farm of Monfothie & the croft of Cortiecram; the property of Alexander Gordon Esq. Ellon Castle
OS1/1/68/203 CROFT OF CORTIECRAM Croft of Cortiecram Croft of Cortiecram Croft of Cortiecram Alexander Gordon Esq. Ellon Castle. (Proprietor) Mr. Jamieson, Mains of Waterton. (Factor) Robert Smith, Tenant. 030 A small croft having a Smithy attached; the property of Alexander Gordon Esq. Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/203 [Page] 203 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/204 [Page] 204 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/205 NORTH HOWE North Howe North Howe North Howe Mr. William Proctor Tenant Mr. J. Jamieson South Howe of Skelmuir Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 030 Applies to a large and substantial farm house, with offices, garden &c. attached situated about half a mile north of Skelmuir Hill. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/205 SOUTH HOWE South Howe South Howe South Howe Mr. J. Jamieson Tenant Mr. William Proctor North Howe of Skelmuir Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 030 Applies to a large and substantial farm steading with dwelling-house, garden &c. attached situated close to the North Howe of Skelmuir. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/205 STONEKILN StoneKiln StoneKiln StoneKiln Mr. J. Ferguson Tenant Mr. J. Smith Windfold Mr. J. Jamieson South Howe of Skelmuir 030 Applies to a large and substantial farm house, with offices, garden &c. attached, situated a short distance to the east of South Howe of Skelmuir. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/205 [Page] 205 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/206 WINDFOLD Windfold Windfold Windfold Mr. J. Smith Tenant Mr. J. Jamieson South Howe of Skelmuir Mr. J. Ferguson StoneKiln 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm house, with offices, garden &c. attached, situated close to the farm of StoneKiln. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/206 QUHOMERY BURN Quhomery Burn Quhomery Burn Quhomery Burn Mr. J. Reid KinKnockie Pratts' History of Buchan. Mr. Ferguson, Alton of Coynach. 031 "The Quhomery from which the estate derives its name, is a stream rising in the hills of Skelmuir, and is also lost in the Ugie. It is employed to turn two Corn-mills Clola and Inverquhomery." "Pratts Buchan" P. [Page] 88
OS1/1/68/206 WESTER PETTYMARCUS Wester Pettymarcus Wester Pettymarcus Wester Pettymarcus Mr. J. Harper Tenant Mr. Robert Porter Stuartfield Mr. J Smith Windfold 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm house, with offices, garden &c. attached situated about a mile south of the Church of Clola. The property of William Ferguson Esq. of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/206 [Page] 206 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/207 STANDING STONES [South Howe] Standing Stones Standing Stones Standing Stones Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. Mess Stodfold Mr. J. Smith Windfold 031 Applies to three stones, which, stand between four and five feet out of the ground, they are supposed to be the remains of two druidical circles. The Revd [Reverend] A. Ranken Episcopal Minister of Old Deer, says, that he thinks they are the boundary stones of the ancient Thanedom of Buchan.
OS1/1/68/207 MOSS-SIDE Moss-side Moss-side Moss-side Mr. C. Riddle Tenant Mr. Mess Stodfold Mr. J. Smith Windfold 031 Applies to a small farm with dwelling-house, offices, garden &c. attached. situated on the west slope of Skelmuir Hill. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/207 STODFOLD Stodfold Mr. Mess Tenant Mr. C. Riddle Mr. J Smith Windfold 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices, garden &c. attached. situated about a mile to the north of Ardallie Bog. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/207 [Page] 207 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/208 DIKESIDE Dykeside Dykeside Dykeside Mr. J. Wright Tenant Mr. J. Smith Windfold Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 031 Applies to a small croft, with dwelling house, offices, garden &c. attached, situated a short distance south of the farm of Stodfold. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/208 THE SLACK The Slack The Slack The Slack Mr. Mess Stodfold Mr. John Ritchie Ground Officer 031 Applies to a hollow on the east slope of Skelmuir Hill. The Quhomery Burn takes its rise from a well at the head of this slack.
OS1/1/68/208 Site of CAIRN [Queen's Cairn, Stodfold] (Site of) Queens Cairn. Urns found here A.D. 1844 Mr. Mess Stodfold Mr. Robert Porter Stuartfield 031 The Queens Cairn was removed by Mr. Mess, when reclaiming this land, he found three urns at its base, none of them were taken out whole. Mr. Mess says they contained a blackish kind of earth. This is called the Queens Cairn because it was the largest in the district.
OS1/1/68/208 [Page] 208 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/209 Site of SISTER WELLS (Site of) Sisters Wells Mr. Mess Stodfold Mr. J Ritchie Ground Officer 031 The Sisters wells, when in existence were situated three feet apart. The outlet from the wells is still visible, situated on the South bank of the Quhomery Burn. They derived this name on account of there being so close to each other.
OS1/1/68/209 URNS FOUND HERE AD. 1844 [Dikeside] Urns found here A.D. 1844 Mr. Mess Stodfold Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield Mr. J Ritchie Ground Officer 031 There was two urns found at this place, by Mr. Mess while carting gravel from a pit situated a short distance south of the Smithy of Skelmuir
OS1/1/68/209 KINKNOCKIE KinKnockie KinKnockie KinKnockie Mr. W. Thom Tenant Mr. J. Davidson Nether KinKnockie Mr. Robert Porter Stuartfield 031 Applies to a number of small crofts, situated a short distance north of KinKnockie Hill. The property of William Ferguson Esq. of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/209 [Page] 209 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/210 NETHER KINKNOCKIE Nether KinKnockie Nether KinKnockie Nether KinKnockie Mr. J. Davidson Tenant William Ferguson Esq. Proprietor Mr. R Porter Stuartfield 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm house, with offices, garden &c. attached - situated on the side of the turnpike from Ellon to Mintlaw. The property of William Ferguson Esq. of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/210 [Page] 210
OS1/1/68/211 NEWTON Newton Newton Newton Mr. J. Keith Tenant Mr. Davidson Claypots Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm-house with offices, garden &c. attached situated about a mile south of the House of Kinmundy. The property of William Ferguson Esq. of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/211 CLAYPOTS Claypots Claypots Claypots William Ferguson Esq. Proprietor Mr. Davidson Tenant Mr. William Cruickshank Tenant 031 Applies to a number of small crofts, situated a short distance from Newton. The property of William Ferguson Esq. of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/211 UPPER KINKNOCKIE Upper KinKnockie Upper KinKnockie Upper KinKnockie Mr. J Strachan Tenant W. Ferguson Esq. Proprietor 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm-house with offices, garden &c. attached situated about a mile north of KinKnockie Hill. The property of William Ferguson Esq. of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/211 [Page] 211 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/212 SMALL BURN Small Burn Small Burn Small Burn Mr. John Cordiner Smallburn Mr. J Shepherd Smallburn Mr. R Porter Stuartfield 031 Applies to a Stream which rises from a moss situated between the Parishes of Longside and Old Deer, and running north joins the burn of Ludquharn near the farm of Newton.
OS1/1/68/212 [Page] 212 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/213 LAVEROCKCAIRN Laverockcairn Laverockcairn Laverockcairn Mr. William Innes Tenant Alexander Gordon Esq. Proprietor 031 Applies to a croft, with dwelling house, offices, garden &c attached. Situated a short distance to the west of Skelmuir Hill. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/213 MOUNTPLEASANT Mountpleasant Mountpleasant Mountpleasant Mr. William Mess Tenant Alexander Gordon Esq. Proprietor Mr. William Innes Laverockcairn 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices, garden &c. attached. Situated on the east slope of Skelmuir Hill. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/213 Site of CAIRN [Mountpleasant] (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn (Site of) Cairn Mr. William Mess Mountpleasant Alexander Gordon Esq. Proprietor Mr. William Innes Laverockcairn 031 Mr. Mess removed a cairn from this site, but, found nothing of any importance.
OS1/1/68/213 [Page] 213 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/214 LAMMERBOGS Lammerbogs Lammerbogs Lammerbogs Mr. A Watt Tenant Alexander Gordon Esq. Mr. William Mess Mountpleasant 031 Applies to a small farm with dwelling-house offices, garden &c. attached. Situated at the north point of Ardallie Bog. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/214 ARDALLIE BOG Ardallie Bog Ardallie Bog Ardallie Bog Mr. A Watt Lammerbogs Mr. William Mess Mountpleasant Mr. R. Porter Stuartfield 031 Applies to a bog situated on the side of the turnpike road from Ellon to Mintlaw. The property of the lairds of Ellon and Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/214 WEST CRAIGHEAD West Craighead West Craighead West Craighead Mr. William Gordon Tenant Alexander Gordon Esq. Proprietor Mr. William Innes Laverockcairn 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm steading with dwelling house, offices, garden &c. attached. Situated close to the South end of Skelmuir Hill. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/214 [Page] 214 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/215 THE CRAIG The Craig The Craig The Craig Mr. W. Gordon West Craighead Mr. Jamieson Factor. Alexander Gordon Esq. Proprietor 031 This name applies to an isolated rock, situated a short distance North west of the farm of West Craighead. Two farms on the estate of Skelmuir, take their names from this rock.
OS1/1/68/215 CRAIGHEAD Craighead Craighead Craighead Mr. J. Adamson Tenant Mr. A Allan Humblecairn Mr. Alexander Gordon Proprietor 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm steading, with dwelling-house, garden &c. attached. situated half way between the farms of Humblecairn and West Craighead. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/215 HUMBLECAIRN Humblecairn Humblecairn Humblecairn Mr. A Allan Tenant Mr. J. Adamson Craighead Alexander Gordon Esq. Proprietor 031 Applies to a farm steading, with dwelling-house, garden &c. attached. situated at the south end of Skelmuir Hill. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/215 [Page] 215 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/216 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HERE A.D. 1867 [Backhill] Flint Arrowhead found here A.D. 1867 Flint Arrowhead found here A.D. 1867 Mr. J. Walker Backhill Mr. A Reid Tailor 031 While Mr. Walker was carting peats he found a large flint arrow-head, it measures about an inch and a half in length, and about half an inch in width. Mr. Walker has this arrow-head in his possession at present.
OS1/1/68/216 HUMBLE CAIRN Humble Cairn Humble Cairn Humble Cairn Mr. J. Walker Backhill Mr. A Reid Tailor Mr. A Allan Humblecairn 031 This cairn stands a short distance to the north east of the farm of Humblecairn, from which the farm takes its name.
OS1/1/68/216 BOG OF ARDALLIE Bog of Ardallie Bog of Ardallie Bog of Ardallie Mr. J. Walker Backhill Mr. A Reid Tailor Alexander Gordon Esq. Proprietor 031 Applies to a small farm, with dwelling-house, offices, garden &c. attached. situated on the side of the turnpike road from Ellon to Mintlaw, and close to the South end of the Ardallie Bog. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon.
OS1/1/68/216 [Page] 216 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/217 KINKOCKIE HILL KinKnockie Hill KinKnockie Hill KinKnockie Hill Mr. J. Walker Backhill Mr. A. Catto Bogengarrie Mr. G. Slessor Smallburn 031 Applies to a large hill situated at the south end of the parish, and about one mile east of the Church of Ardallie.
OS1/1/68/217 SMALLBURN Smallburn Smallburn Smallburn Mr. J. Walker Backhill Mr. A Catto Bogengarrie Mr. G. Slessor Smallburn 031 This name applies to a number of small crofts situated close to the road, leading from Clola to Cruden, the property of Mr. Ferguson of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/217 SMALLBURN HILL Smallburn Hill Smallburn Hill Smallburn Hill Mr. A Catto Bogengarrie Mr. J. Walker Backhill Mr. G Slessor Smallburn 031 Applies to a hill situated a short distance north of the farm of Bogengarrie. This Hill, derives its name from a burn of the same name, situated a short distance to the east of it.
OS1/1/68/217 [Page] 217 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/218 BOGENGARRIE Bogengarrie Bogengarrie Bogengarrie Mr. A. Catto Tenant William Ferguson Esq. Proprietor Mr. J. Walker Backhill 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm house, with offices, garden &c. attached. the property of William Ferguson Esq. of Kinmundy.
OS1/1/68/218 BLACK STOB Black Stob Black Stob Black Stob Mr. A. Catto Bogengarrie 031 Applies to a small hill situated between the farms of Backhill and Bogengarrie.
OS1/1/68/218 URNS FOUND HERE A.D. 1848 & 1866 [Black Stob] Urns found here A.D. 1848 & 1866 Mr. A. Catto Bogengarrie Mr. J. Walker Backhill Mr. A. Forrest Backhill 031 Mr. Catto says he found two urns, while removing stones from an old quarry on a small hill known by the name of Black Stob, he says the urns were in a good state of preservation when found, but, when exposed to the air, for a short time, they fell to pieces. They contained the usual blackish earth.
OS1/1/68/218 [Page] 218 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Black Stob'] - A prickle or small splinter of wood Jamieson.
OS1/1/68/219 THUNDER HOLE Thunder Hole Thunder Hole Thunder Hole Mr. J. Skene Bogengarrie (Parish of Cruden) 031 This name applies to a patch of Rough Pasture situated a short distance to the east of the farm of Backhill. There is no reason given why it is called Thunder Hole.
OS1/1/68/219 BACKHILL Backhill Backhill Backhill Mr. A. Forest Tenant Mr. A. Catto Bogengarrie Mr. J. Walker Backhill 031 Applies to a number of small farms situated on the south slope of KinKnockie Hill. The property of William Ferguson Esq. of Kinmundy
OS1/1/68/219 DEVIL'S HOWE Devils Howe Devils Howe Devils Howe Mr. J. Skene Bogengarrie (Parish of Cruden) Mr. A Catto Bogengarrie 031 Applies to a small howe situated a short distance south of the farm of Bogengarrie. No person Knows how it derived this name.
OS1/1/68/219 [Page] 219 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/220 [Page] 220 [Blank page]
OS1/1/68/221 DEN OF AULDMALING Den of Auldmailing Den of Auldmailing Den of Auldmailing The late Rev. [Reverend] J.B. Pratt 031 Applies to a hollow through which the Water of Cruden runs. situated about a half a mile west of the farm of Humblecairn.
OS1/1/68/221 CAIRNS [Den of Auldmaling] Cairns Mr. A. Faith Upper Hawkhillock Mr. G Penny Easter Hawkhillock 031 These Cairns are situated on the north slope of the Den of Adendraught. There is ten cairns to be seen at this place quite entire. They are not of very large dimensions. The late Revd. Dr.[Reverend Doctor] Pratt said that it was supposed the "Battle of Cruden" which began near the "Bay of Cruden", between the Scots & Danes ended here.
OS1/1/68/221 URNS FOUND HERE A.D. 1857 [cairn, Upper Hawkhillock] Urns found here A.D. 1857 Urns found here A.D. 1857 Urns found here A.D. 1857 Mr. A. Faith upper Hawkhillock Mr. G. Penny Easter Hawkhillock Mr. J Boddie Easter Hawkhillock 031 Mr. Faith found two urns when removing this cairn, they contained the usual blackish earth. The urns were destroyed.
OS1/1/68/221 Site of CAIRN [Upper Hawkhillock] Site of Cairn Site of Cairn Site of Cairn Mr. A. Faith upper Hawkhillock Mr. G. Penny Easter Hawkhillock Mr. J Boddie Easter Hawkhillock 031 Mr. Faith found two urns when removing this cairn, they contained the usual blackish earth. The urns were destroyed.
OS1/1/68/221 MAILING BURN Mailing Burn Described in documents of Cruden & Ellon Phs [Parishes]
OS1/1/68/221 [Page] 221 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/222 CAIRN [Upper Hawkhillock] Cairn Cairn Cairn Mr. A Faith Upper Hawkhillock Mr. G. Penny Easter Hawkhillock Mr. J. Boddie Easter Hawkhillock 031 This cairn stands in one of the fields adjoining the farm steading of the farm of Upper Hawkhillock.
OS1/1/68/222 UPPER HAWKHILLOCK Upper Hawkhillock Upper Hawkhillock Upper Hawkhillock Mr. A. Faith Tenant Mr. G Penny Easter Hawkhillock Mr. J Boddie Easter Hawkhillock 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm house, with offices garden &c. attached, situated a short distance west of the Church of Ardallie. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/222 EASTER HAWKHILLOCK Easter Hawkhillock Easter Hawkhillock Easter Hawkhillock Mr. G. Penny Tenant Mr. J. Boddie Tenant Mr. A Faith Upper Hawkhillock 031 Applies to two small farms situated close to the farm of Upper Hawkhillock. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/222 [Page] 222 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/223 CAIRN [Upper Hawkhillock] Cairn Cairn Cairn Mr. A. Faith Upper Hawkhillock Mr. G. Penny Easter Hawkhillock Mr. J Boddie Easter Hawkhillock 031 This Cairn is situated in one of the fields on the farm of Upper Hawkhillock, and close to the Den of Ardendraught.
OS1/1/68/223 URN FOUND HERE A.D. 1858 [cairn, Upper Hawkhillock] Urn found here A.D. 1858 Mr. A Faith Upper Hawkhillock 031 Mr. Faith while removing this Cairn found an urn, which contained a blackish Kind of earth.
OS1/1/68/223 STONE CIST AND URN FOUND HERE A.D. 1857 [cairn, Hawkhillock] Stone Coffin & Urn found here A.D. 1857 Mr. A. Faith Upper Hawkhillock 031 While Mr. Faith was removing this Cairn, he found a stone coffin and an urn which contained the usual blackish earth.
OS1/1/68/223 Sites of CAIRNS [Upper Hawkhillock] (Site of) Cairn Mr. A Faith Upper Hawkhillock 031 While Mr. Faith was removing this Cairn, he found a stone coffin and an urn which contained the usual blackish earth.
OS1/1/68/223 [Page] 223 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/224 HAWKHILLOCK Hawkhillock Hawkhillock Hawkhillock Mr. A Faith Upper Hawkhillock Mr. G Cooper Tenant Widow Dickie Tenant 031 Applies to a number of small crofts situated about half a mile west of Nether Hawkhillock. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/224 WATER OF CRUDEN Cruden Water Cruden Water Cruden Water Mr. A Faith Upper Hawkhillock Mr. G. Cooper Hawkhillock Mrs Dickie Hawkhillock 031 ; 032 The Cruden Water takes its rise in a moss situated a short distance west of the farm of West Craighead. It forms the boundary between the Parishes of Cruden and Old Deer, until it arrives opposite to the croft of Waulkmill. It enters the sea at a small fishing village called the Ward, in the parish of Cruden.
OS1/1/68/224 [Page] 224 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer [Note relating to 'Water of Cruden'] - Described in documents of Cruden parish. [Initialled] E.H.C.
OS1/1/68/225 FLINT ARROWHEAD FOUND HERE A.D. 1856 [Nether Backhill] Flint Arrowhead found here A.D. 1856. Mr. A. Cruickshank 031 Mr. Cruickshank found a flint arrow-head in one of the fields adjoining his steading.
OS1/1/68/225 NETHER BACKHILL Nether Backhill Nether Backhill Nether Backhill Mr. A Cruickshank Tenant Mr. J. Walker Backhill Mr. A Catto Bogengarrie 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices, garden &c. attached, situated a short distance east of the Church of Ardallie. The property of William Ferguson Esq. of Kinmundy
OS1/1/68/225 CHURCH (Quoad Sacra) [nr Nether Backhill] Church Church Church Mr. A. Cruickshank Nether Backhill Mr. Burgess Minister 031 This church was built in the year 1858, it contains 400 sittings. It is situated at the south end of the Parish of Old Deer, better Known by the inhabitants of the neighbourhood, as the quoad sacra Parish of Ardallie.
OS1/1/68/225 [Page] 225 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/226 MANSE [Q.S., nr Backhill] Manse Manse Manse Mr. Burgess Minister Mr. A Cruickshank Nether Backhill Mr. R Porter Stuartfield 031 Applies to a large and substantial building occupied by the Rev. [Reverend] Mr. Burgess, situated close to the Church of Ardallie.
OS1/1/68/226 SCHOOL [Backhill] School School School Miss Forbes School Mistress Mr. A Cruickshank Nether Backhill Mr. J Walker Backhill 031 This school is in connection with the Church of Ardallie. It is situated a short distance west of the church. There is about 60 or 70 scholars attend daily.
OS1/1/68/226 WAULKMILL Waulkmill Waulkmill Waulkmill Mrs. E. Gray Tenant Mr. A. Gray Nether Hawkhillock Mr. G. Forbes Mid Hawkhillock 031 Applies to a small croft situated at the south end of the parish. The property of Alexander Gordon Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/226 [Page] 226 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/227 NETHER HAWKHILLOCK Nether Hawkhillock Nether Hawkhillock Nether Hawkhillock Mr. A Gray Tenant Mr. G Forbes Mid Hawkhillock Mrs. E. Gray Waulkmill 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm house with offices, garden &c. attached. The property of Alexander Gordon Esq. of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/227 MID HAWKHILLOCK Mid Hawkhillock Mr. G. Forbes Tenant Mr. A. Gray Nether Hawkhillock Mrs. E. Gray Waulkmill 031 Applies to a large and substantial farm house situated a short distance north of the boundary, at the south end of the parish, the property of Alexander Gordon Esq., of Ellon Castle.
OS1/1/68/227 ANNIE FYVIE'S KNAP Annie Fyvies Knap Mr. A. Gray Nether Hawkhillock Mr. G. Forbes Mid Hawkhillock 031 Applies to a small hillock situated a short distance south of the farm of Mid Hawhillock. This hillock derives its name from an old woman that was buried on its Summit, her name was Annie Fyvie. The grave is quite visible.
OS1/1/68/227 [Page] 227 Aberdeenshire -- Parish of Old Deer
OS1/1/68/228 [Page] 228 Parish of Old Deer -- Aberdeenshire [Diagram/drawing of Sculptured Stone AT OLD DEER No. 1 & 2. included on page] The sculptured stone shown opposite is no longer in existence: it was unfortunately broken up for materials, and built into the wall of a Farm-house on The Estate of Pitfour: had not the active Secretary of the Scotch Antiquarian Society, Mr. John Stuart, discovered it, and had the attached Sketch taken at the time, (see Vol: [Volume] I of his magnificient work on the Sculptured Stones of Scotland) no record of this very fine Stone would have been preserved at all. In his notice on it, Mr. Stuart says "nothing is known as to the precise original locality of the Stone at Deer, although it is very likely to have been near it's present site. When I saw it a few years ago, it was placed at the end of a range of building which formed part of the [continued on page 229]
OS1/1/68/229 [Page] 229 Parish of Old Deer -- Aberdeenshire [Sculptured Stone continued from page 228] Cistercian Abbey of Deer founded in 1218 by William Cumming, Earl of Buchan, but I have been informed that since that time all the remains of the Abbey have been removed. The cross is incised on the face of the pillar. which is a Whin Stone.." [Sculptured Stones of Scotland, Page 6. Vol. [Volume] I.] The Cross appears to have been 4 feet long by 2 1/2 feet broad; on the reverse side of the Stone are incised the well known "Crescent with Sceptre", and another object about the meaning of which Antiquarians differ: it may have been intended represent a Buckle. [Signed] E.H. Courtney Capt R.E. [Captain Royal Engineers] DATE ON LAST PAGE
OS1/1/68/230 [Page] 230 Parish of Old Deer -- Aberdeenshire [Signed] E.H. Courtney Capt R.E. [Captain Royal Engineers] 12th March 1870
OS1/1/68/231 [Page] 231 OS1/1/68 NAME BOOK of the PARISH OF OLD DEER CO. [COUNTY] ABERDEEN (Eastern Division) AND BANFFSHIRE DETACHED. (Eastern Division of Aberdeenshire) [Stamped] ORDNANCE SURVEY M.S. STORE SOUTHAMPTON 14 MAR [MARCH] 1899
OS1/1/68/232 [Page] 232 INDEX TO OLD DEER In The Co. [County] Aberdeen & Banff (Detached) (Eastern Division) Name -- Page Auchrynie -- 6 Auchmachar -- 21 Aiky Brae -- 68 Abbey Bridge -- 69 Abbey Kiln -- 70 Abbey of St. Mary of Deer (Remains of) -- 74 Aden House -- 83 Annieswell -- 120 Annochie Moss -- 142 Auchtyclair -- 147 Alton of Coynach -- 165 Auchnavaird -- 198 Ardallie Bog -- 214 Annie Fyvie's Knap -- 227 Blackness -- 10 Braeside of Fetterangus -- 16 Brownhill -- 19 Backhill of Auchmachar -- 22 Bridge of Tillypestle -- 25 Bruxie -- 26 Braehead of Gaval -- 38 Brakeshill -- 48 Bridge of Hythie (Ruins of) -- 53 Bank -- 56 Bankhill -- 57 Bruxie -- 59 Burnside of Benwells -- 61 Bachill of Parkhouse -- 62 Bruxie Lodge -- 63 Bridgend -- 70 Br. [Branch] Bank -- 82 Bridge of Deer -- 85 Bulwark Moss -- 93 Backhill of Clachriach -- 94 Benwells -- 96 Bulwark -- 99 Biffie Brewery -- 103 Brae of Biffie -- 108 Bulwark School -- 113 Backhill of Bulwark -- 114 Barry -- 114 Burntbrae -- 121 Brownhill -- 137 Burn of Annochie -- 138 Brownhill Quarry -- 138 Brown Hill -- 141 Bogiesavock -- 148 Backhill of Slampton -- 149 Backhill of Kinaldie -- 150 Balring -- 157 Baluss Bridge -- 159 Barnyards -- 164 Bridgestone -- 164 Brae of Coynach -- 166 Bog of Durie -- 169 Burn of Luduqharn -- 176 Barons' Inn -- 177 Blackbrigs -- 183 Blackpots -- 188 Brocks' Brae -- 190 Brocks Moss -- 190 Burnend -- 193 Burngrains -- 198 Burn of Fortree -- 198 Bronze Sword found here 1850 -- 200 Bog of Ardallie -- 216 Bogengarrie -- 218 Black Stob -- 218 Backhill -- 219 Camp (Remains of) -- 32 Camp Howe -- 9 Cryla -- 10 Cairn -- 20 Cairndale -- 23 Coilsmore -- 23 Cairnorchies -- 27 Cairndale -- 59 Cartlehaugh -- 66 Cummins' Craig -- 67 Church of Deer (Remains of) -- 79 Church -- 90 Clachraich Castle -- 91 Chapel Fold -- 97 Cairn (Remains of) -- 98 Cairn -- 99 Cock Burn -- 103 Congregational Chapel -- 109 Croft of Knock -- 112 Crichie Mill (Corn) -- 123 Chapel Well -- 123 Chapel Hillock -- 123 Crichie House -- 126 Cairncummer Quarry -- 137 Cairncummer -- 138 Clochcan -- 139 Clochcan -- 140 Clochcan Moss -- 140 Crichie Wood -- 145 Coynach Hill -- 165 Cowie's Well -- 166 Clola -- 172 Craig Well -- 180 Craigiehill -- 180 Cortiecram -- 192 Crichie Moss -- 196 Croft of Cortiecram -- 203 Claypots -- 211 Craighead -- 215 Cairns -- 221 Cairn -- 222 Church -- 225 Devils' Brig -- 13 Den of Howie -- 27 Drinnies Wood -- 28 Deer Park -- 33 Dummill -- 48 Drowning Stone -- 56 Dens -- 128
OS1/1/68/233 [Page] 233 Index Continued Names -- Pages Damhead -- 128 Denward Burn --140 Den Ward -- 145 Denward -- 146 Dunshillock -- 155 Derran Howe -- 163 Derran Burn -- 163 Derran Bank -- 164 Durie -- 176 Dirkem -- 189 Dikeside -- 208 Devil's Howe -- 219 Den Of Auldmaling -- 221 East Nether Cabra -- 8 Episcopal Chapel (Private) -- 34 Easter Toux -- 42 East Lodge -- 49 East Knock -- 161 Easter Pettymarcus -- 174 East Gibseat -- 180 Elrick Moss -- 184 Ebrie Burn -- 197 Easter Hawkhillock -- 222 Flint Arrowhead found here. 1869 -- 4 Flint Arrowhead found here 1869 -- 8 Flint Arrowhead found here 1863 -- 12 Flint Arrowheads found here 1859 -- 15 Flint Arrowhead found here 1853 -- 15 Fetterangus Church (Remains of) -- 29 Fernie Knap -- 31 Fetterangus -- 41 Flint Arrowheads found here 1869. -- 93 Flint Arrowhead found here 1858 -- 94 Flint Arrowhead found here 1860 -- 94 Flint Arrowhead found here 1859 -- 95 Frostybrae -- 95 Frosty Brae -- 96 Flint Arrowhead found here 1869 -- 106 Free Church -- 108 Flint Arrowhead found here 1809 -- 114 Flint Arrowheads found here 1864 -- 117 Flint Arrowhead found here 1829 -- 119 Flint Arrowhead found here 1869 -- 119 Flint Arrowhead found here 1859 -- 121 Flint Axe found here 1868 -- 150 Free Church -- 171 Flint Arrowheads found hereabouts -- 187 Flint Arrowheads found here -- 187 Flint Arrowheads found here -- 190 Flint Arrowheads found hereabouts -- 194 Flint Arrowheads found here -- 200 Flint Arrowheads found here 1848 -- 201 Flint Arrowhead found here 1867 -- 216 Flint Arrowhead found here 1856 -- 225 Gaval -- 11 Greens of Gaval -- 16 Glenaden Distillery -- 103 Greenmoss -- 142 Great North Of Scotland Railway (Formartine and Buchan Section) -- 156 Greenmire -- 176 Green of Annochie -- 179 Greencroft -- 192 Grian's Well -- 89 Hillhead -- 17 Hythie -- 40 Hythie Moss -- 45 Hardyards -- 47 Howe of Bruxie -- 55 Hotel -- 90 Hareshillock -- 113 Hill of Dens -- 120 Hogshillock -- 140 Honeyneuk -- 148 Hotel -- 156 Home Farm -- 175 Hill of Blackpots -- 188 Heads of Skelmuir -- 195 Humblecairn -- 215 Humble Cairn -- 216 Jock's Hill -- 122 Knappertyhillock -- 19 Knapperty Hill -- 20 Kirkton (In Ruins) -- 40 Knock -- 105 Kirkhill Moss -- 115 Kirkhill Pendicle -- 117 Kirkhill -- 120 King's Crown -- 125 Kiddshill Moss -- 133 Kidds Hill -- 133 Kiddshill Quarry -- 134 Kiddshill -- 141 Kinaldie -- 150 Kinaldie Hill -- 152 Kinmundy House -- 175 Kinnochie -- 209 Kinnochie Hill -- 217 Little Skillymarno -- 3 Loudon Wood -- 25 Little Parkhouse -- 62 Little Elrick -- 116 Little Kirkhill -- 117 Little Windhill -- 119 Lambhillock -- 121 Littlemill -- 128 Little Mains -- 130 Little Kiddshill -- 134 Longleigh -- 139 Lambhillock -- 149 Little Annochie -- 177 Logan Hill -- 189 Little Blackpots -- 196 Laverockcairn -- 213 Lammerbogs -- 214 Mill Of Gaval (Corn) -- 38 Mains of Gaval -- 38 Meikle Pot of Gaval -- 39 Milltown of Gaval -- 43 Middle Hythie -- 46 Mains of Pitfour -- 47 Mill of Hythie (Corn) -- 53 Mill of Clachraich (Corn) -- 60 Mill of Bruxie (Corn) -- 60 Market Stance -- 68 Manse -- 85 Mains of Clachraich -- 92 Mains of Biffie -- 101 Mill of Aden (Corn) -- 104 Manse -- 110 Manse -- 110 Manse -- 112 Moss-side -- 115 Mains of Crichie -- 126
OS1/1/68/233 I have checked page numbers lost in fold with original pages - Bizzy
OS1/1/68/234 [Page] 234 Index Continued Names -- Pages Mid Greenbrae -- 134 Mains of Annochie -- 140 Marnabogs -- 148 Mill of Aden (Woollen) -- 160 Millbreck (Woollen Mill) -- 165 Milltown of Clola -- 166 Mill of Clola -- 167 Millhill -- 169 Mill Hill -- 170 Manse -- 171 Mussel Butts -- 179 Muirlandhillock -- 183 Mains of Elrick -- 189 Monfothie -- 192 Moss-side of Crichie -- 195 Mill of Elrick (Corn) -- 197 Moss-side -- 207 Mountpleasant -- 213 Maling Burn -- 221 Manse -- 226 Mid Hawkhillock -- 227 Nether Cabra -- 8 North Auchmachar -- 21 North West Lodge -- 22 North Lodge -- 28 North Ugie Water -- 37 New Bridge of Gaval -- 39 Nether Toux -- 42 Newton of Hythie -- 45 North East Lodge -- 48 Nether Hythie -- 51 Newtown of Bruxie -- 60 Newmill of Bruxie -- 61 Nichol Hill -- 95 North Greenbrae -- 115 North Kiddshill -- 133 North Lodge -- 157 Nether Aden -- 158 Newton of Skelmuir -- 173 North Crofts of Cortiecram -- 195 North Howe -- 205 Nether Kinnochie -- 210 Newton -- 211 Nether Backhill -- 225 Nether Hawkhillock -- 227 Old Deer, Parish -- 1 Observatory -- 28 Old Bridge of Gaval -- 39 Overtown of Bruxie -- 55 Old Maud Bridge -- 55 Old Deer (Village) -- 83 Pitfour Mill (Saw) -- 33 Pitfour House -- 34 Post Office -- 41 Post Office -- 82 Poorhouse -- 86 Parkhouse -- 98 Parkhouse Hill -- 102 Parsonage -- 104 Police Station -- 109 Post Office -- 109 Pot of Pitlurg -- 159 Post Office -- 167 Pettymarcus -- 174 Pettymarcus Wood -- 176 Post Office -- 177 Pitchbrae -- 200 Quithel -- 63 Quartalehouse -- 106 Quarryhead -- 173 Quhomery Burn -- 206 Riding School -- 33 Rifle Range -- 35 Redstones -- 203 Skillymarno -- 4 Site of Lady Well -- 5 Shepherd's Hill -- 5 Stone Whorls found here 1869 -- 7 Stone Battle Axes found here 1861 -- 7 Stone Circle -- 9 South Skillymarno -- 9 Site of Supposed Camp -- 9 Stone Circle (Remains of) -- 11 Shelters -- 12 Site of Stone Circle -- 12 Site of Cairn -- 20 Stone Cist and Human Remains found here 1839 -- 20 Stone Circle (Remains of) -- 21 South Auchmachar -- 22 Site of Cairn -- 23 South Mains of Bruxie -- 26 Shepherds Lodge -- 27 Stone Circle -- 31 School -- 41 St. John's Well -- 43 School -- 57 Stone Ball found here 1869 -- 59 Stockbridge -- 63 Site of Maiden's Well -- 64 Sapling Brae -- 64 Saplingbrae -- 64 Site of Abbey Well -- 65 South Lodge -- 66 Site of Erd Houses -- 68 Site of Chapel -- 78 School (Parish) -- 86 School (Girls) -- 86 St. Drostane's Chapel (Scottish Episcopal) -- 89 Site of Cairn -- 92 Site of Lady Well -- 95 Site of Cairn -- 97 Stone Cist and Urn found here 1839 -- 97 Site of Stone Circle -- 97 Stone Cists found here 1851 & 1869 -- 98 Site of Cairn -- 99 Stone Cist found here 1855. -- 99 Site of Cairn -- 100 Stone Circle -- 102 South Lodge -- 104 South Ugie Water -- 105 Stonybrae -- 105 Stone Axe found here 1850 -- 106 Scroghill -- 107 Scrog Hill -- 107 Stuartfield -- 110 School -- 111 School -- 111 Smiddyhillock -- 116 Site of Annie's Well -- 119 Site of Cairn -- 122 Site of supposed Chapel -- 124 Site of Erd Houses -- 125
OS1/1/68/235 [Page] 235 Index Continued Names -- Pages Site of St. Drostane Well -- 126 Site of Stone Circle -- 127 Stone Cist & urn found here 1853 -- 129 Site of White Cow of Crichie -- 129 Smithy Croft -- 130 Site of Stone Circle -- 131 South Greenbrae -- 136 Site of Cairncummer -- 137 Slampton -- 139 School -- 141 Slamptonpark -- 143 Slamptonhill -- 143 Site of Pedlers' Graves -- 145 Skipleton -- 147 Site of Cairn -- 151 Stone Cist & Urn found here 1814 -- 151 Site of Cairn -- 151 Stone Cist & Urn found here 1814 -- 151 South Auchtylair -- 152 Skelmuir -- 152 Stone Cist & Urn found here 1839 -- 153 Station (Railway) -- 156 Station Lodge -- 157 Stone Cist & Urn found here 1849 -- 167 Stone Hammer found here 1849. -- 168 Stone Axe found here -- 169 Stone Ball found here 1869 -- 169 School -- 174 Stone Celt found here 1867 -- 175 Stone Celts found here 1867 -- 179 Stone Celt found here 1864 -- 181 Stone Axe found here 1867 -- 184 Stone Cist & Urn found here 1859 -- 185 Site of Erd Houses -- 185 Stone Axe found here 1857 -- 186 Spunkie's Knowe -- 186 Site of Erd Houses -- 186 Stone Cist & Urn found here 1847 -- 187 Stone Ball found here 1839 -- 187 Site of Cairn -- 189 Site of Cairn -- 191 Stony Knap -- 191 Site of Cairn -- 191 Stone Axe found here 1864 -- 192 Skelmuir Hill -- 193 Site of Cairn -- 193 Scabbit Meadow -- 197 Site of Cairn -- 199 Stone Axe found here 1868 -- 199 Stone Ball found here 1868 -- 199 South Auchnavaird -- 200 Site of Cairn -- 200 Stone Ball found here 1865 -- 201 South Howe -- 205 Stonekiln -- 205 Standing Stones -- 207 Stodfold -- 207 Site of Cairn -- 208 Site of Sister Wells -- 209 Small Burn -- 212 Site of Cairn -- 213 Smallburn -- 217 Smallburn Hill -- 217 Site of Cairn -- 223 Stone Cist and Urn found here 1857 -- 223 Sites of Cairns -- 223 School -- 226 Tillypestle -- 19 Toux -- 31 Toux -- 47 The Lake -- 65 Temple of Theseus (Miniature) -- 66 Tumuli -- 67 The Saugh Tree -- 70 Tow Stone -- 80 Tillery -- 88 Teuchitfold -- 113 Trefynie -- 127 Turfhill -- 147 Tollybrae -- 149 Taitswell -- 155 Tait's Well -- 155 The Kirns -- 194 The Slack -- 208 The Craig -- 215 Thunder Hole -- 219 Urns found here 1857. 1868. -- 6 Upper Cabra -- 11 Urns found here 1839 -- 13 Upper Benwells -- 96 Urn found here -- 100 U.P. [United Presbyterian] Church -- 111 Upper Crichie -- 122 Urn found here -- 129 Upper Mains of Crichie -- 146 Urn found here 1838 -- 169 Urns found here 1849 -- 193 Urn found here 1854 -- 194 Urn found here 1844 -- 208 Urn found here 1844 -- 209 Upper Kinnochie -- 211 Urns found here 1848 -- 218 Urns found here 1857 -- 221 Upper Hawkhillock -- 222 Urn found here 1858 -- 223 Urns found here 1857 -- 223 White Cow Wood -- 4 White Cow Lodge -- 10 West Lodge -- 25 Waterhill of Bruxie -- 61 Wuddy Hill -- 72 West Lodge -- 84 Waulkmill -- 85 Wind Hill -- 98 Wester Biffie -- 101 Windhill -- 107 Walkenway -- 143 West Crichie -- 146 Wester Knock -- 163 West Gibseat -- 184 Windy Hill -- 185 Wolfstone -- 196 Windfold -- 206 Wester Pettymarcus -- 206 West Craighead -- 214 Waulkmill -- 226