Date Masters/mistresses names Clocks and watches Clocks Gold watches Silver or metal watches Duty
1797 Benvie and Liff
17 Aug 1797 Capt [Captain] David Anderson Balgay 2 1 1 £0.11.3
John Cameron & John Ritchie Servts [Servants] 2 2 £0.3.9
George Anderson Hillside 1 1 £0.3.9
Capt [Captain] Stewart Invergowry 2 2 £0.15.0
Adam Kirkcaldy Dryburgh 3 1 2 £0.7.6
Alexander Davidson Mill 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
George Murray Invergowry 1 £0.1.10½
James Waddell Liff 1 1 £0..3.9
Mr Constable Minr [Minister] 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
Admiral Lord Visct [Viscount] Duncan 4 1 3 £0.9.4½
John Gray Grieve to Lord Gray 1 1 £0.1.10½
21 7 3 11 £3.9.4
18 Aug 1797 Robert Jobson E [East] Mains 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
Mr Scott Minr [Minister] 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
Mr Scott Adamstone 1 1 £0.1.9
Earl of Airly 4 3 1 £0.18.9
John McDonald & William Calder Servts [Servants] 2 2 £0.3.9
11 6 1 4 £1.17.6
19 Aug 1797 Mr Small Piterny 1 1 £0.3.9
Revd [Reverend] Mr Taitt lodger 1 1 £0.1.10½
2 1 1 £0.5.7½

Transcribe other information

of the
Duty on Clocks &
within the
County of Fife
for the year ending
5th April 1798
Ex. [Examined]per G.S. [General Surveyor]
P.37. G.S. Copied

Report of the Clock and Watch duty arisen in the Shire of Forfar for 3 quarters to 5 April 1798 by Robert Dunbar Surveyor

  Transcribers who have contributed to this page.


  Location information for this page.

Aberlady Parish, Aberlemno Parish, Airlie Parish, Angus County, Anstruther Wester Parish, Anwoth Parish, Arbirlot Parish, Arbuthnott Parish, Athelstaneford Parish, Auchterhouse Parish, Balmaclellan Parish, Balmaghie Parish, Balmerino Parish, Barry Parish, Benholm Parish, Biggar Parish, Blantyre Parish, Borgue Parish, Bothwell Parish, Brechin Parish, Buittle Parish, Cambuslang Parish, Cambusnethan Parish, Cameron Parish, Careston Parish, Carluke Parish, Carmichael Parish, Carmunnock Parish, Carnbee Parish, Carnwath Parish, Carstairs Parish, Cathcart Parish, Ceres Parish, Cleish Parish, Colvend And Southwick Parish, Coupar Angus Parish, Craig Parish, Crail Parish, Crawford Parish, Crawfordjohn Parish, Creich Parish, Crossmichael Parish, Culter Parish, Cults Parish, Cupar Parish, Dairsie Parish, Dalry Parish, Dalserf Parish, Dalziel Parish, Dirleton Parish, Dolphinton Parish, Douglas Parish, Dun Parish, Dunbar Parish, Dundee Parish, Dunino Parish, Dunnichen Parish, Dunnottar Parish, Dunsyre Parish, Durris Parish, East Lothian County, Edzell Parish, Elie Parish, Farnell Parish, Fern Parish, Fettercairn Parish, Fetteresso Parish, Fife County, Flisk Parish, Fordoun Parish, Forfar Parish, Forgan Parish, Girthon Parish, Gladsmuir Parish, Glamis Parish, Glassford Parish, Glenbervie Parish, Govan Parish, Guthrie Parish, Haddington Parish, Hamilton Parish, Humbie Parish, Innerwick Parish, Inverarity Parish, Inverness-shire County, Kells Parish, Kelton Parish, Kemback Parish, Kennoway Parish, Kettins Parish, Kilconquhar Parish, Kilmany Parish, Kilrenny Parish, Kincardineshire County, Kingoldrum Parish, Kingsbarns Parish, Kinnaird Parish, Kinneff Parish, Kinnell Parish, Kinnettles Parish, Kinross Parish, Kinross-shire County, Kirkbean Parish, Kirkcudbright Parish, Kirkcudbrightshire County, Kirkden Parish, Kirkgunzeon Parish, Kirkmabreck Parish, Kirkpatrick Durham Parish, Kirkpatrick Irongray Parish, Kirriemuir Parish, Lanark Parish, Lanarkshire County, Largo Parish, Laurencekirk Parish, Lesmahagow Parish, Leuchars Parish, Libberton Parish, Lintrathen Parish, Lochlee Parish, Lochrutton Parish, Logie Parish, Lunan Parish, Lundie Parish, Maryculter Parish, Marykirk Parish, Maryton Parish, Menmuir Parish, Minnigaff Parish, Monifieth Parish, Monikie Parish, Monimail Parish, Montrose Parish, Moonzie Parish, Morham Parish, New Abbey Parish, New Monkland Parish, Newburn Parish, Newtyle Parish, Nigg Parish, Oathlaw Parish, Old Monkland Parish, Ormiston Parish, Orwell Parish, Panbride Parish, Parton Parish, Pencaitland Parish, Pettinain Parish, Portmoak Parish, Prestonpans Parish, Rerrick Parish, Rescobie Parish, Rutherglen Parish, Ruthven Parish, Scoonie Parish, Shotts Parish, Spott Parish, St Andrews Parish, St Monance Parish, Stenton Parish, Stonehouse Parish, Stracathro Parish, Strachan Parish, Symington Parish, Tannadice Parish, Terregles Parish, Tongland Parish, Tranent Parish, Troqueer Parish, Twynholm Parish, Urr Parish, Walston Parish, Whittingehame Parish