Essential maintenance
HES is currently undertaking essential maintenance on our web services. This will limit access to services in the following ways:
- Subscription access for HES online services will be unavailable (Scran, NCAP)
- Image purchasing options will be limited (Canmore, Britain from Above, Scran, NCAP)
- Any enhanced services which require a log in will be unavailable (My Canmore, Britain from Above contributions, Scran contribute)
General access to these services will all continue. Enquiries will still be able to be submitted.

We anticipate services to be restored from Monday 1st February 2021.

Bathymetrical Surveys of Scottish Lochs, 1898-1909

The Bathymetrical Surveys of the Fresh-Water Lochs of Scotland, 1898-1909, provides a comprehensive understanding of the depths and nature of some 562 inland Scottish lochs. This 10 year project was conceived and organised by oceanographer, Sir John Murray, and includes 60,000 soundings, the results of which provide the first detailed charts of the loch depths. The surveys were widely recognised at the time they were conducted and placed Scotland at the forefront of limnology.

Name Description
Bathymetrical Survey, Volume 1

Volume 1 consists of numeous articles on various aspects of the surveys including topographical, geological, physical, chemical and biological viewpoints. The articles also contain comparisons between Scottish lochs and the lakes of other countries as well as other theoretical considerations.

Bathymetrical Survey, Volume 2, Part 1

Volume 1, Part 1 of the survey contains information on the lochs of the following basins: Forth, Tay, Inver, Roe, Kirkaig, Polly, Garvie, Morar, Ewe, Shiel, Ailort, nan Uamh, Conon, Shin, Naver, Borgie, Kinloch, Hope, Beauly, Lochy, and Ness.

Bathymetrical Survey, Volume 2, Part 2

Volume 2, Part 2 contains information on the lochs of the following basins: Brora, Helmsdale, Wick, Wester, Heilen, Dunnet, Thurso, Forss, Laxford, Scourie, Badcall, Duartmore, Broom, Gruinard, Gairloch, Torridon, Carron, Alsh, Aline, Leven, Oban, Feochan, Seil, Melfort, Eachaig, Doon, Girvan, Stinchar, Ryan, Galdenoch, Luce, Bladenoch, Cree, Fleet, Dee (Kirkcudbrightshire), Urr, Nith, Annan, Tweed, Monikie, Lunan, Dee (Aberdeenshire), Spey, Lossie, Findhorn, Nairn, Clyde, and Etive. It also includes the reservoirs of the Forth basin and the lochs of Bute, Lismore, Mull, Benbecula, North Uist, Lewis, Orkney, and Shetland.