Scheduled Website Maintenance 14/07/20 00:00 – 04:00GMT – There will be periods of time during this window when this website will be unavailable.


List of names as written Various modes of spelling Authorities for spelling Situation Description remarks
TAIN [municipal burgh] Tain
Mr G.T. Munro, Town Clerk.
E.H. Matheson, esq, Collector of Taxes
William Ross, esq, Agent British Linen Company Bank
Revd. [Reverend] L. Rose, Parish Minister.
Commissioners Report on Burgh Boundaries 1832.
041 The Municipal Burgh of Tain is coextensive with the Boundary of the Parliamentary Burgh of Tain: its limits are defined as follows:- From St Marys Well on the north west of the town in a straight line through the Ravens Well to a point five hundred yards beyond the same; thence in a straight line drawn due south east to the Scotsburn Road; thence in a straight line drawn due east to the Inverness Road; thence in a straight line drawn due north east to the River of Tain; thence down the River of Tain to the point at which the same joins the sea; thence along the sea shore to St. Marys Well. Tain unites with Dingwall, Cromarty, Dornoch, Wick, and Kirkwall in sending a member to parliament. The Municipal Parliamentary Burgh of Tain contains about [6530] statute acres.

Continued entries/extra info

[page] 3
County of Ross -- Municipal Burgh of Tain, in the parish of Tain.

[note] The name and character of writing in page 1 is sufficient to be written on the Plan

  Transcribers who have contributed to this page.

Bizzy- Moderator, Peter Reynolds

  Location information for this page.