Date Masters/mistresses names Clocks and watches Clocks Gold watches Silver or metal watches Duty
Saint Evox [Quivox]
William Campbell of Craigie 2 1 1 £0.11.3
Mrs. McConnell Breahead 1 1 £0.3.9
Dr. [Doctor] McQuhae Minister 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
Mrs McQuhae 1 1 £0.1.10½
Mr Oswald Weir 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
Richard A Oswald Esq [Esquire] 1 1 £0.3.9
Mrs Simson Vintner 1 1 £0.3.9
John Anderson Innkeeper 1 1 £0.1.10½
John Guthrie Innkeeper 1 1 £0.3.9
James Lees Maltster 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
Henry Drennan Wright 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
Mrs Major McDonald 2 1 1 £0.11.3
John Smith Maltster 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
William Baird Innkeeper 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
William Duncan Innkeeper 1 1 £0.3.9
William Walker Dalmelling 1 1 £0.1.10½
Total 24 13 2 9 £4.0.7½
John Campbell Innkeeper 1 1 £0.3.9
Mr Peebles Minister 2 1 1 £0.5.7½
John Kerr Quarter Master 1 1 £0.1.10½
Dr [Doctor] Adair 1 1 £0.1.10½
Mr James Tarbet 1 1 £0.1.10½
Captain John Smith 1 1 £0.1.10½
Major Webster 1 1 £0.7.6
James Watt his Servant 1 1 £0.1.10½
Alexander Webster 1 1 £0.7.6
Carry forward 10 2 2 6 £1.13.9

Transcribe other information

Survey of the Rates and Duties on Clocks and Watches within the Country Parishes of Ayrshire from 5th July 1797 to 5th April 1798 By Rob Aitken

[Left Hand page refers to Argyll]
I Peter Campbell Surveyor aforesaid Do hereby Certify that upon careful
examination of the foregoing Rates and Duties I find they amount for
nine months to Fourty Six pounds Nineteen Shillings and fourpence
halfpenny sterling and that upon the twenty ninth day of December 1797
I delivered to Mr Colin Campbell Depute collector of said Duties an exact
duplicate of the foregoing Report duly examined and compared which
contained my Oath that Requisitions were delivered to the several persons
before mentioned or left for them at their dwelling places and that they
were charged from their answers according to the best information that
I could obtain and that no person had been underrated or omitted to the
best of my knowledge. Peter Campbell
Inveraray 29th December 1797

  Transcribers who have contributed to this page.

Ladyland, DANIALSAN, HannahLROB

  Location information for this page.

Aberdeenshire County, Aberdour Parish, Aberlour Parish, Aboyne And Glentanar Parish, Alford Parish, Alloa Parish, Alvah Parish, Annan Parish, Applegarth Parish, Ardchattan And Muckairn Parish, Ardrossan Parish, Argyll County, Arrochar Parish, Auchindoir And Kearn Parish, Auchinleck Parish, Auchterless Parish, Ayrshire County, Ayton Parish, Ballantrae Parish, Banff Parish, Banffshire County, Barr Parish, Beith Parish, Belhelvie Parish, Berwickshire County, Birse Parish, Boharm Parish, Bonhill Parish, Botriphnie Parish, Bourtie Parish, Bower Parish, Boyndie Parish, Bunkle And Preston Parish, Buteshire County, Caerlaverock Parish, Cairnie Parish, Caithness County, Canisbay Parish, Canonbie Parish, Cardross Parish, Channelkirk Parish, Chapel Of Garioch Parish, Chirnside Parish, Clackmannan Parish, Clackmannanshire County, Clatt Parish, Closeburn Parish, Cluny Parish, Coldingham Parish, Coldstream Parish, Colmonell Parish, Coull Parish, Coylton Parish, Craigie Parish, Craignish Parish, Cranshaws Parish, Crathie And Braemar Parish, Crimond Parish, Cromarty County, Cromarty Parish, Cruden Parish, Culsalmond Parish, Cumbernauld Parish, Cummertrees Parish, Dailly Parish, Dalmellington Parish, Dalry Parish, Dalrymple Parish, Dalton Parish, Daviot Parish, Deskford Parish, Dollar Parish, Dornock Parish, Dreghorn Parish, Drumblade Parish, Drumoak Parish, Dumfries Parish, Dumfriesshire County, Dunbartonshire County, Dundonald Parish, Dunlop Parish, Dunnet Parish, Dunoon And Kilmun Parish, Duns Parish, Dunscore Parish, Durisdeer Parish, Dyce Parish, Earlston Parish, Eccles Parish, Echt Parish, Edrom Parish, Ellon Parish, Eskdalemuir Parish, Ewes Parish, Eyemouth Parish, Fenwick Parish, Fintray Parish, Fodderty Parish, Fogo Parish, Fordyce Parish, Forgue Parish, Foulden Parish, Foveran Parish, Fraserburgh Parish, Fyvie Parish, Galston Parish, Gamrie Parish, Gartly Parish, Girvan Parish, Glass Parish, Glencairn Parish, Glenmuick, Tullich And Glengairn Parish, Glenorchy And Inishail Parish, Gordon Parish, Grange Parish, Greenlaw Parish, Gretna Parish, Halkirk Parish, Holywood Parish, Huntly Parish, Hutton Parish, Hutton And Corrie Parish, Insch Parish, Inveravon Parish, Inverchaolain Parish, Inverkeithny Parish, Inverurie Parish, Irvine Parish, Johnstone Parish, Keig Parish, Keir Parish, Keith Parish, Keithhall And Kinkell Parish, Kemnay Parish, Kennethmont Parish, Kilbirnie Parish, Kilbrandon And Kilchattan Parish, Kilbride Parish, Kilchoman Parish, Kilchrenan And Dalavich Parish, Kildalton And Oa Parish, Kildrummy Parish, Killean And Kilchenzie Parish, Kilmarnock Parish, Kilmaronock Parish, Kilmartin Parish, Kilmaurs Parish, Kilmichael Glassary Parish, Kilmodan Parish, Kilmore And Kilbride Parish, Kilmory Parish, Kilmuir Easter Parish, Kilwinning Parish, Kincardine O'neil Parish, King Edward Parish, Kingarth Parish, Kintore Parish, Kirkconnel Parish, Kirkintilloch Parish, Kirkmahoe Parish, Kirkmichael Parish, Kirkmichael Parish, Kirkmichael Parish, Kirkoswald Parish, Kirkpatrick-fleming Parish, Ladykirk Parish, Langholm Parish, Langton Parish, Largs Parish, Latheron Parish, Lauder Parish, Legerwood Parish, Leochel-cushnie Parish, Leslie Parish, Lochgoilhead And Kilmorich Parish, Lochmaben Parish, Logie-coldstone Parish, Longside Parish, Luss Parish, Marnoch Parish, Mauchline Parish, Maybole Parish, Meldrum Parish, Mertoun Parish, Methlick Parish, Middlebie Parish, Midmar Parish, Moffat Parish, Monquhitter Parish, Monymusk Parish, Mordington Parish, Mortlach Parish, Morton Parish, Muirkirk Parish, Nenthorn Parish, New Cumnock Parish, New Deer Parish, New Kilpatrick Parish, New Machar Parish, Newhills Parish, Ochiltree Parish, Old Cumnock Parish, Old Deer Parish, Old Kilpatrick Parish, Old Machar Parish, Olrig Parish, Ordiquhill Parish, Oyne Parish, Penpont Parish, Peterculter Parish, Peterhead Parish, Pitsligo Parish, Premnay Parish, Rathen Parish, Rathven Parish, Rayne Parish, Reay Parish, Rhu Parish, Rhynie Parish, Riccarton Parish, Rosneath Parish, Ross And Cromarty County, Rothes Parish, Rothiemay Parish, Ruthwell Parish, Sanquhar Parish, Skene Parish, Slains Parish, Sorn Parish, St Fergus Parish, St Mungo Parish, Stair Parish, Stevenston Parish, Stewarton Parish, Straiton Parish, Strathdon Parish, Strichen Parish, Swinton Parish, Symington Parish, Tarbolton Parish, Tarland Parish, Tarves Parish, Thurso Parish, Tillicoultry Parish, Tinwald Parish, Torthorwald Parish, Tough Parish, Towie Parish, Tullynessle And Forbes Parish, Tundergarth Parish, Turriff Parish, Tynron Parish, Tyrie Parish, Udny Parish, Wamphray Parish, Watten Parish, Westruther Parish, Whitsome Parish, Wick Parish