List of names as written Various modes of spelling Authorities for spelling Situation Description remarks
Old Deer
Old Deer
New Statistical Account Aberdeenshire
Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland
Valuation Roll, Aberdeenshire
013 ; 014
021 ; 022
030 ; 031
Old Deer. A parish partly in Banffshire, but chiefly in Aberdeenshire. It lies almost in the centre of the district of Buchan, and is strictly compact, its Banffshire section being a detached pendicle of a quondam great barony (the Barony of Fetterangus), whose main body constitutes the parish of St. Fergus. Old Deer parish contains the villages of Old Deer, Stewartfield, Fetterangus, and Mintlaw. It is bounded by the parishes of Strichen, Lonmay, Longside, Cruden, Ellon & New Deer. Its length south-eastward is 11 miles, and its breadth 5 1/2 miles It is watered by two streams called the North Ugie Water, and the South Ugie Water, which afterwards form the River Ugie. The principle landowners are Colonel Ferguson of Pitfour. George Baird Esqr. of Strichen. James Buchan Esqr. of Auchmacoy. William Ferguson Esqr. of Kinmundy Alexander Gordon Esqr. of Ellon. James Russell Esqr. of Aden. John T. Gordon Esqr. of Nethermuir. The Managers of the Boys' and Girls' Hospital. Aberdeen. The Managers of the Royal Informary. Rev. [Reverend] John S. Burnett. and others. The parish is traversed by the Turnpike road from Aberdeen to Fraserburgh, by the Turnpike Road from Banff to Peterhead, and by the Formartine & Buchan Section of the Great North of Scotland Railway. This parish is the seat of a presbytery in the synod of Aberdeen. It formerly was a prebend of the cathedral of Aberdeen : but then wanted its present Banffshire Section, and comprised the present parish of New Deer. Patron the Crown:
[Continued on page 2]

Continued entries/extra info

[Page] 1
Old Deer Parish -- Aberdeenshire

  Transcribers who have contributed to this page.

CorrieBuidhe- Moderator, tadpolefarm, June Lobban

  Location information for this page.