Scheduled Website Maintenance 14/07/20 00:00 – 04:00GMT – There will be periods of time during this window when this website will be unavailable.


Date Masters/mistresses names Clocks and watches Clocks Gold watches Silver or metal watches Duty
Parton Parish
William Glendenwyne Esqr. Parton 2 1 1 £0.11.3
Revd. [Reverend] William Donaldson MAnse 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
John Hanning Servt. [Servant] Manse 1 1 £0.1.10½
5 2 1 2 £0.18.9
Balmaclellan Parish
Revd. [Reverend] James Thomson Manse 1 1 £0.1.10½
James Moffat of Drumwhirn 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
James Carson of Barzcob 1 1 £0.3.9
4 2 2 £0.11.3
Kells Parish
Hon. [Honourable] John Gordon of Kenmore 2 1 1 £0.11.3
Mrs. Gordon of Kenmore 1 1 £0.7.6
John McNaught Servt. [Servant] Kenmore 1 1 £0.1.10½
Le Croix Servant Kenmore 1 1 £0.1.10½
John Couper Servant Kenmore 1 1 £0.1.10½
Mrs. Livingston of Airds 1 1 £0.3.9
Robert Mains at Kenmore 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
Revd. [Reverend] John Gillespie Manse 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
Robert Lumsdin Inmate Kenmore 1 1 £0.1.10½
Carrd. [Carried] forward 12 4 2 6 £2.1.3
1797 Kells Brought forward 12 4 2 6 £2.1.3
Robert Hope, Glenlee Mains 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
Thomas Grierson of Garroch 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
James Newall, Stranfasket 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
William Newall Esqr. Waterside 1 1 £0.3.9
William Newall Junr. [Junior] Waterside 1 1 £0.1.10½
James Campbell, Servt. [servant] Glenlee park 1 1 £0.1.10½
21 8 2 11 £3.5.7½
Dalry Parish
Revd. [Reverend] Alexander McGowan Manse 1 1 £0.3.9
James Hunter of Lochrenny 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
John Donaldson Innk. [Innkeeper] Duchrae 1 1 £0.1.10½
Gordon Barber Bogue 1 1 £0.1.10½
James Barbour Bogue 1 1 £0.1.10½
David McMillan, Surveyor, Corlae 1 1 £0.5.7½
7 2 5 £0.16.10½
Carsfairn Parish
Revd. [Reverend] Robert Gordon MAnse 1 1 £0.1.10½
John Wallace Knockgray 1 1 £0.3.9
John McMillan Greenhead 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
Carrd. [carried] over 4 2 2 £0.11.3

Transcribe other information

Survey of the Tax upon Clocks & Watches in Kirkcudbright
Shire Continued

  Transcribers who have contributed to this page.


  Location information for this page.

Aberlady Parish, Aberlemno Parish, Airlie Parish, Angus County, Anstruther Wester Parish, Anwoth Parish, Arbirlot Parish, Arbuthnott Parish, Athelstaneford Parish, Auchterhouse Parish, Balmaclellan Parish, Balmaghie Parish, Balmerino Parish, Barry Parish, Benholm Parish, Biggar Parish, Blantyre Parish, Borgue Parish, Bothwell Parish, Brechin Parish, Buittle Parish, Cambuslang Parish, Cambusnethan Parish, Cameron Parish, Careston Parish, Carluke Parish, Carmichael Parish, Carmunnock Parish, Carnbee Parish, Carnwath Parish, Carstairs Parish, Cathcart Parish, Ceres Parish, Cleish Parish, Colvend And Southwick Parish, Coupar Angus Parish, Craig Parish, Crail Parish, Crawford Parish, Crawfordjohn Parish, Creich Parish, Crossmichael Parish, Culter Parish, Cults Parish, Cupar Parish, Dairsie Parish, Dalry Parish, Dalserf Parish, Dalziel Parish, Dirleton Parish, Dolphinton Parish, Douglas Parish, Dun Parish, Dunbar Parish, Dundee Parish, Dunino Parish, Dunnichen Parish, Dunnottar Parish, Dunsyre Parish, Durris Parish, East Lothian County, Edzell Parish, Elie Parish, Farnell Parish, Fern Parish, Fettercairn Parish, Fetteresso Parish, Fife County, Flisk Parish, Fordoun Parish, Forfar Parish, Forgan Parish, Girthon Parish, Gladsmuir Parish, Glamis Parish, Glassford Parish, Glenbervie Parish, Govan Parish, Guthrie Parish, Haddington Parish, Hamilton Parish, Humbie Parish, Innerwick Parish, Inverarity Parish, Inverness-shire County, Kells Parish, Kelton Parish, Kemback Parish, Kennoway Parish, Kettins Parish, Kilconquhar Parish, Kilmany Parish, Kilrenny Parish, Kincardineshire County, Kingoldrum Parish, Kingsbarns Parish, Kinnaird Parish, Kinneff Parish, Kinnell Parish, Kinnettles Parish, Kinross Parish, Kinross-shire County, Kirkbean Parish, Kirkcudbright Parish, Kirkcudbrightshire County, Kirkden Parish, Kirkgunzeon Parish, Kirkmabreck Parish, Kirkpatrick Durham Parish, Kirkpatrick Irongray Parish, Kirriemuir Parish, Lanark Parish, Lanarkshire County, Largo Parish, Laurencekirk Parish, Lesmahagow Parish, Leuchars Parish, Libberton Parish, Lintrathen Parish, Lochlee Parish, Lochrutton Parish, Logie Parish, Lunan Parish, Lundie Parish, Maryculter Parish, Marykirk Parish, Maryton Parish, Menmuir Parish, Minnigaff Parish, Monifieth Parish, Monikie Parish, Monimail Parish, Montrose Parish, Moonzie Parish, Morham Parish, New Abbey Parish, New Monkland Parish, Newburn Parish, Newtyle Parish, Nigg Parish, Oathlaw Parish, Old Monkland Parish, Ormiston Parish, Orwell Parish, Panbride Parish, Parton Parish, Pencaitland Parish, Pettinain Parish, Portmoak Parish, Prestonpans Parish, Rerrick Parish, Rescobie Parish, Rutherglen Parish, Ruthven Parish, Scoonie Parish, Shotts Parish, Spott Parish, St Andrews Parish, St Monance Parish, Stenton Parish, Stonehouse Parish, Stracathro Parish, Strachan Parish, Symington Parish, Tannadice Parish, Terregles Parish, Tongland Parish, Tranent Parish, Troqueer Parish, Twynholm Parish, Urr Parish, Walston Parish, Whittingehame Parish