Essential website maintenance

On Tuesday 11 June, a small number of our websites started experiencing some infrastructure-related issues. We are working to restore the functionality affected by these issues and anticipate this will be resolved by next week.

Dumfriesshire volume 12

Page List of names as written Various modes of spelling Authorities for spelling Situation Description remarks Continued entries/extra info Transcriber's notes
OS1/10/12/1 [Page] 1 Parish of Dumfries Plan A INDEX Names of Objects -- Pages Allanbank -- 14 Acrehead -- 44 Brookfield Cottage -- 7 Brownhall -- 33 Barnkin -- 53 Bush -- 54 Castlebank Cottage -- 14 Comyns Castle (site of) -- 15 Castle Hill -- 16 Crichton Royal Institution -- 21 Crichton Institution (Southern Counties Asylum) -- 22 Cherrytrees -- 24 Cairnfield -- 37 Craigend -- 38 Dumfries and Galloway Royal Infirmary -- 9 Dark Walk -- 19 Dockfoot Quay -- 20 Dockhead Quay -- 20 Dock Well -- 4 Georgetown Quarry -- 39 Georgetown -- 39 Hospital or Poors House -- 10 Hannahfield -- 25 High Kelton -- 47 High Town -- 49 Jennygill -- 37 Kingholm -- 27 Kingholm Bank Cottage -- 28 Kingholm Cottage -- 28 Kingholm Quay or New Quay -- 28 Kingholm Mill (Woollen) -- 29 Keltonhead Well -- 46 Keltonhead -- 47 Kelton Mains -- 47 Kelton Cove -- 50 Ladys Well -- 33 Ladyfield -- 34 Lochar Moss -- 41 Lochbank -- 44 Manse -- 8 Maryfield -- 17 Mountainhall -- 17 Maidenbower -- 35 Maidenbower Craig -- 35 Moss-side -- 38 Mossband -- 38 Midpark -- 43 Nithbank -- 11 Nithbank Cottage -- 11 Netherwood -- 45 Netherwood Mains -- 45 Netherwood Bank -- 45 Paradise -- 16 Physicians House -- 24 Place of Craigs -- 53 Quay -- 30 Reidsdub -- 23 Reids Dub -- 23 River Nith -- 31 Rosebank -- 34 Rigghead -- 43 Rosehall -- 43 St Michael's Church -- 3 Ship Inn -- 30 Site of Old St Michael's Church -- 3 Site of South Port -- 5 St Michael's Lodge -- 7 The Saddle -- 16 The Dock -- 19 Trohoughton School -- 40 Trohoughton -- 50 Wellgreen -- 33 Whitehill -- 37 Well Cottages -- 40 Wintriphead -- 51 Roman Camp -- 52 Trohoughton Hill -- 51 Swan Vennel -- 4 The Stank -- 4 St----- [page damaged]
OS1/10/12/2 [Page] 2 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/3 Site of old ST MICHAEL'S CHURCH St. Michaels Church Old church St. Michaels church Rev. [Reverend] R. Wallace D.D. [Doctor of Divinity] map of Dumfries R. Kemp Esqr. - 055 [Situation] On the North East Side of St. Michaels Street. A large plain built edifice with tower used as belfry, surmounted by a Spire of considerable height in the tower is a good. clock having 3 faces, The interior of the church is well fitted up with pews galleries etc, sufficiently Commodious with sittings about 1200 average number of Congregation about 850 Communicants about 525 The Clergyman is the Rev [Reverend] R, Wallace D.D. [Doctor of Divinity] whose stipend amounts to £310 beside Manse & a Glebe containing about 7 acres of land. The cemetery that Surrounds this Church is famed for the vast number and the singular variety of its monuments, being according to calculation about 2100. In the N.E. [North East] corner of the Cemetery stands a splendid mausoleum over the remains of the poet Burns, it was erected in 1815 at a cost of about £1450, defrayed by public subscription, sanctioned by a contribution of 50 guineas from George IV. Also in the centre of the grave yard is a monument built of hewn granite over the Ashes of 3 martyrs who were murdered during the persecuting of the Stewarts. This Church was built in 1745 upon the site of the Old church dedicated to St Michael, the patron Saint of Dumfries and was pulled down in 1745 for the suplanting of the present edifice. The date cannot be Ascertained when the Old Church, dedicated to St Michael, was erected, but the following is a quotation from the Chalmers' Caledonia "We first See the churches of Dumfries town mentioned in record during the twelth century, when the principal Church had been dedicated to St Michael the patron Saint of the parish"
OS1/10/12/3 [Page] 3
OS1/10/12/4 DOCK WELL Dock Well Dock Well John Bell Map of Dumfries 055 [Situation] About 6 chains SW. [South West] of St. Michaels Church A good spring well situated on the East side of the Dock hence the name.
OS1/10/12/4 SWAN'S VENNEL Swan's Vennel Swan's Vennel J.H. Bell 055 [Situation] About 3 chains S S W. [South South West] of St. Michaels Church A short narrow lane leading from St. Michael St. to the Dock it is well paved and clean
OS1/10/12/4 THE STANK The Stank The Stank Robert Kemp Esqr. W. Wilson 055 [Situation] Nine chains S W. [South West] of St. Michaels Church A Small portion of the river Now where a part of the Quay forms an Angle & where coal boats are usually moved to unload the cargoes, This name applied originally to a small drain in [which] flowed a cross the Dock, from the dockWell to the river, It is now applied by sailors & others to the part of the river above described, near which the same stream issues a covered drain into the Nith
OS1/10/12/4 [Page] 4 Form 136 Page 71-- Dock Well 71 -- Swan's Vennel 71-- The Stank
OS1/10/12/5 Site of SOUTH PORT [Dumfries] (site of) Kirkgate Port South Port John McCormack J.H. Bell 055 [Situation] On St. Michaels Street opposite to St. Michaels Church The site of the principal gateway or port which led to and from the town on the South side through the fortification wall and was the high road that led to the South & to England. This gate stood across the road which is now St Michael Street near the S. [South] West corner of the Church yard. It was demolished about the beginning of the Eighteenth century about the time when the Hospital or poor house was erected.
OS1/10/12/5 [Page] 5 -- Dumfries
OS1/10/12/6 ST MICHAEL STREET St. Michael Street St. Michael Street J. H. Bell Map of Town 055 [Situation] The SE [South East] Part of the town of Dumfries For description see Name List for Plan B.
OS1/10/12/6 [Page] 6 Form 136 Page 72 -- St. Michael Street
OS1/10/12/7 ST MICHAEL'S LODGE St. Michaels Lodge St. Michaels Lodge St. Michaels Lodge Mr. McClure Mr. Thomson Robert Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] About 15 chains S. E. [South East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries . A neat cottage residence 2 stories high with a small garden attached presently occupied by a caretaker and is the property of Mr McClure of Laurel Mount.
OS1/10/12/7 BROOKFIELD COTTAGE Brookfield Cottage Brookfield Cottage Mr. Johnston Mr. Thomson 055 [Situation] About 1/4 mile S.E. [South East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries A small neat cottage in good repair with a small park attached Occupied by Miss Johnston who is also proprietor.
OS1/10/12/7 [Page] 7 -- Parish of Dumfries
OS1/10/12/8 MANSE [ph, nr St Michael's Church, Dumfries] Manse Manse Manse Mr. Thomson J McCormack Robert Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] On the S.W. [SouthWest] side of St. Michaels Street nearly opposite to St. Michaels church. A good house two Stories high having a small garden attached also on the opposite side of the Street are the Office houses with a Glebe of land attached. Occupied by the Rev. [Reverend] R.Wallace D.D. [Doctor of Divinity] Minister of St. Michael's Church.
OS1/10/12/8 [Page] 8 -- Parish of Dumfries Form 136 Page 61 -- Manse
OS1/10/12/9 DUMFRIES AND GALLOWAY ROYAL INFIRMARY Dumfries and Galloway Royal Infirmary Dumfries and Galloway Royal Infirmary Infirmary Mr. Thornburn Annual Report of Infirmary Map of Town 1819 055 [situation] About 14 chains S. [South] by E. [East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries, A large plain building 3 stories high and in good repair established in 1777, and incorporated by Royal Charter 1807, its yearly number of patients for the last 8 or 10 years averages about 500, its annual number relieved or dismissed about 460 and daily average of patients in the infirmary about 40, The Infirmary is supported by Donations, annual subscriptions and the interest of funds left or bestowed for its behoof from the Counties of Dumfries KirKcudbright & Wigtown. Its annual income averages about £1000 expenditure much about the same. It is managed by a weekly committee, 2 physicians, 2 surgeons, one house surgeon one chaplain 2 inspectors one Treasurer and one Matron.
OS1/10/12/9 [page] 9 Parish of Dumfries
OS1/10/12/10 HOSPITAL or Poor's House [Dumfries] Dumfries Hospital Dumfries Hospital Mr. Goodall Mr. Richardson Matron Map of Town 1819 Small Map of Dumfries 055 [Situation] On the S.W. {South West] side of St. Michaels Street opposite St. Michaels Church. A tolerably sized building erected 1753 by James and William Moorheads Merchants Dumfries, its average number of inmates from the last 20 or 30 years are about 30 young and old for each year, and out door pensioners about 20. The young are all well educated and put to trades at their own choice. This poors house or hospital is supported by landed property bequeathed by several Gentlemen, also by Donations & public subscriptions. The annual income averages about £568 expenditure much about the same. It is managed by a Committee, and Matron who resides in the Hospital.
OS1/10/12/10 Hospital or POOR'S HOUSE [Dumfries] Poor's House Hospital or Poor's House Mr. Goodall Mr. Richardson Matron Map of Town 1819 Small Map of Dumfries 055 [Situation] On the S.W. {South West] side of St. Michaels Street opposite St. Michaels Church. A tolerably sized building erected 1753 by James and William Moorheads Merchants Dumfries, its average number of inmates from the last 20 or 30 years are about 30 young and old for each year, and out door pensioners about 20. The young are all well educated and put to trades at their own choice. This poors house or hospital is supported by landed property bequeathed by several Gentlemen, also by Donations & public subscriptions. The annual income averages about £568 expenditure much about the same. It is managed by a Committee, and Matron who resides in the Hospital.
OS1/10/12/10 [Page] 10 -- Dumfries Parish Form 136 Page 59 -- Dumfries Hospital
OS1/10/12/11 NITHBANK Nithbank Nithbank Nithbank Nithbank Thomas Thomson Esqr. John B. Hepburn Esqr. Map of Town 1819 R. Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] About 22 Chains S. S. E. [South South East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries A range of 5 neat and well constructed Cottages 2 stories high with gardens attached, Occupied by respectable families the property of different proprietors. -
OS1/10/12/11 CASTLEBANK COTTAGE Castlebank Cottage Castlebank Cottage Castlebank Cottage Thomas Thomson Esqr. John B Hepburn Esqr. R. Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] About 36 Chains S.S. E. [South South East] of St. Michaels church, Dumfries A neat cottage residence of the (Elizabethan style of Architecture) 2 stories high and in good repair Occupied by Mrs Thomson the property of Thomas Thomson Esqr.
OS1/10/12/11 NITHBANK COTTAGE Nithbank Cottage Nithbank Cottage Nithbank Cottage -- Mitchel Thomas Thomson Esqr. R. Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] About 23 chains S.S. E. [South South East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries. A small cottage one story high Occupied by -- Mitchell foreman Gardener to Thomas Kennedy Esqr, Nursery & Seedsman, the property of T. Kennedy Esqr.
OS1/10/12/11 [Page] 11 -- Sheet 7 No. [Number] 4 -- Parish of Dumfries
OS1/10/12/12 CASTLEBANK MILLS Castlebank Mills (Corn, Flour & Sawing) Castlebank Mills Thomas Thomson Esqr. J. B. Hepburn 055 [Situation] About 3/8 mile S.S. E. [South South East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries A large building consisting of Corn, Flour and Sawing Mills It is worked by a Steam Engine of 12 horse power high pressure. The corn and flour department is capable of grinding about 1500 bushels of oats & wheat per week. The property of Thomas Thomson & Co [Company].
OS1/10/12/12 [Page] 12 -- Parish of Dumfries Form 136 Page 78 - Castlebank Mills
OS1/10/12/13 CASTLEDYKES Castledykes Castledykes Castledykes Castledykes J. B. Hepburn Thomas Thomson Esqr. Map of Town 1819 R. Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] About 45 chains S. [South] by E. [East] of St. Michaels Ch. [Church] A plain handsome house with portico in front, having suitable out offices with ornamental ground tastefully planted with shrubbery and large trees, and a Small well cultivated garden attached. The grounds are handsomely varied by banks & terraces which is partly natural and partly artificial, part of the grounds being the site of an old quarry the refuse heaps etc contributed to the irregularity of the grounds which the proprietor formed into terraces etc. The Horticultural Society of Dumfries hold their annual Show of flowers general for some time past within these ornamental grounds, within the grounds is a Green house vinery etc also a neat cottage occupied by the Gardener. The name Castledykes was originally applied to the fortifications that defended Cummins Castle which stood here on Castle Hill. The house is the property and residence of John B. Hepburn Esqr.
OS1/10/12/13 [Page] 13 -- Parish of Dumfries
OS1/10/12/14 ALLANBANK Allanbank Allanbank Allanbank Allan Anderson Esqr. Thomas Thomson R.Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] 32 chains S.S. E. [South South East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries A handsome Cottage residence (partly of the Elizabethan style architecture) 2 stories high with some small out Offices attached. The property and residence of Allan Anderson Esqr.
OS1/10/12/14 CASTLEDYKES COTTAGE Castledykes Cottage Castledykes Cottage Castledykes Cottage -- Wallace Esqr. J. B. Hepburn Esqr. R. Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] About 1/2 Mile S. by E. [South by East] of St. Michaels Church A neat Cottage one Story high with some small out offices and a Garden attached. The property & residence of -- Wallace Esqr.
OS1/10/12/14 [Page] 14 -- Parish of Dumfries Form 136 Page 68 -- Allanbank 68 -- Castledykes Cottage
OS1/10/12/15 Site of COMYN'S CASTLE Site of Cummins Castle Site of Cummins Castle Site of Cummins Castle Site of Cummins Castle Castle of the Comyns Cummins Castle Castel Dyiks J. B. Hepburn Esqr. Thomas Thomson Esqr. John McCormack R. Kemp Esqr. Sinclairs Stat Acct [Statistical Account] Vol [Volume] 5 P [Page] 141 Bleau's Atlas Vol [Volume] 6 published 1662. 055 [Situation] About 5/8 mile S. by E. [South by East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries The site of an Ancient Castle which had been once the Stronghold of the family of the Cummins. No track or vestige now remains to indentify the Spot it stood except the Moat or ditch which defended it. Mr Hepburn proprietor of the ground points out the place called Castle Hill which tradition records as being the site of the Castle. The ditch or moat which defended it is pretty entire on East & South sides. It has been partly defaced on the other sides, what remains of it is very deep and wide, water still remaining in part of it. No doubt it had been much deeper originally. On the map of Nithsdal In Bleau's Atlas published 1662 it is called Castel Dyik & shown as a fortified Castle yet there is reason to believe that no part of the castle had been standing at that time although shown as a complete castle by Bleau as had there been a castle at that time the name would not be Castle Dikes therefore there is reason to think that there were no remains but the fortifications which surrounded the castle as the name Castle Dikes would seem to import.
OS1/10/12/15 [Page] 15 -- Sheet 7 T [Trace] No [Number] 16 [Note] Comyns is the ancient mode of spelling the name it is therefore adopted on the Plan.
OS1/10/12/16 CASTLE HILL Castle Hill Castle Hill J.B Hepburn Esqr. Thomas Thomson Esqr. 055 [Situation] About 5/8 mile S. by E. [South by East] of St. Michaels Church An Eminence or portion of high ground on which tradition records, that Cummins Castle once stood. It was surrounded and defended by a very deep ditch or Moat still pretty entire on the East and South sides that on the other sides being partly defaced.
OS1/10/12/16 THE SADDLE The Saddle The Saddle J.B. Hepburn Esqr. R. Kemp Esqr 055 [Situation] About 52 chains S. by E. [South By East] of St. MIchaels Church A small Knoll planted with trees in the ornamental grounds of Castledykes.
OS1/10/12/16 PARADISE Paradise Paradise Paradise John B. Hepburn Esqr. R. Kemp Esqr. Picture of Dumfries by Mr McDiarmid 055 [Situation] About 5/8 mile S. by E. [South by East] of St. Michaels Church A small rocky Knoll planted with trees, On the top is a smooth level area or platform.
OS1/10/12/16 [Page] 16 Form 136 Page 70 -- Castle Hill 70 -- The Saddle 70 -- Paradise
OS1/10/12/17 MARYFIELD Maryfield Maryfield Maryfield John McFarlane A. Allan Esqr. R. Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] 46 chains S.S.E. [South South East] of St. Michaels Church A plain handsome residence 2 Stories high with portico in front having out houses and garden attached and about 30 acres of good land. The property and residence of J. McFarlane Esqr
OS1/10/12/17 MOUNTAINHALL Mountainhall Mountainhall Mountain Hall Mountain Hall Mrs Thornburn Thomas Thomson Esqr Map of Town 1819 Advertisements of Grassland R. Kemp Esqr 055 [Situation] 46 chains S.S.E. [South South East] of St. Michaels Church A good plain cottage residence 2 Stories high with out houses an garden attached Occupied by Mrs Thornburn.
OS1/10/12/17 Parish of Dumfries -- [Page] 17
OS1/10/12/18 [Page] 18 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/19 THE DOCK The Dock The Dock The Dock The Dock Promenade The Dock J.B Hepburn Esqr. Thomas Thomson map of Town 1819 Small map of Dumfries 055 [Situation] Along the River nith at the South end of the town of Dumfries A tract of low level ground extending along the River Nith from Castledykes to Nith Street. It is a fertile tract of pasture ground and is the public property of the town of Dumfries. It is generally let every year as a grass park by the Corporation of Dumfries. Along the sides of this are public walks that on the North side is sheltered by a row of trees the walk on the other side winds along the Nith
OS1/10/12/19 DARK WALK Dark Walk Dark Walk J.B. Hepburn Esqr. R. Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] About 5/8 of a mile S. by E. [South by East] of St. Michaels church This name applies to a walk which is constructed partly along the bottom and side of the Moat which surrounds Cummins Castle, this Moat or dyke forms a deep ravine the sides of which are planted with trees.-
OS1/10/12/19 [Page] 19 -- Sheet 1 N 13 -- Parish of Dumfries
OS1/10/12/20 DOCKFOOT QUAY Dockfoot Quay Dockfoot Quay Dockfoot Quay Peter Mundell John Irland R. Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] About 1/2 Mile S. by E. [South by East] of St. Michaels church A small quay or landing place where boats of about 40 or 50 tons can come up. Coal and Lime are the chief imports and Agricultural produce the exports. -
OS1/10/12/20 DOCKHEAD QUAY Dockhead Quay Dockhead Quay Dockhead Quay Peter Mundell John Ireland R. Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] Along the River nith about 7 chains W. [West] of St. Michaels church A Quay extending along the Dock at the South end of the White Sands and at the North end of The Dock Vessels of about 40 or 50 tons [burthen] can come up to this quay. Coal and Lime are the chief imports Agricultural produce the exports.
OS1/10/12/20 [Page] 20 -- Parish of Dumfries Form 136 Page 71 -- Dockfoot Quay Dockhead Quay
OS1/10/12/21 CRICHTON ROYAL INSTITUTION Crichton Royal Institution Crichton Royal Institution Crichton Royal Institution W.A.F. Brown Esqr. Annual Report (1849) Gazetteer of Scotland (1845) 055 [Situation] About 7/8 mile S.S.E. [South South East] of St. Michaels church Dumfries A large building 3 and 4 stories high built of red sandstone. It was built about 10 years ago, the fund appropriated to the building of it was a bequest of upwards of £100,000 by the late Dr. [Doctor] Crichton of Friars Carse. The Institution was originally designed to be an university. It is a large and commodious Asylum for lunatics. It is incorporated a few years since by Act of Parliament. The building to which the above name particularly applies is lately (since the completion of the Southern Counties Asylum) appropriated to patients who pay for their accommodation. Rates of board paid varies from 30 pounds to £350 per annum. The affairs managed by Trustees and a board of directors. The resident Officers are a Treasurer, a resident Physician, a Matron a Medical assistant and a house Steward. This department is capable of Accommodating 120 patients. It is at present full
OS1/10/12/21 [Page] 21 -- Sheet 9 Trace 2
OS1/10/12/22 CRICHTON INSTITUTION [Southern Counties Asylum] Crichton Institution Southern Counties Assylum Crichton Institution Southern Counties Assylum W.A.F Brown Esqr. Annual Report 055 [Situation] 1 Mile S.S.E. [South South East] of St. Michaels church Dumfries A large building built of red sand stone erected in 1848-9 at a cost of £10,000. It is a lunatic Asylum in connection with the Crichton Royal Institution the building is 2 and 3 stories high. It is exclusively for the accommodation of paupers or patients who pay the same rates of Board as paupers viz £15 per annum exclusive of clothing. It is Capable of accommodating at present about 160 patients, but when the whole design will be completed which will consist of another wing with the extension of the centre range it will be capable of accommodating about 400 patients. It will consist of patients from the three Southern Counties (as the name imports) in from Wigtonshire Kirkcudbrightshire & Dumfriesshire. It was resolved at a meeting of influential members from the above counties that these districts should cooperate in carrying the objects of this institution & if necessary to gave towards the expenditure. It was hence named the Southern Counties Asylum.
OS1/10/12/22 [Page] 22 -- Sheet T 6 -- Dumfries Form 136 Page 81 -- Crichton Institution Southern Counties Asylum
OS1/10/12/23 REIDSDUB Reid's Dub Reid's Dub Reidsdub Reidsdub Mr Halliday A. Allen Esqr. John H. Bell Advertisement for Sale 055 [Situation] About 7/8 Mile S.E. BY S. [South East by South] of St. Michaels church A small cottage in good repair occupied by an agricultural Laborer, on the lands of Rosebank and convenient to a marshy pool to which the name also applies. -
OS1/10/12/23 REID'S DUB Reids Dub Reids Dub Mr. Halliday John H. Bell 055 [Situation] About 74 chains S.E. by S. [South East by South] of St. Michaels church Dumfries. A Small marshy pool on the lands of Rosebank near a small cottage known by the same name,- It took the name from a man named Lewis Reid who formerly lived here.
OS1/10/12/23 Parish of Dumfries -- Sheet 7 Trace 3 -- [Page] 23
OS1/10/12/24 CHERRYTREES Cherrytrees Cherrytrees Cherrytrees J. Robson Thomas Thomson R. Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] 7/8 Mile S. by E. [South by East] of St. Michaels church Dumfries A row of Small cottages in good repair one story high and are chiefly Occupied by Mechanics, The property Mr. Wood of Hannahfield. -
OS1/10/12/24 PHYSICIAN'S HOUSE [Chrichton Royal Inst.] Physicians House Physicians House Physicians House W.A.F. Brown Esqr. Thomas Thomson Esqr. R. Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] 7/8 mile S. E. by S. [South East by South] of St. Michaels church A good plain and well constructed house 2 stories high and in good repair. It was built in 1841 in connection with the Crichton Royal Institution built for the use of the resident Medical Officer. The present Physician is W.A.F Brown Esqr. M. D. [Doctor of Medicine ], attached to the house are some Small outoffices and a plot of Ornamental grounds.
OS1/10/12/24 Sheet 9 Trace 5 & 2 Parish of Dumfries -- [Page] 24 Form 136 Page 85-- Cherrytrees 83-- Physicians House
OS1/10/12/25 HANNAHFIELD Hannahfield Hannahfield Thomas Wood Esqr. R. Kemp Esqr. 055 [Situation] About 65 chains S. by E. [South by East] of St. Michaels Church A neat cottage residence two Stories high and in good repair having out houses and some ornamental ground attached Occupied by Thomas Wood Esqr. of Hannahfield
OS1/10/12/25 [Page] 25
OS1/10/12/26 [Page] 26 Form 136 Page [Blank page]
OS1/10/12/27 KINGHOLM Kingholm Kingholm Kingholm J.B. Hepburn Thomas Thomson Gazetteer of Scotland 055 [Situation] From 5/8 to 1 1/4 miles S. [South] of St. Michaels church Dumfries A tract of low level ground adjoining the River Nith, and extending from Castledykes or Dockfoot Quay to Kingholm Quay. It is protected from the inundation of the river by a strong bank of earth. it is the property of Mr. Wood of Hannayfield, formerly it was the property of the town of Dumfries and in olden times it is said that the young men of Dumfries and districts adjoining were wont to Assemble to play at public games. The following is a quotation from Sinclair's. Stat. acct. [Statistical Account]. "A field near Castledykes still retains the name of Kingholm, which may either have been imposed upon it by Bruce, after the Slaughter of Comyn or may have been gradually formed by corruption from Comyns Holm a name which it once bore."
OS1/10/12/27 Dumfries Parish -- [Page] 27
OS1/10/12/28 KINGHOLM BANK COTTAGE Kingholm Bank Cottage Kingholm Bank Cottage Kingholm Bank Cottage M. Wood Robert Scot Esqr. D. Dickson 055 [Situation] About 5/8 Mile S. [South] of St. Michaels Church A neat Cottage built house in good repair with garden attached the property of Mr. Wood of Hannahfield. -
OS1/10/12/28 KINGHOLM COTTAGE King holm Cottage King holm Cottage King holm Cottage Kingholme M. Wood Robert Scot Esqr. D. Dickson Ainslies map of Kirkt. [Kirkcudbright] 055 [Situation] Kingholm Cottage 7/8 mile S. by W. [South by West] of St. Michaels church Dumfries A farm house and out houses in good repair which formerly had a farm of land attached. The property of Mr. Wood of Hannahfield. The house is at present rented & occupied by a mechanic and the land is occupied by the proprietor Mr. Wood of Hannahfield.
OS1/10/12/28 KINGHOLM QUAY Kingholm Quay or New Quay Kingholm Quay or New Quay Kingholm Quay or New Quay Robert Scott Esqr. M. Wood John Bell Dumfries 055 [Situated] 1 1/4 miles S. [South] of St. Michaels church Dumfries A Small village on the eastern banks of the River Nith and about one Mile S. [South] of Dumfries, , It's houses are well built varying from 1 to 2 stories in height. It has 3 public houses a grocers shop, a Bone Mill & a Woollen Mill the latter giving employment to about 150 persons. Close to the village on the River Nith is a small Quay affording a Mooring place for about 12 vessels of about 60 or 80 tons burthen. -
OS1/10/12/28 [Page] 28 Form 136 [Page] 89 -- Kingholm Bank Cottage 89-- Kingholm Cottage 93-- Kingholm Quay [Note] This village is generally Called "Kingholm Quay " in writing but in Colloquial usage it is almost invariably named the "New Quay"
OS1/10/12/29 KINGHOLM MILL (Woollen) Kingholm Mill Kingholm Mill Robert Scott Esqr. Mr. Wood Esqr. 055 [Situation] In Kingholm Quay Village. A large woollen mill situated at the south side of Kingholm Quay, it is three stories in height and in good repair. the machinery with which it is fitted, is of the most modern and improved description and is wrought by Steem. The average number of hands employed are about 150 including Wool pickers Spinners, weaver Cloth dresses &c. The principal trade is the Manufactory of cloth for trousers, Plaids [Pilots] &c. This Mill is the property of Robert Scott Esqr. of Kingholm Quay. Near it is a bone mill for grinding bone dust for manure & is also the property of R. Scott Esqr.
OS1/10/12/29 Parish of Dumfries -- [Page] 29
OS1/10/12/30 QUAY [Kingholm Quay] Quay Quay Mr. Little D. Dickson 055 [Situation] On the W. [West] side of Kingholm Quay Cottage A small but safe harbour on the river Nith affording a mooring place to about 12 vessels of about 60 or 80 tons burden each.The imports are coals Bones Guano Limber and various kinds of Merchandise goods and - Exports - are all Kinds of farming produce.-
OS1/10/12/30 SHIP INN [Kingholm Quay] Ship Inn Ship Inn Sign Board Mrs. Anderson occupier 055 [Situation] In the north end of the village of Kingholm or New Quay A well Known Inn or public House Occupied by Mrs. Anderson
OS1/10/12/30 [Page] 30 Form 136 Page 95 -- Quay Ship Inn
OS1/10/12/31 RIVER NITH River Nith Nith River River Nith Plan 27 B. Ainslies map. 1820 R. Kemp Esqr. Dumfries 049; 055 [Situation] Running Southerly past Dumfries &. Kingholm Quay village. A considerable river which rises at the S.W. [South West] end of the parish of New Cumnock in Ayrshire and runs thro' [through] the western portion of Dumfriesshire After receiving the river Cluden at Lincluden College, It then becomes the boundary between the counties of Kirkcudbright and Dumfries, and is considerably enlarged by the above river, then passing the town of Dumfries, at length falling into the Solway Firth. The tide swells the river as far up as the town of Dumfries and is navigable for vessels of from 60 to 100 tons burden The chief imports are Lime Guano &. Coals. Exports are all kinds of farming produce to Liverpool &c.
OS1/10/12/31 [Page] 31
OS1/10/12/32 [Page] 32 Form 136 Page [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/33 BROWNHALL Brownhall Brownhall Brownhall Robert Scott Esqr. David Dickson James Hanning 055 [Situation] About 1 1/4 Miles S.S.E. [South South East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries A large farm house and outhouses (including a thrashing machine) in good repair, with a farm of land attached, The property of Miss Brown of Edinburgh. -
OS1/10/12/33 LADY'S WELL Ladys Well Ladys Well Ladys Well Robert Beck D. Dickson Robert Scott Esqr. 055 [Situation] About 1 Mile S. By. E. [South by East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries A small spring well on the farm of Ladyfield, and situated about 6 chains S. [South] of the above farm house.
OS1/10/12/33 WELLGREEN Wellgreen Wellgreen Wellgreen David Dickson Robert Scott Esqr. Robert Beck. 055 [Situation] About 1 1/8 Miles S. by E. [South by East] of St. Michaels Ch. [Church]. A group of detached houses situated on the road side leading from Dumfries to the Old Quay. The houses are all well built and in good repair Occupied chiefly by Agricultural Labourers The property of Mr. Forsythe Dumfries
OS1/10/12/33 [Page] 33
OS1/10/12/34 LADYFIELD Ladyfield Ladyfield David Dickson Mr. Thornburn 055 [Situation] About 1 Mile S. by E. [South by East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries. A small but neat mansion house two Stories high and in good repair with suitable Offices, and a small farm of land attached, the property of Mr. Forsythe of Dumfries.
OS1/10/12/34 ROSEBANK Rosebank Rosebank Rosebank Rosebank Mr. Thornburn Mr. Halliday Robert Scott Mr. Bailiff Hat Manufacturer. 055 [Situation] About 4 1/8 Miles S.E. [South East] of St Michaels Church. A neat Mansion house and out house in good repair, with a farm of land attached, the property of Mr. Fisher of Edinburgh.
OS1/10/12/34 [Page] 34 Form 136 Page 99
OS1/10/12/34 Rosebank - the description originally started ' A large farm house', this has been stroked out and replaced with ' A neat mansion house'.
OS1/10/12/35 MAIDENBOWER Maidenbower Maidenbower John Robson John Watt 055 [Situation] About 1 1/4 Miles S E by E [South East by East] of St. Michaels Church A farm house two stories high with out houses (including a thrashing machine) in good repair, and a farm of land attached. Occupied by John Robson The property of Mr. McMullan Esqr.
OS1/10/12/35 MAIDENBOWER CRAIGS Maidenbower Craig Maidenbower Craig Maiden bower Craig Maiden-bower Crag Mr. Gibson Mr. Gillespie Sinclairs Stat. Acct. [Statistical Account] vol. [volume] 5. P.[Page] 143 Sinclairs Stat. Acct. [Statistical Account] vol. [volume] 5. P. [Page] 132 055 [Situation] About 1 1/8 Miles S E by E. [South East by East] of St. Michaels Church A large rock curiously hollowed on the farm of Maidenbour. Mr. Gibson of Jennygill & Mr. Gillespie of Hightown say that it is traditionally handed down as having been once famous for being the Scene of some rites practised as a test of Verginity hence the name "Maiden Bower Craig" John McCormick an intelligent man a native of Dumfries & remarkable for his knowledge of the traditions of the neighbourhood relates the following as the true tradition concerning Maidenbower Craig. A young & beautiful woman of Dumfries attracted the notice of a great & powerful feudal Lord & he having unprincipled used every endeavour to seduce her, She to escape his treachery retired from her home & concealed herself in the above rock untill She died there; after which yearly on the anniversary of her death the maidens of Dumfries were wont to assemble here. dressed in white to commemorate the event of her death & Strew the place with flowers. It subsequently became a test of virginity for a young woman to pass the opening between the rocks which leads into the recess where tradition records the young woman died. (over)
OS1/10/12/35 Parish of Dumfries -- [Page] 35
OS1/10/12/36
OS1/10/12/36 [Page] 36 -- Parish of Dumfries Form 136 Page [Continued from previous page] In Sinclair's Stat. Acct. [Statistical Account] vol. [volume] 5. P. [Page] 132 is the following notice of this rock. "About a mile eastward from the town is a craig or rock curiously hollowed, Known by the name of the Maiden-bower Crag. It is said to have been famous in the times of Druidism; and may have received its name from being the scene of some rites practised as a test of virginity."
OS1/10/12/37 JENNYGILL Jennygill Jennygill James Gray Mr. Gibson 055 [Situation] About 2 1/4 Miles S.E. [South East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries A farm house and outhouses in good repair, with a farm of land attached. Occupied by Mr. Gibson The property of Mr. Douglas of Bad. -
OS1/10/12/37 WHITEHILL Whitehill Whitehill William Edgar John Gray 055 [Situation] About 2 1/4 Miles S.E. by E [South East by East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries A Small farm house and out houses in good repair with a farm of land attached. Occupied by Mr. Edgar The property of Mr Douglas of Bad. -
OS1/10/12/37 CAIRNFIELD [farm] Cairnfield Cairnfield John Jenning James Gray 055 [Situation] About 2 Miles S.E. by E [South East by East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries A farm house and outhouses (including a thrashing Machine) in good repair with a farm of land attached, Occupied by John Jenning the property of Mr. Douglas of Bad,
OS1/10/12/37 Parish of Dumfries -- [Page] 37 -- T [Trace] 2
OS1/10/12/38 MOSS-SIDE Moss-side Moss-side James Gray Thomas Hanning 055 [Situation] About 2 Miles S.E. by E. [South East by East] of St. Michaels Church A farm house and out houses (including a thrashing Machine] in good repair, with a farm of land attached. Occupied by Thomas Hanning The property of Mr. Douglas Esqr. of Bad. -
OS1/10/12/38 MOSSBAND Mossband Mossband Mr. Hanning James Gray 055 [Situation] About 1 7/8 Miles S.E. by E. [South East by East] of St. Michaels Church An old farm house and out houses which formerly had a farm of land attached but is now united with that of Moss-side. The houses are presently occupied by Agricultural Labourers
OS1/10/12/38 CRAIGEND Craigend Craigend Mr. T. Hanning Mr. J. Gray 055 [Situation] About 1 3/4 Miles S.E. by E. [South East by East] of St. Michaels Church A small farm house with outhouses in good repair, with a farm of land attached. The property of Mr. Douglas Esqr. of Bad. -
OS1/10/12/38 [Page] 38 -- Parish of Dumfries Form 136 Page 108 -- Moss-side 107 -- Mossband 107 -- Craigend
OS1/10/12/39 GEORGETOWN QUARRY Georgetown Quarry Georgetown Quarry Georgetown Quarrry Mr. Hanning J.Gray Robert Scott 055 [Situation] About 1 5/8 Miles S.E. by E. [South East by East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries A large red sand stone quarry on the farm of Craigend, and Situated close to Georgetown village, the property of Mr. Douglas Esqr. of Bad. -
OS1/10/12/39 GEORGETOWN Georgetown Georgetown Thomas Hanning John Jenning 055 [Situation] About 1 5/8 Miles E.S.E. [East South East] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries A small hamlet situated about 1 1/2 Miles East of Dumfries, its houses are all well built one story high & in good repair. chiefly Occupied by Agricultural Labourers. It has two public houses for the retailing of Spirits, and a few huckster shops &c. Population about 150. This Village is the property of Mr. Douglas Esqr. of Bad. -
OS1/10/12/39 Parish of Dumfries -- [Page] 39
OS1/10/12/40 SCHOOL [nr Trohaughton] Trohoughton School Trohoughton School Trohoughton School James Gray John Jenning Dumfries Currier 055 [Situation] 2 Miles S. [South] East of St. Michaels Church Dumfries. A parochial school house of the farm of Trohoughton. the average number of scholars attending it are about 75 who are educated in the ordinary branches taught in English schools, including (Mathematics (Classics The Teacher is James Gray whose salary amounts to £17. besides School fees. a free house &. Garden
OS1/10/12/40 GORE MOSS Gore Moss Gore Moss James Gray J. Jenning 055 [Situation] 1 1/2 Miles S. [South] East of St. Michaels Church. A small stripe of Moss on the farm of Craigend, and situated about 25 chains [East] --- of the farm house. -
OS1/10/12/40 [Page] 40 -- Parish of Dumfries Form 136 Page 104 -- Trohoughton School
OS1/10/12/41 LOCHAR MOSS Lochar Moss Lochar Moss Lochermoss Lochar Moss Lochar Moss William Huchiston Stat. Acct. [Statistical Account] of Dumfries Stat. Acct. [Statistical Account] by Sinclair vol. [volume] 5 Stat. Acct. [Statistical Account] by Sinclair vol. [volume] 2 Gazateer of Scotland 056 [Situation] About 1 3/4 Miles E by S. [East by South] of St. Michaels church Dumfries A large extent of Moss Situated about 1 Mile East of Dumfries, great quantities of Peats are cut here which supplies the greater part of the town of Dumfries, and neighbourhood with fuel, It is supposed by some to have had been an inlet of the Solway Frith.
OS1/10/12/41 Parish of Dumfries -- [Page] 41
OS1/10/12/42 [Page] 42 Form 136 Page [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/43 MIDPARK Midpark Midpark John Mitchell Mr. Harg 055 [Situation] 1 3/8 S.E. [South East] of St. Michaels Church - A farm house and out houses in good repair, with a farm of land attached the property of Dr. [Doctor] Bell Dumfries. -
OS1/10/12/43 RIGGHEAD Rigghead Rigghead Mr. Harg John Scott 055 [Situation] About 1 1/4 Miles S.S.E [South South East] of St. Michaels church A ew cot houses in good repair, on the farm of Rose hall. The property of Miss Dickson of Annan
OS1/10/12/43 ROSEHALL Rosehall Rosehall [William] Harg John Stott 055 [Situation] About 1 1/2 Miles S.S.E [South South East] of St. Michaels church A large farm house and suitable out houses (including a thrashing Machine) in good repair, with a farm of land attached, the property of Miss Dickson Annan.
OS1/10/12/43 Parish of Dumfries -- [Page] 43
OS1/10/12/44 ACREHEAD Acrehead Acrehead Mr. Harg John Stott 055 [Situation] About 1 5/8 miles S.S.E. [South South East] of St. Michaels church A large farm house and suitable outhouses (including a thrashing Machine) in good repair, with a farm of land attached, the property of Mr. Harestains. -
OS1/10/12/44 LOCHBANK Lochbank Lochbank Lochbank Lochbank Robert Nicholson Mr. Harg Rent receipts R. Scott Esqr. 055 [Situation] About 1 5/8 Miles S.E. by S. [South East by South] of St. Michaels church. A large farm house and out houses (including a thrashing Machine) in good repair, with a farm of land attached, Occupied by Robert Nicholson, the property of Miss Millar. -
OS1/10/12/44 Page] 44 -- Parish of Dumfries Form 136 Page 114 -- Acrehead 115 -- Lochbank
OS1/10/12/45 NETHERWOOD Netherwood Netherwood Nr. Wood W. McEwen Esqr. David Dickson Ainslies Map of Kirkt. [Kirkcudbright] 055 [Situation] About 2 miles S.S.E. of St. Michaels church A small but neat mansion house of the Modern style of Architecture, two Stories high and in good repair with officies a garden, and a Small portion of Ornamental ground attached. The property and residence of William McEwen Esqr. of Netherwood. -
OS1/10/12/45 NETHERWOOD MAINS Netherwood Mains Netherwood Mains Netherwood Mains John Stott Esqr. David Dickson James Milligan 055 [Situation] About 2 Miles S.S.E. [South South East] of St. Michaels church A large farm house and out houses (including a thrashing machine) in good repair, with a farm of good arable land attached. The property John Stott Esqr.
OS1/10/12/45 NETHERWOOD BANK Netherwood Bank Netherwood Bank James Milligan John Stott 055 [Situation] About 2 1/8 Miles S.E. by S. [South East by South] of St. Michaels Church A large farm house and outhouses (including a thrashing Machine) in good repair, and a farm of good arable land attached, Occupied by James Milligan The property of Miss McQueen of Edinburgh, -
OS1/10/12/45 Parish of Dumfries -- [Page] 45
OS1/10/12/46 KELTONHEAD WELL Keltonhead Well Keltonhead Well John Stott David Dickson 055 [Situation] About 2 3/8 Miles S by E. [South by East] of St. Michaels Church. A large Spring Well on the farm of Keltonhead. This is the only well in this locality that retains its water thro' [through] the Summer Season and therefore all the farmers [here] under the name of Kelton have [the] right to water their Cattle at [this well]
OS1/10/12/46 WELL COTTAGE Well Cottage Well Cottage John Stott Mr Dickson 055 [Situation] About 2 3/8 Miles S. by E. [South by East] of St. Michaels Church A small Cottage in good repair on the farm of Keltonhead Situated about 2 chains N. [North] of the above Spring Well hence the name
OS1/10/12/46 [Page] 46 -- Parish of Dumfries Form 136 Page 119 -- Keltonhead Well 119 -- Well Cottage
OS1/10/12/47 KELTONHEAD Keltonhead Keltonhead [John] Stott David Dickson 055 [Situation] About 2 1/2 Miles S.S.E. [South South East] of St. Michaels church Dumfries A large farm house and out houses in good repair, with a farm of land attached, the property of John Stott who is also Occupier -
OS1/10/12/47 KELTON MAINS. Kelton Mains Kelton Mains Mr. Stott Mr. Burns 055 [Situation] About 2 1/2 Miles S.S.E [South South East] of St. Michaels church Dumfries A small Mansion house two stories high, and offices a garden and a small portion of ornamental ground attached, Occupied by Mr Burns The property of - Walker Esqr. of Woodlands. -
OS1/10/12/47 HIGH KELTON High Kelton High Kelton John Stott Mr. McEwen 055 [Situation] About 2 5/8 Miles S.S.E [South South East] of St. Michaels church Dumfries A large farm house and out houses (including a thrashing Machine) in good repair, with a farm of land attached. The property of Mr.McLelland, Dumfries. -
OS1/10/12/47 Parish of Dumfries -- [Page] 47
OS1/10/12/48 [Page] 48 Form 136 Page [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/49 HIGH TOWN High Town High Town Mr. Dickson Mr. Gibson 055 [Situation] About 2 3/8 Miles S.E. [South East] of St. Michaels Church A farm house and out houses in good repair, with a farm of land attached, Occupied by Mr. Dickson, the property - Douglas Esqr. of Bad. -
OS1/10/12/49 Parish of Dumfries -- [Page] 49 An entry for "Moat" has been crossed out.
OS1/10/12/50 TROHOUGHTON Trohoughton Trohoughton Mr. Dickson Mr. Gibson 055 [Situation] About 2 1/2 Miles S.E. by S. [South East by South] of St. Michaels Church A farm house and out houses including a thrashing machine in good repair, with a farm of land attached. The property of Douglas Houston Esqr. of Badd.-
OS1/10/12/50 KELTON COVE Kelton Cove Kelton Cove William Martin James Kennedy - 055 [situation] About 3 miles S.E. by S. [South East by South] of St. Michaels Church, Dumfries A cave of natural formation in rocky cliff in the farm of High Kelton it is about 30 links long 25 links wide and 8 or 9 feet high. The rock is red sandstone. The entrance to the cave has been lately broke up or quarried & taken away for building purposes. -
OS1/10/12/50 [Page] 50 -- Parish of Dumfries Form 136 Page 124 -- Trohoughton 131-- Kelton Cove [Note Kelton which is scored through] This hill is not Known by any particular name
OS1/10/12/51 WINTRIPHEAD Wintriphead Wintriphead Mr. Gilespie Mr. Gibson 055 [Situation] About 3 Miles S.E. [South East] of St. Michaels church A small row of cot houses in good repair, on the farm of Trohoughton. They are occupied by Agricultural Labourers who are in the employment of the above farm . -
OS1/10/12/51 TROHOUGHTON HILL Trohoughton Hill Trohoughton Hill Trohoughton Hill J. Carruthers J. Edgar W. Martin 055 [Situation] About 2 1/4 miles S.E. by S. [South East by South] of St. Michaels church Dumfries A small hill the soil of which is arable part of the farms of Trohoughton High Kelton & Netherwood Bank. On its Summit is the remains of a Roman Camp.
OS1/10/12/51 Parish of Dumfries -- [Page] 51
OS1/10/12/52 ROMAN CAMP (Supposed) [Trohoughton] Roman Camp Roman Camp Roman Camp Roman Camp J. Kennedy William Martin Samuel Kirkpatrick Joseph Edgar 055 [Situation] On Trohoughton Hill 2 1/4 miles S.E. by S. [South East by South] of St. Michaels Church Dumfries This is a Roman Camp Situated on the farms of High Kelton and Trohoughton its shape is that of an oval or a square with the corners a little rounded but it is so much defaced by the process of cultivation that its original Shape cannot be properly distinguished Some parts of the ramparts & fosse Still remains although much destroyed by ploughing. J. Carruthers formerly tenant of Trohoughton says that about 40 years ago it was surrounded by two ramparts & a fosse between, all apparently quite complete, he also States that it has been always considered, by the intelligent in the neighbourhood, a Roman Camp William Martin Tenant of Boreland farm states the same thing. That it is a Roman Camp appears to be the belief of all the intelligent persons acquainted with the locality s
OS1/10/12/52 [Page] 52 Form 136 Page 120 -- 'Roman Camp' "Towards the lower end of the parish and corresponding as is thought to another Similar one near the Castle of Caerlaverock "and within that parish. is an eminence called Trohoughton which has been noticed by Pennant as a Roman Station." Sinclairs Stat. Acct. [Statistical Account] vol.[volume] 5. page 142
OS1/10/12/53 PLACE OF CRAIGS Place of Craigs Place of Craigs Alexander Gracie William Thorburn 055 [Situation] About 2 3/4 Miles S.E. [South East] of St. Michaels church Three Cottages on the farms of High Town and Barn Kin, they are in good repair, with one of them having about 5 acres of land attached, the property of Douglas Houston Esqr. of Badd. -
OS1/10/12/53 BARNKIN Barn Kin Barn Kin William Thorburn A. Gracie 055 About 3 7/8 Miles S.E. [South East} of St. Michaels Church A large farm house and outhouses (including a thrashing machine) in good repair, with a farm of land attached, the property of Douglas Houston Esqr. of Badd. -
OS1/10/12/53 Parish of Dumfries -- [Page] 53
OS1/10/12/54 BUSH Bush Bush John Easton Mr. Swan 055 [Situation] About [5/2] Miles S.E [South East] of St. Michaels Church A large farm house and out houses including a thrashing machine in good repair, with a farm of land attached. The property of Douglas Houston Esqr. of Badd
OS1/10/12/54 [Page] 54 -- Parish of Dumfries Form 136 Page 127 -- Bush The entry for Poindfold Burn has been crossed out.
OS1/10/12/55 LOCHARSIDE Lochar Side Lochar Side William Hutchison Andrew Manson 056 [Situation] About 3 Miles E by S. [East by South] of St. Michaels church A farm house and out houses in good repair, with a farm of land attached, the property of Sir Alexander Grierson of Knockhall. -
OS1/10/12/55 WARRENHILL Warrenhill Warrenhill William Hutchison Andrew Manson 056 [Situation] About 3/8 Miles E by S. [East by South] of St. Michaels church Two rows of Cottages on the farm of Lochar side they are occupied by Agricultural Labourers, and are the property of Sir Alexander Grierson of Knockhall.
OS1/10/12/55 3 -- Parish of Torthorwald -- [Page] 55
OS1/10/12/56 Glasgow and South Western Railway Glasgow & South Western Railway See Name List Plan B 055 ; 056 [Situation] Leading in a S. [South] easterly direction through the parish of Torthorwald. - For Description see Name List for plan B.
OS1/10/12/56 Lochar Water Lochar Water See Name List Plan B. 056 [Situation] Forming part of the boundary between the parish of Dumfries & that of Torthorwald For Description see Name List for Plan B
OS1/10/12/56 [Page] 56 Parish of Torthorwald Form 136 Page
OS1/10/12/57 ST MICHAEL'S CHURCH St. Michaels Church St. Michaels Church Rev. [Reverend] R. Wallace D.D. [Doctor of Divinity] Dumfries Dr. [Doctor] Duncan John McCormick 055 A large plain built edifice with tower, and a belfry, surmounted by a Spire of considerable height, in the tower is a good clock having 4 faces, The interior of the church is well fitted up with pews galleries &c. sufficiently commodious with sitting about 1200 average number of congregation about ---- The Clergyman is the Rev, [Reverend] R, Wallace D.D. [Doctor of Divinity] whose stipend amount to about £---- besides a good Manse and Glebe containing about -- acres of land. The cemetery that surrounds this church is famed for the vast number, and singular variety of its Monuments, being according to calculation upwards of 2100, In the N.E. [North East] corner of the Cemetery stands a splendid mausoleum over the remains of the poet Burns; which was erected in 1815 at a cost of about £1,450, defrayed by public subscription, sanctioned by a contribution of 50 guineas from George IV., also in the centre of the cemetery is a Monument built of hewn granite over the Ashes of 3 Martyrs who were murdered during the persecutions of the Stewarts. This Church was built in 1745 upon the Site of an Old church dedicated to St. Michael, the patron Saint of Dumfries, and was pulled down in 1745 for the Suplanting of the present Edifice. - The date cannot be ascertained when the old Church dedicated to St. Michael, was erected, but the following is a quotation from Chalmers Caledonia, "We first see the churches of Dumfries town mentioned in record during the twelth century, when the principal - Church had been dedicated to St. Michael, the patron Saint of the parish."
OS1/10/12/57 List of Names collected by David Hannay C/a [Civilian Assistant] 29 April 1850 -- [Page] 57 [Parish] Dumfries [Object] St. Michael's Church -- A Church [Signed] D. Hannay c/a [Civilian Assistant]
OS1/10/12/58 Site of SOUTH PORT [Dumfries] Site of Kirkgate Port South Port John McCormick High Street, Dumfries John H. Bell English Street, Dumfries 055 This is the Site of the principal gateway or port which led to & from the town on the South Side through the fortification wall & was the high road which led to the South & to England. It stood across the road which is now St Michael Street, near the SW. [South West] corner of the churchyard which adjoins St. Michaels Church. It was demolished about the beginning of the eighteenth Century about the time when the Hospital or Poors house was built. John Hyslop Bell English Street says that his father pointed out the Site to him. John McCormick an intelligent man about 70 years of age says he heard from his father & grandfather that the gate stood as above stated
OS1/10/12/58 [Page] 58 -- Town of Dumfries -- 5 feet Scale -- Sheet No. -- List of Names collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter -- May 1850 Trace No. [Parish] Dumfries [Object] Kirkgate Port -- Site of an ancient gateway
OS1/10/12/59 HOSPITAL or Poor's House [Dumfries] Dumfries Hospital Mr. Goodall Writer Dumfries Mrs. Richardson Matron of the Hospital Dumfries 055 A tolerably sized plain building erected in 1753 by James and William Moorheads Merchants Dumfries, Its annual number of inmates averages for these last 20 or 30 years about 30, young and old. Out door pensioners about 20. The young are all well educated, and put to trades at their own choice. This poors house or Hospital is supported by by landed property bequeathed by several Gentlemen, also by Donations and public subscriptions. The Annual income averages about £56. Expenditure much about the Same. It is managed by a Committee, and a Matron who resides in the Hospital. -
OS1/10/12/59 5 Ft. [Feet] Scale Dumfries -- Sheet 6 -- List of Names collected by David Hannay c/a [Civilian Assistant] -- 2. May 1850 -- [Page] 59 [Object] Dumfries Hospital -- A Poor house [Signed] D. Hannay c/a [Civilian Assistant]
OS1/10/12/60 The Carruthers Cottages The Carruthers Cottages -- Adamson Esqr. Dumfries British Linen company Bank Rev. [Reverend] R. Wallace D.D. [Doctor of Divinity] Dumfries Inscription on a Marble tablet in the [Cottages] 055 A Square consisting of 10 Small but neat modern built Cottages erected in 1844, out of a mortified fund left by Mrs. Carruthers, of Warmanbie, for the support and accommodation of "ten or fewer" Lame or blind women, natives of Dumfries. The fund was left under trustees, consisting of some of the Magistrates of the town and the two Parish Ministers of Dumfries. The largest one of the cottages is occupied by the Governess of the inmates of the other cottages. In one of the governessed rooms, is a neat little marble tablet, with the following inscription "Mrs Carruthers of Warmanbie "Died "A Dumfries the 30th September 1839 "Aged 77 "She mortified the residue of her fortune for the "Support of ten or fewer Lame or blind women Natives of Dumfries "And her trustees erected in 1844 these "The Carruthers Cottages" as a Monument "To her Memory, and for the residence of the "Objects of her Benevolence"
OS1/10/12/60 [Page] 60 -- 5 feet Scale. -- Dumfries Sheet 6 -- List of Names collected by David Hannay C/a [Civilian Assistant -- 2 May 1850 [Township or Parish] Dumfries [Object] The Carruthers Cottages -- Cottages [Note across entry] This Name occurs on Plan B. [Signed] David Hannay
OS1/10/12/61 ST MICHAEL'S LODGE St. Michael's Lodge Mr. Potts Dawson's Cottage Mr. Thomson Castlebank Cottage Dumfries 055 A neat cottage residence 2 Stories high having a small garden attached, presently occupied by a caretaker the property of Mr. McClure of Laurel Mount.
OS1/10/12/61 MANSE [ph, nr St Michael's Church, Dumfries] Manse Mr. Thomson John McCormack High Street 055 A good Cottage residence 2 Stories high with an underground Story having a small garden attached. On the opposite Side of the Street are some small offices appertaining, It is the residence of the Rev. [Reverend] R. Wallace D.D. [Doctor of Divinity] Minister of the Parish Church,
OS1/10/12/61 List of Names collected by C/a [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter -- May 1850 -- [Page] 51 [Object] St. Michael's Lodge -- A house Manse - - A House
OS1/10/12/62 [Page] 62 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/63 DUMFRIES AND GALLOWAY ROYAL INFIRMARY Dumfries & Galloway Royal Infirmary Mr. Thornburn Master Dumfries Annual Report of the Infirmary 055 A large plain building 3 Stories in height and in good repair, established in 1777, and incorporated by royal charter 1807. Its yearly number of patients averages about 500, its annual number relieved or dismissed about 460, and daily average of patients in the infirmary about 40, the infirmary is supported by Donations, annual subscriptions, and the interests of funds left or bestowed for its behaf from Dumfries, Kirkcudbright & Wigtown County its annual income averages about £1000 expenditure much about the same. It is managed by a weekly Committee. The Officers of the Established are one president, Vice President, Chairman of the weekly Committee, 2 Physicians, 2 Surgeons, one house Surgeon, Chaplain, 2 Inspectors, One Treasurer, and one Matron. -
OS1/10/12/63 5 feet Scale -- Town of Dumfries -- Sheet 6 -- List of Names collected by David Hannay c/a [Civilian Assistant] -- 2nd May 1850 -- [Page] 63 [Township or Parish] Dumfries [Object] Dumfries & Galloway Royal Infirmary -- An Infirmary
OS1/10/12/64 [Page] 64 -- List of Names collected by David Hannay c/a [Civilian Assistant] 3rd May 1850 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/65 BROOKFIELD COTTAGE Brookfield Cottage 055 A small neat cottage the property of Miss Johnston Situate about 1/4 of a mile S.E. [South East] of St. Michaels church It is one story high & Slated and has one small field of nearly one acre attached, it is occupied by the proprietor.
OS1/10/12/65 Sheet 6. -- Five feet Scale -- List of Names collected by Civil Assistant Alexander Dean 1st. Examiner -- [Page] 65 Trace 14 [Parish] Dumfries [Object] Brookfield Cottage -- Cottage Entry for Nursery is scored through. [Signed] Alexander Dean c/a [Civilian Assistant]
OS1/10/12/66 [Page] 66 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/67 CASTLEDYKES Castledykes Castledykes John B. Hepburn Esqr. Castledykes Thomas Thomson Esqr. Castlebank Cottage Dumfries 055 A plain handsome house with portico in front built about 20 years since having Suitable out offices attached with ornamental ground tastefully planted with shrubbery & large trees & a small well cultivated garden These grounds are handsomely varied by banks & terraces which is partly natural & partly artificial, part of the Grounds being the site of an old quarry the refuse heaps &c contributed to the irregularity of the ground which the proprietor formed into terraces &c. The Horticultural Society of Dumfries hold their annual Show of flowers general for some time past within these ornamental grounds. within the grounds is green house, vinery, &c. also a neat cottage occupied by the gardener. The name Castledykes was originally applied to the fortification that defended Cummins Castle which stood here on Castle Hill. It is the property & residence of John Buchan Hepburn Esqr.
OS1/10/12/67 Town of Dumfries -- 5 feet Scale -- [Page] 67 List of Names Collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter Plan No. 7 -- Trace no 13 [Parish] Dumfries [Object] Castledykes -- A house
OS1/10/12/68 Allanbank Allanbank Allanbank Allan Anderson Esqr. Allanbank Dumfries Thomas Thomson Esqr. Castlebank Cottage A handsome cottage residence partly of the Elizabethian Style of architecture 2 Storeys high with some Small out offices attached with garden and ornamental ground attached. The property and residence of Allan Anderson Esqr.
OS1/10/12/68 CASTLEDYKES COTTAGE Castledykes Cottage Castledykes Cottage - Wallace Esqr. Castledykes Cottage John B. Hepburn Esqr. Castledykes 055 A neat cottage one storey high (plain style) with some small offices attached also a garden or ornamental ground. The property and residence of -- Wallace Esqr. Writer Dumfries
OS1/10/12/68 [Page] 68 -- Town of Dumfries -- 5 feet Scale -- Sheet No 7 -- List of Names collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter [Township or Parish] Dumfries [Object] Allanbank -- A cottage Castledykes Cottage -- A cottage Trace No. 10 [Allanbank] No.15 [Castledykes Cottage] [Signed] J. Carpenter C. Ass [Civilian Assistant] April 13th [1850]
OS1/10/12/69 Site of CUMMIN'S CASTLE Site of Cummin's Castle Site of Cummin's Castle John B. Hepburn Esq. Castledykes Dumfries Thomas Thomson Esqr. Castlebank Cottage Dumfries 055 The Site of an ancient Castle which had been once the Stronghold of the family of the Cummins. no track or vestige now remains to identify the spot it stood except the moat or ditch which defended it. Mr. Hepburn proprietor of the ground points out the ground which is an elevated Spot called Castle Hill which tradition records as being the Site of the Castle, The ditch or moat which defended it is pretty entire on East and south Sides. It has been partly defaced on the other sides what remains of it is very deep & wide water still remains in part of it, no doubt it had been originally much deeper
OS1/10/12/69 Town of Dumfries -- 5 feet Scale -- Sheet 7 -- List of Names collected by -- C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter -- [Page] 69 Trace No. 13 [Township or Parish] Dumfries [Object] Site of Cummin's Castle -- Site of Castle
OS1/10/12/70 CASTLE HILL Castle Hill Castle Hill John B. Hepburn Esqr. Castledykes Thomas Thomson Esqr Castlebank Cottage 055 An eminence or portion of high ground on which tradition records that Cummin's Castle once stood. It was surrounded or defended by a very deep ditch or moat which is partly Still in very good presently on east and south sides that on the other side being partly defaced
OS1/10/12/70 THE SADDLE The Saddle John B. Hepburn Esqr. Castledykes 055 A Small Knoll planted with trees in the ornamental grounds of Castledykes
OS1/10/12/70 PARADISE Paradise John B. Hepburn Esqr. Castledykes 055 A small rocky Knoll planted with trees on the top is a smooth level area or platform
OS1/10/12/70 [Page] 70 -- Town of Dumfries -- 5 feet Scale -- List of Names Collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter Plan No 7 -- Trace No 13 [Parish] Dumfries [Object] Castle Hill -- An eminence The Saddle -- A Knoll Paradise -- A Knoll [Signed] J. Carpenter C A [Civilian Assistant] April 13 /50 [1850]
OS1/10/12/71 THRESHIE'S CLOSE Threshie's Close John H. Bell English Street, Mr. McGowan Builder Dumfries 055 A dirty narrow irregular close leading from St. Michael Street to The Dock. The houses are of an inferior class one &. two Storeys high. The houses are principally let as lodging houses to women of degraded character. The property of Mrs. Threshie
OS1/10/12/71 DOCK WELL Dock Well John H. Bell English Street Map of Dumfries & Maxwelltown 1819 055 A good Spring well Situated on the East side of the Dock
OS1/10/12/71 SWANS VENNEL Swans Vennel John H. Bell English Street 055 A short narrow lane leading from St. Michael Street to The Dock. It is well paved & clean
OS1/10/12/71 THE STANK The Stank Robert Kemp Esqr High Street Dumfries William Wilson Town Office High Street Dumfries 055 This applies to a small portion of the River Nith where a part of the quay forms an angle & where coal boats are usually moored to unload their Cargoes. This name originally applied to a small drain in which a small stream flowed across the Dock from the Dock Well to the river. it is now applied by Sailors &. others to the part of the river above described near which the same stream issues from a covered drain in the Nith.
OS1/10/12/71 Town of Dumfries -- 5 feet Scale -- Sheet No 6 --List of Names collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] James Carpenter -- May 1850 [Page] 71 Trace No. 8 [Parish] Dumfries [Object] Threshie's Close -- A close Dock Well -- A well Swans Vennel -- A lane The Stank -- Part of the river [Note Threshie's Close ] See Name List of Plan B for this Name
OS1/10/12/72 ST MICHAEL STREET [Dumfries] St. Michael Street Corner Board John H. Bell English Street 055 A long wide Street leading S.E. [South East] from the end of Irish Street Nith Street and Nith Place It is paved and drained with causeways on each side & partly lighted with gas. The houses are of different descriptions Some few are of a Superior description but they are principally of an indifferent class and from one to 3 Storeys high In this street is also the parish church
OS1/10/12/72 [Page] 72 -- Town of Dumfries -- 5 feet Scale Sheet No.6 -- List of Names collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter. May 1850 Trace No. [Parish] Dumfries [Object] St. Michael Street -- A Street.
OS1/10/12/73 DARK WALK The Dark Walk John B. Hepburn Esq Castledykes 055 This name applies to a walk which is constructed partly along the bottom and Side of the moat which surrounded Cummin's Castle This moat or dyke forms a deep ravine the Sides of which are planted with trees.
OS1/10/12/73 DOCKFOOT QUAY Dockfoot Quay Thomas Thompson Esqr. Castlebank Cottage Peter Mundle Assembly Street, one of the commrs. [Commissioners] of navigation 055 This name applies to a Quay at the Southern extremity of The Dock at this place boats of from 50 to 60 tons burden usually load and unload their cargoes
OS1/10/12/73 List of Names Collected by C A [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter -- [Page] 73 [Parish] Dumfries Plan No.7 Trace No 13 [The Dark Walk] Tracce No.3 [Dockfoot Quay] [Object] The Dark Walk -- A Walk Dockfoot Quay -- A Quay
OS1/10/12/74 BANK COTTAGE Bank Cottage Bank Cottage Mr. Costen Bank Cottage John B. Hepburn Esq. Castledykes Dumfries 055 A Small neat cottage two Storys high with Small garden attached tenanted by Mr. Costen. The property of Mr. Wood of Hannay Field.
OS1/10/12/74 THE DOCK The Dock The Dock John B Hepburn Esqr. Castledykes Thomas Thomson Esq. Castlebank Cottage 055 A tract of low level ground extending along the River Nith from Castledykes to Nith Street. It is a fertile tract of pasture ground and is the public property of the town of Dumfries. It is generally let every year as a grass park, by the corporation of Dumfries along the sides of this tract are public walks, that on the north side is sheltered by a row of trees. The walk on the other side winds along the Nith
OS1/10/12/74 [Page] 74 -- Town of Dumfries 5 feet Scale -- Sheet No 7 -- List of Names collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter [Township or Parish] Dumfries Trace No 13 [Bank Cottage] No 3 [The Dock] [Object] Bank Cottage -- A cottage The Dock -- Tract of ground [Signed] J. Carpenter c/a [Civilian Assistant] April 13 [1850]
OS1/10/12/75 CASTLEDYKES COTTAGE Castledyke Cottage Castledyke Cottage - Wallace Esqr. Castledyke Dumfries 055 A neat dwelling house two story high and Slated surrounded with pleasure ground with a good garden attached situate about 1/2 a mile from Dumfries on the bank of the Nith. The property and residence of - Wallace Esqr.
OS1/10/12/75 ENGINE HOUSE Engine House Engine House 055 A small Slated house Situate on thank of the Nith in which stands the Steam Engine which sends up water from the Nith to the Royal Craighton Institution, and hence the name.
OS1/10/12/75 5 feet Scale. -- Town of Dumfries -- Sheet N 7 -- List of Names Collected by Civilian Assistant Alexander Dean 1st Examiner -- [Page] 75 Plan 5 feet -- Trace 15 [Parish] Dumfries [Object] Castledyke Cottage -- House Engine House -- House [Signed] Alexander Dean 7th Jany. [January] 1850.
OS1/10/12/76 [Page] 76 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/77 NITHBANK Nithbank Nithbank Thomas Thomson Esqr. Castlebank Cottage Dumfries John B. Hepburn Esq. Castledykes Dumfries 055 A range of 4 neat & well constructed Cottages 2 Stories high with gardens attached. Occupied by respectable families. The property of different proprietors
OS1/10/12/77 CASTLEBANK COTTAGE Castlebank Cottage Thomas Thomson Esqr. Castlebank Cottage Dumfries John B. Hepburn Esqr. Castledykes Dumfries 055 A neat cottage residence 2 Storeys high of the Elizabethan Style of Architecture. Occupied by Mrs. Thomson. The property of Thomas Thomson Esqr.
OS1/10/12/77 Town of Dumfries -- 5 feet Scale Sheet 7 -- List of Names collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter -- [Page] 77 [Township or Parish] Dumfries [Object] Nithbank -- Row of Cottages Castlebank Cottage -- A cottage Trace No 4
OS1/10/12/78 NITHBANK COTTAGE Nithbank Cottage -- Mitchel gardener Nithbank Cottage Thomas Thomson Esqr. Castlebank Cottage 055 A Small cottage one story high. occupied by Mitchel foreman gardener to Thomas Kennedy Esqr. Nursery & Seedsman. The property of T. Kennedy Esqr.
OS1/10/12/78 CASTLEBANK MILLS Castlebank Mills Castlebank Mills Thomas Thomson Esq. Castlebank cottage John B. Hepburn Esq. Castledykes 055 A large building consisting of a Corn, Flour, and Sawing Mills. It is worked by a Steam Engine of 12 horse power high pressure. The corn and flour department is capable of grinding about 1500 bushels of oats & wheat per week. The property of Thomas Thomson and Co. [Company].
OS1/10/12/78 [Page] 78 -- Dumfries 5 feet Scale -- Sheet No. [Number] 7 -- List of Names Collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter Trace No. 4 [Parish] Dumfries [Object] Nithbank Cottage -- A cottage Castlebank Mills -- Mills [Signed] J. Carpenter C.A. [Civilian Assistant] April 13 [1850]
OS1/10/12/79 MARYFIELD Maryfield John McFarlane Esqr Maryfield Dumfries A. Allan Esqr. Allanbank Dumfries 055 A plain handsome cottage residence 2 Storeys high with portico in front having out offices & garden attached and about 30 acres of good land. The property and residence of John McFarlane Little Esqr.
OS1/10/12/79 MOUNTAINHALL Mountainhall Mountainhall Mrs. Thorburn Mountainhall Dumfries Thomas Thomson Esqr Castlebank Cottage Dumfries 055 A good plain Cottage residence 2 Storeys high with outoffices & garden attached. Occupied by Mrs. Thorburn. The property of the heirs of the late - Formerly this house was occupied as a farm house having a farm attached but now the farm is let as grass parks.
OS1/10/12/79 Town of Dumfries [5] feet Scale -- Sheet No.8 -- List of Names collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter -- April 1850 -- [Page] 79 [Township or Parish] Dumfries Trace No. 5 Maryfield No. 6 Mountainhall [Object] Maryfield -- A house Mountainhall -- A house
OS1/10/12/80 [Page] 80 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/81 CRICHTON INSTITUTION [Southern Counties Asylum] Crichton Institution Southern Counties Asylum Crichton Institution Southern Counties Asylum W.A.F. Brown Esq M.D. [Doctor of Medicine] Resident Physician Crichton Royal Inst. [Institution] Dumfries Annual Report pubd. [published] 1849 055 A large building built of red Sandstone erected 1848-9 at a cost of £10,000. It is a Lunatic Asylum in connection with the Crichton Royal Institution the building is 2 & 3 Storeys high. It is exclusively for the accommodation of paupers or patients who pay the same rates of Board as paupers viz £15 per annum exclusive of clothing. It is capable of accommodating at present about 160 patients but when the whole design will be completed which will consist of another wing with the extension of the centre range it will be capable of accommodating about 400 patients. It will consist of patients from the three Southern Counties (as the name imports) i.e. from Wigtownshire Kirkcudbrightshire & Dumfrieshire. It was resolved at a meeting of influential members from the above counties that these districts should cooperate in carrying the objects of this institution & if necessary to give towards the expenditure It was hence named the Southern Counties Asylum. -
OS1/10/12/81 Town of Dumfries -- 5 feet. Scale -- List of Names Collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter -- April 1850 -- [Page] 81 [Parish] Dumfries Plan No.9 Trace No.6 [Object] Crichton Royal Institution Southern Counties Asylum -- Lunatic Asylum
OS1/10/12/82 CRICHTON ROYAL INSTITUTION Crichton Royal Institution Crichton Royal Institution Crichton Royal Institution W.A.F. Brown Esq, M.D. [Doctor of Medicine] Resident Physician Crichton Royal [Infirmary] Annual Report pubd. [published] 1849 Gazetteer of Scotland by Fullerton & Co. [Company] 055 A large building 3 & 4 Storeys high built of red sandstone built about 10 years ago. The fund appropriated to the building of this institution was a bequest of upwards of £100,000 by the late Dr. [Doctor] Crichton of Friars Carse. The institution was originally designed to be a university. It is a large & commodious Asylum for lunatics. It is incorporated a few years since by act of parliament. The building to which the above name particularly applies is lately (since the completion of the Southern counties Asylum) appropriated to patients who pay for their accommodation. Rates of board paid varies from £30 to £350 per annum. The affairs are managed by Trustees and a a board of Directors. The resident officers are a Treasurer a resident Physician, a matron, a medical assistant, & a [house] Steward. This department is capable of accommodating 120 patients. It is at present full.
OS1/10/12/82 [Page] 32 -- Town of Dumfries -- 5 feet Scale Sheet No 9 -- List of Names collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter -- April 1850 [Township or Parish] Dumfries -- Trace No 2 [Object] Crichton Royal Institution -- Lunatic Asylum
OS1/10/12/83 Physician's House Physician's House Physician's House W.A.F. Brown Esq M.D. [Doctor of Medicine] Crichton Royal Inst. [Institution] Dumfries Thomas Thomson Esq Castlebank Cottage Dumfries 055 A good plain & well constructed house 2 Storeys high built in 1841 In connection with the Crichton Royal Institution built for the use of the Resident medical officer. The present resident Physician is W.A.F. Brown Esq M.D. [Doctor of Medicine] attached to the house are some small office houses & adjoining is a plot of ornamental ground. The Physician also partakes of the benefit of the garden which is attached to the asylum. -
OS1/10/12/83 Town of Dumfries -- 5 feet Scale -- Sheet 9 -- List of Names collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter -- April 1850 -- [Page] 83 [Township or Parish] Dumfries Trace No 2 [Object] Physicians House -- A house
OS1/10/12/84 [Page] 84 [Blank page]
OS1/10/12/85 REID'S DUB Reid's Dub Mr. Halliday Rosebank Dumfries 055 A Small marshy pool grown over with sedge & rushes on lands of Rosebank. near it is a Small labourer's Cottage.
OS1/10/12/85 CHERRYTREES Cherrytrees J. Robson Cherrytrees Dumfries Thomas Thomson Castlebank Cottage Dumfries 055 A row of Small cottages in good repair one Storey high, occupied chiefly by mechanics The property of Mr. Wood of Hannahfield
OS1/10/12/85 Town of Dumfries -- 5 feet Scale Sheet 9 -- List of Names collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter -- April 1850 -- [Page] 85 [Township or Parish] Dumfries Trace No 3 [Reid's Dub] No. 5 [Cherrytrees] [Object] Reid's Dub -- Marshy pool Cherrytrees -- Several houses
OS1/10/12/86 REIDSDUB Reid's Dub Mr. Halliday Rosebank Dumfries A. Allan Esqr. Allanbank Dumfries 055 A small Cottage in good repair occupied by an agricultural labourer on lands of Rosebank & convenient to a marshy pool to which the name also applies. A Sailor formerly lived here named Lewis Reid which gave rise to the name
OS1/10/12/86 [Page] 86 -- Town of Dumfries -- 5 feet Scale -- List of Names Collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter -- April 1950 [Parish] Dumfries Plan No. 9 Trace No. 3 [Object] Reid's Dub -- A Cottage
OS1/10/12/87 HANNAHFIELD Hannahfield Mr. Thomas Wood Hannahfield 055 A neat Stone dwelling house two Stories high & Slated, Surrounded by Some pleasure grounds, the out offices are detached. It is the property of Mr. Thomas Wood resident
OS1/10/12/87 List of Names collected by W McKeown C.A. [Civilian Assistant] -- [Page] 87 [Object] Hannahfield -- Dwelling house
OS1/10/12/88 [Page] 88 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/89 KINGHOLM BANK COTTAGE Kingholm Bank Cottage Mr. Wood Dumfries David Dickson Wellgreen 055 A neat Cottage two stories high with garden attached The property of Mr. Wood. Dumfries.
OS1/10/12/89 KINGHOLM COTTAGE Kingholm Cottage Mr. Wood Esqr, Dumfries Mr. D Dickson Wellgreen 055 A large farme house two stories high with out houses all in good repair with a farm attached. The property of Mr. Wood Dumfries
OS1/10/12/89 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st Examiner -- [Page] 89 [Parish] Dumfries Plan x No. of Trace 1 [Object] Kingholm Bank Cottage -- A House Kingholm Cottage -- A House [Signed] S Coupland ca [Civilian Assistant] June 3rd / 48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/90 MAIDEN-BOWER CRAIG Maiden-bower Craig Mr. Gilson Jenny-gill Mr. Gelespie Hightown 055 A large Rock, curiously hollowed, on the farm of Maiden-bower, [situated about a mile, to the east of Dumfries;] Mr. Gilson, & Mr. Gelespie, says that it has been handed down by tridition, that it was formerly, famous for beign the scene, of som rites, practised as a test of Virginity.
OS1/10/12/90 MAIDEN-BOWER Maiden-bower John Robson Maiden-bower John Hall Craigs 055 A large farm house, two Stories high, with out houses including, a thrashing machine, and a farm of land attached: the houses all of which are in good repair, it is the property of Mr. McMullan, it takes its name from being convenient to the Maiden Craig.
OS1/10/12/90 [Page] 90 -- Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] -- 1st Examiner [Parish] Dumfries Plan x No of Trace 1 [Object] Maidenbower Craig -- A Craig Maidenbower -- A House [Signed] Samuel Coupland 3rd June /47 [1847]
OS1/10/12/91 KINGHOLM Kingholm Kingholm Kingholm John B. Hepburn Esq Castledykes Dumfries Thomas Thomson Esqr. Castlebank Cottage Dumfries Fullartons & Co.' Gazetteer of Scotland 055 A tract of low level ground adjoining the River Nith extending from Castledykes or Dockfoot Quay to Kingholm Quay. It is a plot of fertile pasture land and protected from inundation of the Nith by a Strong bank of earth. It is at present the property of Mr. Wood of Hannahfield. It was formerly the public property of the town of Dumfries but was sold at some former time by the town Corporation. In olden times, it is said that the young men of Dumfries &. districts adjoining were wont to assemble to play at public games. The "Siller Gun" was often Shot for on this field by the tradespeople of Dumfries in times long past
OS1/10/12/91 List of Names collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] J. Carpenter -- April 1850 -- [Page] 91 [Parish] Dumfries Trace No 1 [Object] Kingholm -- A field or tract of ground
OS1/10/12/92 [Page] 92 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/93 KINGHOLM QUAY Kingholm Quay Robert Scott Esqr. Dumfries Mr. D. Dickson Well green Mr. Wood Esqr. Hannahfield 055 A small Village the houses of which are all of a good description from 1 to 3 stories high. It has a Bone and a Woollen mill the last mentioned gives employment for 50 or 60 persons young and old their are also in it 3 public houses (the principle of which is called the ship inn) in the year [1841] their was erected a small but safe harbour affording mooring place to about 12 Vessels, Exports are all kinds of farming produce imports are Coal Bones Guano Timber & other Merchandise. Population of the Village is about 100.
OS1/10/12/93 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st. Examiner -- [Page] 93 [Township or Parish] Dumfries Page -- No. of Trace 1 [Object] Kingholm Quay -- A Village [Signed] Samuel Coupland Ca [Civilian Assistant] June 3rd /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/94 [Page] 94 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/95 QUAY [Kingholm Quay] Quay Mr Little Dumfries Mr D Dickson Well green 055 A small but safe Quay, on the River Nith, affording Accommodation for about 12 Vessels, which averages about - in Tonage Imports are Coal, Bones, Guano, Timber & Merchandise &c. Exports, are all kinds of farming produce.
OS1/10/12/95 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a. [Civilian Assistant] 1st Examiner -- [Page] 95 [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No of Trace 1 [Object] Quay -- A Quay [Signed] Samuel Coupland ca. [Civilian Assistant] June 3rd /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/96 [Page] 96 Mr Wood Kingholm Bank Cottage Kingholm Cottage Kingholm Quay Mr Wood Esqr of Hannahfield Sailors Return
OS1/10/12/97 LADY'S WELL Lady's Well Mr. R. Beck Wellgreen Mr. D. Dickson 055 A Spring well on the farm of Ladyfield situated at the west end of the Village of Wellgreen
OS1/10/12/97 BROWNHALL Brownhall Mr. James Kennedy Dumfries Mr. D Dickson Wellgreen 055 A large farm house two stories high with out houses all in good repair. [also a farm of land attached] The property of Miss Brown Liverpool.
OS1/10/12/97 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant]. 1st Examiner -- [Page] 97 [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No. of Trace 1 [Object] Lady's Well -- A Well Brownhall -- A House [Signed] Samuel Coupland C a [Civilian Assistant] June 3rd /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/98 [Page] 98 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/99 LADYFIELD Ladyfield Mr. D. Dickson Well Green Mr. Thorburn Rosebank 055 A neat Gentleman's house, two stories high with out houses, and a farm of land attached, the houses all of which are in good repair, it is situated about 30 chains, South East, of Kingholm; it is the property of Mrs. Forsythe Dumfries
OS1/10/12/99 WELLGREEN Wellgreen Mr. D Dickson Wellgreen Robert Beck Wellgreen 055 A small village situated on the road side leading from the Town to the old quay the houses are all in good repair their are 33 inhabitants in chiefly agriculturalists [labourers] with a few tradesmen it is the property of Mrs. Forsythe Dumfries.
OS1/10/12/99 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st. Examiner. -- [Page] 99 [Parish] Dumfries Plan 1 No. of Trace 1 [Object] Ladyfield -- A House Wellgreen -- a village [Signed] Samuel Coupland c a [Civilian Assistant] June 3rd. /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/100 [Page] 100 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/101 ROSEBANK Rosebank Mr. Thorburn Rosebank Mr. Halliday Rosebank 055 A Farm house, two stories high, with out houses, and a farm attached; It is situated about 20 Chains, South West, of Maidenbower, The property of Mr. Fisher London.
OS1/10/12/101 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st Examiner -- [Page] 101 Plan No of Trace 1 [Object] Rosebank -- A House [Signed] Samuel Coupland c a [Civilian Assistant] Another entry for Rosebank has been scored through
OS1/10/12/102 [Page] 102 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/103 JENNYGILL Jennygill Mr. James Gray Schoolmaster Trohoughton Mr. Gibson Jennygill 055 A Farm house, with a farm of land, and offices attached, the houses all of which are in good repair; it is situated about 3 Miles, from Dumfries, and about 5 chains, West of the road leading from Dumfries to Bankend; it is the property of Mr. Douglas of Bad.
OS1/10/12/103 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st Examiner -- [Page] 103 [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No. of Trace 2 [Object] Jennygill -- A House Entry for Trohoughton is scored out [Signed] S Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] June 10th /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/104 SCHOOL [nr Trohaughton] Trohoughton School James Gray Schoolmaster Trohoughton Mr. John Tenning Cairnfield 055 A Parochial school in the village of Trohoughton from which it takes its name their are 75 schollars attend the school yearly and the salary belonging to the school is 17£ exclusive of fees
OS1/10/12/104 WHITEHILL Whitehill -- Whitehill Mr. John Gray Trohoughton James Edgar 055 A small farm house -with offices and a farm of land attached the houses all of Which are in good repair it is the property of Mr. Douglas of Bad
OS1/10/12/104 [Page] 104 -- Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st. Examiner [Parish] Dumfries Trace 2 [Object] Trohoughton School -- A House Whitehill -- A House [Signed] Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] June 10th /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/105 GEORGETOWN Georgetown Thomas Hanning Craigend John Jenning Cairnfield 055 A Small Village in the parish of Dumfries situated about one mile and a half to the East of the Town its Population about 150 chiefly agriculturalist with a few tradsmen &c in it is two Public houses and a few Huckster shops; the houses of which are all one story high and well constructed the property of Mr. Douglas of Bad.
OS1/10/12/105 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st Examiner -- [Page] 105 Page [Trace] 2 [Object] Georgetown -- A Village [Signed] Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] June 10th /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/105 Name may be Tenning or Jenning
OS1/10/12/106 [Page] 106 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/107 MOSSBAND Mossband Mr. J Hanning Moss-side Mr. J Gray Trohoughton 055 An old farm house and offices all of which are converted into cotthouses and the land is, now attached to the farm of Moss-side it is the property of Mr. Douglas of Bad.
OS1/10/12/107 CRAIGEND Craigend Mr. J Hanning Craigend Mr. Gray Trohoughton 055 A Small farm House with offices and a farm of land attached the houses all of which are in good repair it is the property of Mr. Douglas of Bad.
OS1/10/12/107 GEORGETOWN QUARRY Georgetown Quarry Mr. Gray Trohoughton Mr. Halladay Georgetown Mr. Scott Esqr. Kingholm Quay Mr. Wood Esqr. Hannahfield 055 Large read free stone quarries on the farm of Craigend it is the property of Mr. Douglas of Bad
OS1/10/12/107 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st. Examiner -- [Page] 107 [Parish] Dumfries [Object] Mossband -- A Hous Craigend -- a House Georgetown Quarry -- A quarries
OS1/10/12/108 CAIRNFIELD [farm] Cairnfield Mr. John Jenning Cairnfield Mr. Gray Trohoughton 055 A farm House, with offices and a farm of land, attached, the houses all of which are in good repair; it is the property of Mr Douglas, of Bad.
OS1/10/12/108 MOSS-SIDE Moss-side Mr. James Gray Trohoughton Mr. T Hanning Moss-side 055 A large farm House with offices and a farm of land attached the dwelling houses is in good repair but the Office houses are in a ruines state; it is the property of Mr. Douglas of Bad.
OS1/10/12/108 [Page] 108 -- Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st Examiner [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No. of Trace 2 [Object] Cairnfield -- A House Moss-side -- A House [Signed] Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] June 10th /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/108 Name may be Jenning or Tenning
OS1/10/12/109 LOCHAR MOSS Lochar Moss William Hutichson Lochar Side via Torthorwald Statistical Account of Dumfries Shire 055 A considerable extent of Moss Situated on the East of Dumfries it is Supposed to have been once a part of the Solway Firth, A great quantity of Peats is cut here and Supplies the greater part of the town of Dumfries with Fuel
OS1/10/12/109 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by David Mason Pt. [Private] R S & Miners 1st Examiner. [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No of Trace 3 [Object] Lochar Moss -- Moss [Signed] David Mason Pt. [Private] R S [Royal Sappers] & Miners 21st June 1848
OS1/10/12/110 [Page] 110 [Blank page]
OS1/10/12/111 LOCHARSIDE Lochar Side William Hutichson Lochar Side Via Torthorwald Andrew Manson Warren Hill Via Torthorwald 056 A Small Farm House one Story High with a farm of land and out houses attached in good repair the property of Sir Alexander Gunston of Rockhall.
OS1/10/12/111 WARRENHILL Warrenhill William Hutichson Lochar Side Via Torthorwald Andrew Manson Warren Hill 056 Two rows of Cottages one Story high occupied by labourers & Weavers they are in Middling repair the property of Sir Alexander Gunston of Rockhall
OS1/10/12/111 Dumfries Shire [List of Names collected by] David Mason Pt [Private] R S & Miners 1st Examiner [page] 111 [Parish] Torthorwald No of Traces 3 [Lochar Side] [Object] A House [Lochar Side]; A Hamlet [Warrenhill] [signed] David Mason Pt. [Private] R S [Royal Sappers] & Miners 21st June 1848
OS1/10/12/112 [Page] 112 [Blank page]
OS1/10/12/113 MIDPARK Midpark Mr. John Mitchal Dumfries Mr. McHarg Rosehall 055 A farm house, in good repair with office houses, attached; it is situated about 1 1/2 Miles, from Dumfries, and about 10 chains east of the road leading from Dumfries, to Bankend; it is the property of Dr. [Doctor] Bell Dumfries.
OS1/10/12/113 RIGGHEAD Rigghead Mr. McHarg Rosehall Mr. John Scott Keltonhead 055 A few Cott houses, on farm Rosehall, in good repair, they are situated, about 1 mile from Dumfries, on the east side of the road leading from Dumfries to the old quay; they are the property of Miss Dickson Annon.
OS1/10/12/113 Kirkcudbright Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st. Examiner -- [Page] 113 [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No. of Trace 5 [Object] Midpark -- A House Rigghead -- A House [Signed] S Coupland ca [Civilian Assistant] May 20th /48. [1848]
OS1/10/12/114 ROSEHALL Rosehall Mr. McHarg Rosehall Mr. John Stott Kelton head 055 A large farm house, with offices attached, all of which are in good repair; it is situated about 1 1/4 from Dumfries, and abou 10 chains, south, east, of Bigghead; it is the property of Miss Dickson Annan.
OS1/10/12/114 ACREHEAD Acrehead Mr. McHarg Rosehall Mr. John Stott Kelton head 055 A large farm house, with offices attached, all in good repair, about 1 1/4 Miles, from Dumfries and on the side of the road leading from Dumfries to the old quay, it is the property of Mr. Hairstains
OS1/10/12/114 [Page] 114 -- Kirkcudbright Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] -- 1st Examiner [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No. of Trace 5 [Object] Rosehall -- A House Acrehead -- A House [Signed] S Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] May 20th / [1848]
OS1/10/12/115 LOCHBANK Lochbank Lochbank Mr. Robert Nicholson Lochbank Mr. McHarg Rosehall Rent receipt Robert Scott Esqr. Kingholm Quay 055 A large farm house with offices attached, all of which are in good repair; it is situated about 2 Miles from Dumfries and about 5 Chains, east of the road, leading from Dumfries, to Bankend, it is the property of Miss Millar, Lochbank.
OS1/10/12/115 Kirkcudbrightshire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st Examiner -- [Page] 115 [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No. of Trace 5 [Object] Lochbank -- A house [Signed] S. Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] May 20th /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/116 [Page] 116 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/117 NETHERWOOD Netherwood Mr. McKune Netherwood Mr. David Dickson Wellgreen 055 A large farm house, two stories high, with offices attached, and ground; the houses all of which are in good repair. it is situated, about 2 1/4 Miles, from Dumfries, and about 8 chains East of the road, leading from Dumfries to the Old quay; it is the property of Mr. McKune, Netherwood.
OS1/10/12/117 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st Examiner -- [Page] 117 [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No. of Trace 6 [Object] Netherwood -- A House [Signed] S Coupland ca [Civilian Assistant] May 27th /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/118 NETHERWOOD BANK Netherwood-Bank Mr. Milligan Netherwoodbank Mr. Stott Keltonhead 055 A large farm house, two stories high, with offices attached; all of which are in good repair; it is situated about 22, chains, East, of Netherwood farm house, it is the property of Miss McQuin, Edinburgh.
OS1/10/12/118 NETHERWOOD MAINS Netherwoodmains Mr. John Stott Keltonhead Mr. David Dickson Wellgreen 055 A large farm house, two stories high with offices attached, all of which are in good repair; it is situated about 2 1/2 Miles, from Dumfries, on the West Side of the road, leading from Dumfries to the Old quay; it is the property of Mr. John Stott, Keltonhead.
OS1/10/12/118 [Page] 118 -- Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] -- 1st Examiner [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No. of Trace 6 [Object] Netherwood - Bank --- A House Netherwood Mains -- A House [Signed] S. Coupland ca [Civilian Assistant] May 27th. / 48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/119 WELL COTTAGE Well Cottage Mr. John Stott Keltonhead Mr. Dickson Wellgreen 055 A small house one story high in good repair on the farm of Keltonhead it is the property of Mr. Mr. John Stott it is situated about 2 3/4 Miles from Dumfries and about 10 Chains West of the road leading from Dumfries to the old-Quay
OS1/10/12/119 KELTONHEAD WELL Keltonhead Well Mr. John Stott Keltonhead Mr. D. Dickson Wellgreen 055 A large Spring Well on the farm of Keltonhead it is the only spring that retains its watter through the summer and all the farms that goes under the name of Kelton have a wright to watter their Cattle their it is situated 1 chain south of Well cottage
OS1/10/12/119 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st Examiner -- [Page] 119 [Parish] Dumfries Plan No. of Trace 6 [Object] Well Cottage -- A House Keltonhead Well -- A Well
OS1/10/12/120 KELTONHEAD Keltonhead Mr. John Stott Keltonhead Mr. D. Dickson Wellgreen 055 A large farm house, two stories high, with offices, and a farm, of land, attached, the houses all of which are in good repair; it is situated about 3 miles, from Dumfries, and about 10 chains, east of the road leading from Dumfries, to the Old quay; it is the property, of Mr. John Stott, of Keltonhead.
OS1/10/12/120 [Page] 120 -- Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] -- 1st Examiner [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No. of Trace 6 [Object] Keltonhead -- A House [Signed] Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] May 27th /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/121 KELTON MAINS Kelton Mains Mr. Stott Keltonhead Mr. Burn's Keltonmains 055 A large Gentleman's house two Stories high it is built on the modern style of Architecture with offices and a farm of land attached the houses all of which are in good repair it is situated about 3 1/4 Miles from Dumfries and about 15 Chains South of Keltonhead it is the property of Mr. Walker of Woodlands
OS1/10/12/121 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] 1st Examiner -- [Page] 121 [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No. of Trace 6 [Object] Kelton Mains -- A House [Signed] S Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] May 27th /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/122 HIGH KELTON High Kelton Mr. John Stott Keltonhead Mr. McKune Netherwood 055 A large farm house, with offices and a farm, of land, attached, the houses all of which are in good repair; it is situated about 5 Chains, south of Keltonmains; it is the property of Mr. McClellen, Dumfries.
OS1/10/12/122 [Page] 122 -- Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Samuel Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] -- 1st Examiner [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No. of Trace 6 [Object] High Kelton -- A House [Signed] S Coupland c/a [Civilian Assistant] May 27th. /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/123 WINTRIPHEAD Wintriphead Mr. Gilespie High Town Dumfries Mr. Gibson Jenny-gill Dumfries 055 Four Cot houses in good repair on the farm of Trohoughton. they are occupied by Labourers who are in the employment of the farmer of Trohoughton. -
OS1/10/12/123 ROMAN CAMP (Supposed) [Trohoughton] Moat Mr. Gilespie High Town Mr. Gibson Jenny-gill Dumfries 055 A small round Artificial Mound on the farm of Trohoughton. Mr. Gibson and Mr. Gilespie says that it has been handed down by tradition as being an Ancient Moat or Camp and as a place of Signal &c in of the Feudal times
OS1/10/12/123 Dumfries-Shire -- List of Names collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] Samuel Coupland 1st Examiner -- [Page] 123 [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No. of Trace No. 7 [Object] Wintriphead -- Cot Houses Moat -- A Mound [Signed] Samuel Coupland c/a [civilian assistant] June 15th. / 48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/124 HIGH TOWN High Town High Town Mr. Dickson Farmer High Town Dumfries Mr. Gibson Farmer Jenny-gill Dumfries 055 A house and outhouses all in good repair, with a farm of land attached chiefly arable. Occupied by Mr. Dickson The property of Douglas Houston Esqr. of Badd --
OS1/10/12/124 TROHOUGHTON Trohoughton Mr. Dickson High Town Dumfries Mr. Gibson Jenny-gill Dumfries 055 A house and out houses includen a Thrashing Machine all in good repair with a farm of Arable land attached The property of Douglas Houston Esqr. of Badd
OS1/10/12/124 [Page] 124 -- Dumfries. Shire -- List of Names collected by C.A. [Civilian Assistant] Samuel Coupland -- 1st Examiner [Township or Parish] Dumfries Plan -- Trace No. 7 [Object] High Town -- A House &. Farm Throhoughton -- A House & Farm [Signed] Samuel Coupland June 15th /48 [1848]
OS1/10/12/125 ROMAN CAMP (Supposed) [Trohoughton] Mr.James Kennedy n&s Dumfries or High Kelton William Martin n&.s Boreland 055 That it was a Roman Camp is a current tradition in the locality, but one that is not Confined to the immediate vicinity of the Object in question As Mr. James Kennedy (Nursery and Seeds Man] in Dumfries Says that he has Always herd it Spoken of by Aged persons as being A Roman Camp, and Constructed by them during the period of their Occupation of this part of Scotland it is Sometimes Call'd a Moat in Locality. but when enquiry is made into its Origin, the above tradition is Currently to be found - The remark in Sinclairs' Acct. [Account] of Pennant's Tour, where he Says that on a Small eminence called Trohoughton is the remains of a roman station - Supports the tradition of its being a Roman Camp and its position (part of Trohoughton farm) makes it clear that is the refer'd to by Sinclair See former Remarks sent out -
OS1/10/12/125 List of Names collected by T Smith C.Asst. [Civilian Assistant] -- [Page] 125 Continued from the other side. [Note] See other Authorities on Sheet of Remarks [Note] See former Remarks sent out -
OS1/10/12/126 TROHOUGHTON HILL Trohoughton Hill J Carruthers farmer n&s Trohoughton Joseph Edgar n&s Green Wall William Martin farmer n&s Boreland 055 A Small hill of arable and Wooded Surface. Situated on the farm of "Trohoughton" High Kelton, and Netherwood Bank On its Summit is the remains of "A Roman Camp"
OS1/10/12/126 ROMAN CAMP (Supposed) [Trohoughton] Roman Camp James Kennedy High Kelton William Martin Boreland Samuel Kirkpatrick N. Bank Joseph Edgar Wallgreen. 055 The remains of a roman Camp Situated on the farms of High Kelton and Trohoughton its Shape is oval, or more of a Square with rounded Corners, but now much defaced So as to make it difficult to determine what was formerly the exact shape of its outlines, it is part planted with wood and part under Cultivation, it is Surrounded with a rampart of earth and Outside of it a fosse both much dilapidated, outside of this latter on the north side is traceable a small fragment of an-other rampart - the remainder of this latter being level'd away and plow'd over. J. Carruthers farmer of Trohoughton says that about 40 years ago that both ramparts were complete with a deep fosse, between, and the above With W.. Martin - farmer of Boreland adjoining it, says that It has been always supposed to have been first constructed by the Romans, and in Connection with an other Roman Camp on the Wardaw Hill near Carlaverock Castle - held by them as Military Stations - Turn over
OS1/10/12/126 [Page] 126 -- Plan A -- Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Thomas Smith C/Asst. [Civilian Assistant] Plan A Trace 7 [Note] Supply Ph [Parish] Name [Object] Trohoughton Hill -- A Hill Roman Camp -- Remains of Roman Camp [Note] Remains of [arrow to ...] This may be necessary No Plan or Trace can either before or after Name being more a Scholastic Matter that Local Authorities Know Nothing of [initialled] T S
OS1/10/12/127 BARNKIN Barnkin William Thorburn Barnkin Via Dumfries Alexander Gracie Place of Craigs Via Dumfries 055 A large Farm House in good repair with out houses and a Farm of Land attached, the property of Mr. Douglas Baads
OS1/10/12/127 BUSH The Bush John Easton The Bush Via Dumfries Mr. Swan The Bush via Dumfries 055 A large House in good repair with out houses and a Farm of land attached the property of Mr Douglas of Baads it derives its name from a large bush Situated on the Farm and about 4 Chains from the House Close by the road from Dumfries to Bankend
OS1/10/12/127 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by David Mason Pt [Private] Re. S [Royal Sappers] & Miners -- 1st Examiner -- [Page] 127 [Parish] Dumfries Plan -- No. of Trace 8 [Object] Barnkin -- A House The Bush -- A House [signed] David Mason Pt. [Private] Re.S.&.M [Royal Sappers & Miners] 16th June 1848
OS1/10/12/128 [Page] 128 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/129 PLACE OF CRAIGS Place of Craigs Alexander Gracie Place of Craigs Via Dumfries William Thorburn Barnkin Via Dumfries 055 Three Houses respectively Situated on the Farms of Hightown & Barnkin The Cottage on the Farm of Barnkin is in good repair with a Small portion of land attached, about 5 Acres - the other Cottages are in bad repair on the Farm of High Town occupied by labourers the Centre of the road being the boundary of the two Farms
OS1/10/12/129 Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by David Mason Pt. [Private] R S [Royal Sappers] & Miners 1st. Examiner -- [Page] 129 [Parish] Dumfries Plan-- No. of Traces 8 [Object] Place of Craigs -- Three Houses [Signed] David Mason Pt [Private] R S & M [Royal Sappers and Miners] 16th June 1848
OS1/10/12/130 [Page] 130 [Blank Page]
OS1/10/12/131 KELTON COVE Kelton Cove William Martin n&s Boreland James Kennedy n&s High Kelton 055 A Cove of natural formation Situated in a Large cleft of rock on the farm of Heigh Kelton it is about thirty links long by about 25 links wide and is about 8 or 9 ft [feet] high in the inside of it The Stone of which it is composed is red sandstone. and large quantities of it from about the entrance of this cove have been lately broke up and led away for building purposes - -
OS1/10/12/131 Plan A -- Dumfries Shire -- List of Names collected by Thomas Smith C. Asst. [Civilian Assistant] -- [Page 131] Plan A Trace 7 [Signed] Thomas Smith C/a [Civilian Assistant] 2nd December 1850 [Signed] W. Driscoll Gosset Captn. [Captain] R Engs. [Royal Engineers] December 31. 1850
OS1/10/12/132 [Volume] 12 -- OS1/ 10/12 -- [Page] 132 Dumfriesshire -- 12 Plan A Name of Parish -- Page Dumfries -- 1 Torthorwald -- 54
OS1/10/12/132 There are two stamps: Ordnance Survey M.B. Southampton 7 FEB.93 [February 1853] and Ordnance Survey M.B. Store Southampton 15 MAR [March] 1898