Some of our data services may be unavailable for a short period of time on Tuesday the 27th of March. This is due to essential maintenance.


Date Masters/mistresses names Number of horses Horses liable in duty Horses not liable Duty
1797 Montrose
4 Sep 1797 Mr Scott of Newmainswalls 1 1 £0.2.0
Alexander Stewart of Newmainswalls 4 4 £0.8.0
George Carnegie of Charleton 5 3 2 £0.6.0
Alexander Mitchel Claylake 3 3 £0.6.0
Capt. [Captain] Carnegy of Kinnaber 4 4 £0.8.0
James Walker Newbigging 8 8 £0.16.0
William Allan Littlemill 7 7 £0.14.0
William Baillie Wards 2 2 £0.4.0
David Middleton Collegehall 2 2 £0.4.0
Mr Clark Denhead 1 1 £0.2.0
John May Mill of Kinnebar 4 4 £0.8.0
William Alexander Waterside Kinnebar 2 2 £0.4.0
John Taylor Waterside Kinnebar 2 2 £0.4.0
William Falconer Waterside Kinnebar 4 4 £0.8.0
William Fairweather Hills of Kinnebar 2 2 £0.4.0
James Mitchel Hills of Kinnebar 2 2 £0.4.0
John Nanfay Hills of Kinnebar 1 1 £0.2.0
James Straton Links 2 2 £0.4.0
William McDonald Links 1 1 £0.2.0
Alexander Alexander Links 2 2 £0.4.0
George Black Links 2 2 £0.4.0
John Brand Links 2 2 £0.4.0
Thomas Alexander Links 2 2 £0.4.0
John Gordon Links 1 1 £0.2.0
John Hagston Links 2 2 £0.4.0
Robert Ouchterlony Dubton 1 1 £0.2.0
Alexander Thomson Lochend 2 2 £0.4.0
Carry 77 75 2 £7.10.0
John Duncan of Rosebank 6 6 £0.12.0

Transcribe other information


Report of Work Horse Tax, per 36 Geo. III. Cap. xv. in the Shire of Forfar for the year to 5 April 1798 By Robert Dunbar Surv. [Surveyor]

  Transcribers who have contributed to this page.

Kate51- Moderator, Alison James- Moderator, DavidPaterson, SheilaW

  Location information for this page.

Aberlemno Parish, Airlie Parish, Angus County, Anwoth Parish, Arbirlot Parish, Arbuthnott Parish, Arngask Parish, Auchterhouse Parish, Balmaclellan Parish, Balmaghie Parish, Barry Parish, Benholm Parish, Borgue Parish, Brechin Parish, Buittle Parish, Careston Parish, Cleish Parish, Colvend And Southwick Parish, Coupar Angus Parish, Craig Parish, Crossmichael Parish, Dalry Parish, Dun Parish, Dundee Parish, Dunnichen Parish, Dunnottar Parish, Durris Parish, Edzell Parish, Farnell Parish, Fern Parish, Fettercairn Parish, Fetteresso Parish, Fordoun Parish, Forfar Parish, Garvock Parish, Girthon Parish, Glamis Parish, Glenbervie Parish, Guthrie Parish, Inverarity Parish, Inverness-shire County, Kells Parish, Kelton Parish, Kettins Parish, Kincardineshire County, Kingoldrum Parish, Kinnaird Parish, Kinneff Parish, Kinnell Parish, Kinnettles Parish, Kinross Parish, Kinross-shire County, Kirkbean Parish, Kirkcudbright Parish, Kirkcudbrightshire County, Kirkden Parish, Kirkgunzeon Parish, Kirkmabreck Parish, Kirkpatrick Durham Parish, Kirkpatrick Irongray Parish, Kirriemuir Parish, Laurencekirk Parish, Lintrathen Parish, Lochlee Parish, Lochrutton Parish, Lunan Parish, Lundie Parish, Maryculter Parish, Marykirk Parish, Maryton Parish, Menmuir Parish, Minnigaff Parish, Monifieth Parish, Monikie Parish, Montrose Parish, New Abbey Parish, Newtyle Parish, Nigg Parish, Oathlaw Parish, Orwell Parish, Panbride Parish, Parton Parish, Portmoak Parish, Rerrick Parish, Rescobie Parish, Ruthven Parish, Stracathro Parish, Strachan Parish, Tannadice Parish, Tealing Parish, Terregles Parish, Tongland Parish, Troqueer Parish, Twynholm Parish, Urr Parish